Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:29:01 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: forum is slow as owl snot in january...  (Read 2062 times)
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:28:44 PM
 #1

is it just me and my evil comcast ISP - or is this system getting overloaded?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:50:09 PM
 #2

No - not just you. It is very frustrating.
Is it just a matter of buying few more boxes or something else?
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 03:54:28 PM
 #3

No - not just you. It is very frustrating.
Is it just a matter of buying few more boxes or something else?

i duuno.  maybe a co-location - a server elsewhere?  is there a donation addy to help out for something this specific?
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:37:14 PM
 #4

I find when using HTTPS that it is very slow; when not using HTTPS it runs fine. So I think a better CPU is called for.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 11:53:16 PM
 #5

Someone on IRC said that lighttpd is bad with HTTPS. Maybe that's it.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:06:20 AM
 #6

I've not been using https lately, but browsing this forum today was worse than choosing death by scrotum hair plucking
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:03:21 AM
 #7

Not using HTTPS, - forum becomes slower and slower everyday.
I am don`t mention mess in sections of forum, that is mentioned before, in other topics.

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
soul4soul
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:15:13 AM
 #8

forum is slow for me!!! sometimes it will just stop loading and stays on a white page making me have to reload before i see the page. its not my computer either.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 02:50:09 AM
 #9

I prefer nginx to lighttpd. Smiley

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
yellowknife
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 03:05:23 AM
 #10

I'm got experience with finding ways to get better performance out of LAMP platforms. This could be a mysql performance issue or a web server issue. Either way there are probably steps you can take to delay the need for more hardware.  If a forum admin wants to contact me send me a PM, I can probably help.

1KPoUYMbb9qqMF94DHWh3DL93bdNETcopo
Dobrodav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 04:05:22 PM
 #11

   Forum becom even more slower, by twice, that week ago. Should i with my pitty 7 BTC, declare bounty on this, or some BTC reach man will do something about that ?
   And i am do not mean  - " Oh that forum is overcrowded, - we, real old and reach BTC owners should move on some other forum, and hide that forum from other public"  
    You, - for shure can do this. But you will left alone in this new shiny forum, - like year ago.

   WTF ? It tooks month to some of you, to  take actions that slightly regulate  the forum rules. Did we should wait for other half or year, to regulate overload of BTC forum ?

We will  meet in not-so-distant future.
Today`s strange music :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8mCgjbBPMk
Yesterday`s  strange music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uCTyC1FGLw
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 07:33:44 PM
 #12

People, we really need to fix this. It's becoming unbearable.
I know we have record numbers on the forum, but I think we should be better prepared for such occurrences.
If it's a matter of money, I and probably many on this forum would be willing to chip in for a new server/bandwidth/whatever
Please, let's address this problem!
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:29:06 AM
 #13

I don't get the reference but I wholeheartedly agree with you.

It took me about 20 seconds for this page to load on a 100mbps dedicated connection.

Whoever is in charge of this forum... increase it's server power and increase every bitcoin forum member's productivity! Also new user take up... Studies show that if a visitor to a "new" web page has to wait more than a few seconds they will usually hit the back button and forget about it.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 04:46:08 AM
 #14

Simple - use a different forum.

I might have a suggestion as to which one to use as well...   Wink
lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 09:37:42 PM
 #15

are we even on a VPS or just commodity hosting? What about moving to the cloud?
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
June 14, 2011, 10:24:07 PM
 #16

http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&host=forum.bitcoin.org

This will show that the server is sitting somewhere in rackspace who actually bought out theplanet a while back.
Code:
IP address: 174.143.149.98
Host name: forum.bitcoin.org
Alias:
forum.bitcoin.org
174.143.149.98 is from United States(US) in region North America

TraceRoute to 174.143.149.98 [forum.bitcoin.org]

Hop (ms) (ms) (ms)      IP Address Host name
  1   0   0      8.9.232.73   xe-5-3-0.edge3.dallas1.level3.net 
  1   0   1      4.69.145.204   ae-4-90.edge2.dallas3.level3.net 
  2   2   2      4.59.36.50   rackspace-m.edge2.dallas3.level3.net 
  2   2   2      98.129.84.181   vlan907.core7.dfw1.rackspace.net 
  2   2   2      98.129.84.217    - 
  2   2   2      174.143.149.98   forum.bitcoin.org 
Trace complete

Their NS are hosted from a finnish webhost (louhi.net redirects to louhi.fi).
Code:
Authority records
bitcoin.org NS dns2.louhi.net 3600s
bitcoin.org NS dns3.louhi.net 3600s
bitcoin.org NS dns1.louhi.net 3600s

Going down the list...you will see that they are a customer of Slicehost.
Code:
CustName:       Slicehost
Address:        9725 Datapoint
City:           San Antonio
StateProv:      TX
PostalCode:     78225
Country:        US
RegDate:        2009-09-10
Updated:        2011-03-19
Ref:            http://whois.arin.net/rest/customer/C02312276

Slicehost is a VPS provider that gets their servers from rackspace.
Code:
RNOCHandle: NETWO1456-ARIN
RNOCName:   Network Operations
RNOCPhone:  +1-210-312-4000
RNOCEmail:  noc@rackspace.com
RNOCRef:    http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NETWO1456-ARIN

Yeah, I'm a networking guy. I love my stuff. Cheesy

lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:13:07 PM
 #17

awesome, let's take up a donation to upgrade the damn RAM or get on a dedicated box. Should probably also get memcache and/or APC setup.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2492


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 11:34:30 PM
 #18

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 12:44:43 AM
 #19

It is slow for me using plain http.  I would also be willing to chip in a few btc for server improvements.

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.
This leaves bandwidth.  Could that be the problem?

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
lemonginger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


firstbits: 121vnq


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:08:27 AM
 #20

The CPU/memory/disk load is actually quite minimal. Something else is wrong.

Really? Having hundreds/thousands of simultaneous users browsing a forum usually results in a pretty substantial number of requests. In any case, APC wouldn't hurt if it isn't already installed.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!