Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2017, 09:11:00 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: forum is slow as owl snot in january...  (Read 2133 times)
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:28:44 PM
 #1

is it just me and my evil comcast ISP - or is this system getting overloaded?
1495703460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703460
Reply with quote  #2

1495703460
Report to moderator
1495703460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703460
Reply with quote  #2

1495703460
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495703460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703460
Reply with quote  #2

1495703460
Report to moderator
1495703460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495703460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495703460
Reply with quote  #2

1495703460
Report to moderator
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:50:09 PM
 #2

No - not just you. It is very frustrating.
Is it just a matter of buying few more boxes or something else?
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:54:28 PM
 #3

No - not just you. It is very frustrating.
Is it just a matter of buying few more boxes or something else?

i duuno.  maybe a co-location - a server elsewhere?  is there a donation addy to help out for something this specific?
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:37:14 PM
 #4

I find when using HTTPS that it is very slow; when not using HTTPS it runs fine. So I think a better CPU is called for.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:53:16 PM
 #5

Someone on IRC said that lighttpd is bad with HTTPS. Maybe that's it.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:06:20 AM
 #6

I've not been using https lately, but browsing this forum today was worse than choosing death by scrotum hair plucking
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:03:21 AM
 #7

Not using HTTPS, - forum becomes slower and slower everyday.
I am don`t mention mess in sections of forum, that is mentioned before, in other topics.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
soul4soul
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:15:13 AM
 #8

forum is slow for me!!! sometimes it will just stop loading and stays on a white page making me have to reload before i see the page. its not my computer either.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:50:09 AM
 #9

I prefer nginx to lighttpd. Smiley

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
yellowknife
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 03:05:23 AM
 #10

I'm got experience with finding ways to get better performance out of LAMP platforms. This could be a mysql performance issue or a web server issue. Either way there are probably steps you can take to delay the need for more hardware.  If a forum admin wants to contact me send me a PM, I can probably help.

1KPoUYMbb9qqMF94DHWh3DL93bdNETcopo
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 04:05:22 PM
 #11

   Forum becom even more slower, by twice, that week ago. Should i with my pitty 7 BTC, declare bounty on this, or some BTC reach man will do something about that ?
   And i am do not mean  - " Oh that forum is overcrowded, - we, real old and reach BTC owners should move on some other forum, and hide that forum from other public"  
    You, - for shure can do this. But you will left alone in this new shiny forum, - like year ago.

   WTF ? It tooks month to some of you, to  take actions that slightly regulate  the forum rules. Did we should wait for other half or year, to regulate overload of BTC forum ?

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 07:33:44 PM
 #12

People, we really need to fix this. It's becoming unbearable.
I know we have record numbers on the forum, but I think we should be better prepared for such occurrences.
If it's a matter of money, I and probably many on this forum would be willing to chip in for a new server/bandwidth/whatever
Please, let's address this problem!
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:29:06 AM
 #13

I don't get the reference but I wholeheartedly agree with you.

It took me about 20 seconds for this page to load on a 100mbps dedicated connection.

Whoever is in charge of this forum... increase it's server power and increase every bitcoin forum member's productivity! Also new user take up... Studies show that if a visitor to a "new" web page has to wait more than a few seconds they will usually hit the back button and forget about it.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:46:08 AM
 #14

Simple - use a different forum.

I might have a suggestion as to which one to use as well...   Wink
lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 09:37:42 PM
 #15

are we even on a VPS or just commodity hosting? What about moving to the cloud?
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 10:24:07 PM
 #16

http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&host=forum.bitcoin.org

This will show that the server is sitting somewhere in rackspace who actually bought out theplanet a while back.
Code:
IP address: 174.143.149.98
Host name: forum.bitcoin.org
Alias:
forum.bitcoin.org
174.143.149.98 is from United States(US) in region North America

TraceRoute to 174.143.149.98 [forum.bitcoin.org]

Hop (ms) (ms) (ms)      IP Address Host name
  1   0   0      8.9.232.73   xe-5-3-0.edge3.dallas1.level3.net 
  1   0   1      4.69.145.204   ae-4-90.edge2.dallas3.level3.net 
  2   2   2      4.59.36.50   rackspace-m.edge2.dallas3.level3.net 
  2   2   2      98.129.84.181   vlan907.core7.dfw1.rackspace.net 
  2   2   2      98.129.84.217    - 
  2   2   2      174.143.149.98   forum.bitcoin.org 
Trace complete

Their NS are hosted from a finnish webhost (louhi.net redirects to louhi.fi).
Code:
Authority records
bitcoin.org NS dns2.louhi.net 3600s
bitcoin.org NS dns3.louhi.net 3600s
bitcoin.org NS dns1.louhi.net 3600s

Going down the list...you will see that they are a customer of Slicehost.
Code:
CustName:       Slicehost
Address:        9725 Datapoint
City:           San Antonio
StateProv:      TX
PostalCode:     78225
Country:        US
RegDate:        2009-09-10
Updated:        2011-03-19
Ref:            http://whois.arin.net/rest/customer/C02312276

Slicehost is a VPS provider that gets their servers from rackspace.
Code:
RNOCHandle: NETWO1456-ARIN
RNOCName:   Network Operations
RNOCPhone:  +1-210-312-4000
RNOCEmail:  noc@rackspace.com
RNOCRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NETWO1456-ARIN

Yeah, I'm a networking guy. I love my stuff. Cheesy

lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:13:07 PM
 #17

awesome, let's take up a donation to upgrade the damn RAM or get on a dedicated box. Should probably also get memcache and/or APC setup.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:34:30 PM
 #18

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 12:44:43 AM
 #19

It is slow for me using plain http.  I would also be willing to chip in a few btc for server improvements.

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.
This leaves bandwidth.  Could that be the problem?

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:08:27 AM
 #20

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.

Really? Having hundreds/thousands of simultaneous users browsing a forum usually results in a pretty substantial number of requests. In any case, APC wouldn't hurt if it isn't already installed.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!