Bitcoin Forum
March 27, 2015, 03:41:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUIMiner - Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC  (Read 11697 times)
Laffer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
June 08, 2011, 07:13:29 PM
 #1

Yep, yet another post about this.  I have the bitcoin client, I have guiminer 2011-05-01, I have followed the instructions for solo mining.  I have disabled my AV and firewall etc just in case.  I have followed the bits and pieces on the various forums.  No matter what I have tried I simply get the "Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC" message constantly.

Does guiminer actually work at all in solo (same machine) mode?  If so can anyone tell me what steps EXACTLY I have to do to get this working?

At this point.... wondering if bitcoin mining is worth this level of annoyance.

1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator
1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator
1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator
1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator
1427470861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427470861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427470861
Reply with quote  #2

1427470861
Report to moderator
packeteerist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
June 08, 2011, 11:31:23 PM
 #2

I have the same problem as above, using win7 with GIUMiner and bitcoin on the same host, I get the 'problem communicating with bitcoin RPC' error. A/V is disabled as well as local firewall. All blocks downloaded fine.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile

Ignore
June 08, 2011, 11:41:38 PM
 #3

i am pretty sure the problem is a missing line in your config file.
i bet the bitcoin client when running in server mode used to allow any connections
but somewhere along the line it was updated to block all by default.

thus my config file used to be like this that was generated by guiminer.
The file is called bitcoin.conf and resides in bitcoin's application data folder.

rpcuser=fcmatt
rpcpassword=your_password

But then I had to add this line below and it started working.

rpcallowip=all

my two cents. i might as well try this old line out. if this was helpful feel free to
donate to: 1P4Z4eu7TxGq8qvSpzfKgWyyXCWn7ZbB9o

(i have as of yet to have a single bit coin or fraction of it. too bad that bitcoin faucet
seems empty or offline now days.)
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile

Ignore
June 10, 2011, 10:32:55 PM
 #4

I get this same error too when trying to solo mine. I can pool mine no problem. Checked my config file and its all good. Got me beat atm.

Carboncoin Talk - Crypto currency for a 'greener' future!
If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile

Ignore
June 10, 2011, 10:54:32 PM
 #5

I had to go back to BitCoin v 0.3.21 to not get the RPC connection problem  Undecided

Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile

Ignore
June 10, 2011, 10:55:26 PM
 #6

I had to go back to BitCoin v 0.3.21 to not get the RPC connection problem  Undecided

Yea but I thought they fixed that??

Carboncoin Talk - Crypto currency for a 'greener' future!
If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!