Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 09:57:00 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3 gpu psu?  (Read 1700 times)
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 09:55:16 PM
 #1

I have 2 6950's and 1 5850. Would i be able to run all 3 on a 750 watt psu? Or am I limited to two cards?

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
1481450220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450220
Reply with quote  #2

1481450220
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481450220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450220
Reply with quote  #2

1481450220
Report to moderator
1481450220
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450220

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450220
Reply with quote  #2

1481450220
Report to moderator
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:14:54 PM
 #2

You can't crossfire cards from two different generations. Furthermore...they are two completely different architectures.

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:22:57 PM
 #3

Im not crossfiring them......Now please answer the question that i actually asked...

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 10:34:25 PM
 #4

If you do not downclock and downvlotage the cards most likely you can't. Also, using the PSU at his nominal limit might decrease his life span.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 08, 2011, 10:36:53 PM
 #5

6950 is 200 watt max each right? 5850 is 160 watt? so that's 560 watts, leaving 190 watts to the system, which I think is not going to be enough, unless you have some really low power cpu/mobo, no HD and single stick of ram.

If my post has been helpful, send me some love -> BTC: 1kokojUapmWqCqPw3Ch2rjcVh57tJEzka | PPC: PDyXAgA8eH47gokVW6zVZPSuu15aao5nZF | Bitshares: kokojie
My reputation
yyduinihao0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 11:14:58 PM
 #6

with roughly 200W left for the system should be enough. But any additional card are out of the thought.
Hope this helps.

sigh up at new best competitor of Mt GOX
https://www.tradehill.com/
Referral Code: TH-R1306
Referral Rate: 10.0% of all commissions generated.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 11:26:29 PM
 #7

when you say 750w psu what model is it? if its a cheep one nfw will it run as the cheep ones have very low A on the 12v rail and even if its a good one your going to be running at close to max load killing your psu Efficiency causing it to pull more power then say a 1kw psu whit high Efficiency. aslo you have over $600 just in gpu and your going to cheep out on your psu i work on pcs all day and when a psu blows some times they take the whole rig spend $150+ and get a nice 1kw uint
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:35:02 AM
 #8

Thanks for all the answers guys. My idiot friend was telling me I needed a 1200 watt. I figured 1k would be ideal. It is a cheapish 750 so ill stay away from 3 cards.

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:39:59 AM
 #9

Thanks for all the answers guys. My idiot friend was telling me I needed a 1200 watt. I figured 1k would be ideal. It is a cheapish 750 so ill stay away from 3 cards.

in an earlier post of mine describing a rig i am building i found a rosewill 1000watt PSU with 6 - 6 pin connectors
for around 120 dollars. Not the best, not the worst.. plenty of room to run 3 cards.
sang
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:50:49 AM
 #10

Ive seen so much discussion on these boards thats always centered about total wattage. Total wattage is not the important factor in determining if your PSU will handle these cards - what is more important is amperage available on the 12v rail(s).

I have a 400watt Enermax PSU that puts out more 12v amps then a lot of 650+watt PSU's i've seen on newegg. Read the PSU laebels and make sure you have the power you need in the VOLTAGE you need.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!