Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:12:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new to electrum  (Read 447 times)
jorokadilaka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 12, 2016, 06:05:28 AM
 #1

hi
i will be buying some bitcoins and i found out that electrum is one of the best
i installed it did everything i even shutdown my antivirus and firewall (because i read that it might cause problems) but still when i open my wallet it says not connected
any help will be appreciated (please explain like for a  nooob)
thanks
FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513001527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001527
Reply with quote  #2

1513001527
Report to moderator
1513001527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001527
Reply with quote  #2

1513001527
Report to moderator
1513001527
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513001527

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513001527
Reply with quote  #2

1513001527
Report to moderator
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 12, 2016, 07:31:39 AM
 #2

Hi there ,
First of all what version of Electrum do you have and what operating system are you using ? (Windows , Ubuntu etc ... ) and what color do you see on the bottom right ? Red ? If it's case , have you tried to connect to another server ? (by double clicking that red color) .

pooya87
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


Buy bitcoin they said... who listened?


View Profile
February 13, 2016, 07:20:26 AM
 #3

i installed it did everything i even shutdown my antivirus and firewall (because i read that it might cause problems)

where did you read that?
before doing anything make sure that you have downloaded electum from its legit website nowhere else. it is here: https://electrum.org/#download
your antivirus should not interfere with electrum at all (if it is the right electrum and not a fake one).
and as for your firewall you should only let electrum access internet by adding it to its list. google how to... with your firewall's name you find how to do that.


Quote
but still when i open my wallet it says not connected
any help will be appreciated (please explain like for a  nooob)
thanks

as OmegaStarScream suggested click on the circle (which should be red if you are not connected) and check the checkbox for "finding server automatically" (i don't remember the exact checkbox's name)
you might want to close electrum and open it again it should find a good server automatically.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!