Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:25:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3x5850 PSU  (Read 1633 times)
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 05:56:23 PM
 #1

What PSU should I use ??
What PSU do you use??
all I have is ram cpu and hdd thats all
thank you

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
1481214314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214314
Reply with quote  #2

1481214314
Report to moderator
1481214314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214314
Reply with quote  #2

1481214314
Report to moderator
1481214314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481214314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481214314
Reply with quote  #2

1481214314
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 06:00:01 PM
 #2

My current triple crossfire 5850 rig is powered by a Antec TPQ-850 ($85 AR)

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 06:16:31 PM
 #3

You think this could work?
ANTEC TRUEPOWER TRIO 650 WATT

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 06:40:39 PM
 #4

A 650w PSU would barely support two.  You need at least 850.

Why?
If the max power of one card is 150W then 3 cards is 450W thats 200 free for the system?
Isnt it?

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
dudel42
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 06:46:22 PM
 #5

I recently set up a triple 5850 system with a i7, 4gb ram, asus p55 board (I know it's a waste, but just had that around), and at full mining power I measure a total power consumption of ~560W.

I also bought an 850W PSU, just to be on the safe side, but from the figures (and with a more efficient mabo/cpu), I'd guess a 650-700 one would also suffice.
no_alone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 07:13:34 PM
 #6

I recently set up a triple 5850 system with a i7, 4gb ram, asus p55 board (I know it's a waste, but just had that around), and at full mining power I measure a total power consumption of ~560W.

I also bought an 850W PSU, just to be on the safe side, but from the figures (and with a more efficient mabo/cpu), I'd guess a 650-700 one would also suffice.

As I suspected...
I'm also using 1 stick of 2gb core 2 due . Much less power

Mine only when pc is IDLE totally indivisible...
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9851.0
Mine on family computer without disturbing them

Donation : 1GjpJnLU8zdfEHW7FoCx2UUosJgc9prXN4
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 08:55:56 PM
 #7

I recently set up a triple 5850 system with a i7, 4gb ram, asus p55 board (I know it's a waste, but just had that around), and at full mining power I measure a total power consumption of ~560W.

I also bought an 850W PSU, just to be on the safe side, but from the figures (and with a more efficient mabo/cpu), I'd guess a 650-700 one would also suffice.

if power consumption at the wall is 560W then the system is probably only using about 450W
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:11:51 PM
 #8

Yes a 650w would suffice, though personally I would go with at least 700w just because I'm OCD.

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:12:08 AM
 #9

A lot of people have already verified that running a 4x 5850 over a good 850W PSU. I don't think ur's gonna give you any problem

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!