Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 10:08:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Display driver stopped responding and has recovered  (Read 7394 times)
Grecoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
January 18, 2013, 01:46:13 PM
 #1

Hey, this one is quite disturbing since the relative rig used to mine without stop for almost 5 months..

This is a 2 x HD5970 setup

OS: Windows Professional 7 x86

Driver: 11.12 ATI driver

SDK: 2.5 (tried 2.1 as well)

Latest CGminer 2.10.4 with stratum

Tried with older CGminer versions as well but i always get the message "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" and afterwards all 4 cards appear with a ridiculously low hash rate.. tried different pci slots ..tried cgminer without any options.. nothing

Any ideas? Thanks

1511604496
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604496

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604496
Reply with quote  #2

1511604496
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511604496
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604496

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604496
Reply with quote  #2

1511604496
Report to moderator
1511604496
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604496

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604496
Reply with quote  #2

1511604496
Report to moderator
1511604496
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511604496

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511604496
Reply with quote  #2

1511604496
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 18, 2013, 09:47:15 PM
 #2

"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered"
Any ideas? Thanks


Are you using the system for other things while mining?  Or is this a standalone rig?

Do you get hardware error's?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


/dev/null


View Profile
January 18, 2013, 10:13:57 PM
 #3

all these NT problems...

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2013, 01:05:56 AM
 #4

Overclock less, cool more.

ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Drama Junkie


View Profile
January 19, 2013, 01:10:28 AM
 #5

Your mainboard is toast, congrats.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
Grecoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2013, 11:37:37 AM
 #6

Your mainboard is toast, congrats.

When i remove one specific 5970 there is no issue, so probably board is fine

This is a dedicated rig and i do not get any hardware errors
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Drama Junkie


View Profile
January 19, 2013, 11:41:05 AM
 #7

Your mainboard is toast, congrats.

When i remove one specific 5970 there is no issue, so probably board is fine

This is a dedicated rig and i do not get any hardware errors

Well I can only tell you what happend to me it was the board here. I think the error comes from some pcie issue.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 19, 2013, 12:56:47 PM
 #8

Your mainboard is toast, congrats.

When i remove one specific 5970 there is no issue, so probably board is fine

This is a dedicated rig and i do not get any hardware errors

Well I can only tell you what happend to me it was the board here. I think the error comes from some pcie issue.

I've seen this error when kicking off firefox while mining.  Or when doing a remote desktop session into the system while mining.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 19, 2013, 12:57:54 PM
 #9

Hey, this one is quite disturbing since the relative rig used to mine without stop for almost 5 months..

This is a 2 x HD5970 setup

OS: Windows Professional 7 x86

Driver: 11.12 ATI driver

SDK: 2.5 (tried 2.1 as well)

Latest CGminer 2.10.4 with stratum

Tried with older CGminer versions as well but i always get the message "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" and afterwards all 4 cards appear with a ridiculously low hash rate.. tried different pci slots ..tried cgminer without any options.. nothing

Any ideas? Thanks



Did you post this problem in the CGminer thread?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Grecoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2013, 08:21:10 PM
 #10

it happens with all cgminer versions so it seems it is not cgminer related
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 12:05:32 AM
 #11

I had problems with 2 separate rigs with 8 GPU's each. The first one, powered by a rosewill lightning 1300w, with 4 5970's had intermittent red light of death underneath the 5970, signalling bad power or pwm. I redid the cabling, giving each 8 pin pci power their own dedicated plug and the remaining 4 6 pin came from the remaining 2 available 6 pin power plugs; I used 2 of these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018 to split those into 4 6 pins. Havent had any problems since. Motherboard Asrock 890gx extreme4 with Athlon II x2 250.

The other rig, also with 8 gpu (4 5870, 2 5970) could not reliably power more than 6 GPU's. It was powered by a PC Power & Cooling 1KW-SR (1000 watt continuous). Unfortunately by todays power standards, it gets pretty bad voltage droop under high loads, so sometimes I would get driver crashes or complete system freezes. I've since replaced it with an OCZ ZX 1250 watt. No problems since, and much better power efficiency, about 970 watts with all gpu's at 1v. Doing 2.99 Ghash. MOtherboard msi z77a-g45 with celeron g530.

Also a more simpler option is, as stated before, is "overclock less, cool more". I run 100% fan and 1v on all rigs, so I'm limited by ambient air and quality of gpu cores. If I get a driver crash, I decrease core speed by 5 MHz. I keep doing that until it stabilizes and I forget about it.

All rigs have 2gb budget ram, run off 250v ac power, windows 7 x64, using ultravnc for remote control, bfgminer 2.9.5, driver 11.12, sdk 2.1 installed on top of whatever sdk comes with 11.12. I use "gpu-platform" : 1 in my conf file to select my 2.1 sdk. Hope I was able to help you out.

Moshi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
January 21, 2013, 12:10:07 AM
 #12

Overclock less, cool more.

Ditto. I've ran into this "issue" many times with 2 6950s from either clocking too high, or running too hot. While it could be one of many other issues, considering the amount of heat two 5970s would produce shoved up to each other, I would doubt it's anything else.

1Moshi7BMtBtBefWSnhUXcWoc8WEhpgNxs for the times I do something useful
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 421


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 01:05:31 PM
 #13

what psu are you running?? also run stock core clocks
navelgazer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 12:29:23 AM
 #14

Any news with this issue? I'm having the same problem when running CGminer + ATI 7850 + FX8120 + Asus m4a88t-m +16gb ram
It started to happen after having some issues with the AMD SDK 2.8 pack so I tried everything from re installing Drivers versions from 12.6 to 12.10 and also with SDK 2.6 2.5
I reformatted windows 7 (x64) No luck with anything.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 01:03:54 AM
 #15

Any news with this issue? I'm having the same problem when running CGminer + ATI 7850 + FX8120 + Asus m4a88t-m +16gb ram
It started to happen after having some issues with the AMD SDK 2.8 pack so I tried everything from re installing Drivers versions from 12.6 to 12.10 and also with SDK 2.6 2.5
I reformatted windows 7 (x64) No luck with anything.

Are you using your desktop while mining?

If so what is your intensity set to?

Are you overclocking the engine or underclocking your memory?

Are you getting hardware error's?

Did you read the FAQ in the readme?

Did you post in the CGMiner thread?

By the way, what's an FX8120?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
navelgazer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 01:43:56 AM
 #16

Any news with this issue? I'm having the same problem when running CGminer + ATI 7850 + FX8120 + Asus m4a88t-m +16gb ram
It started to happen after having some issues with the AMD SDK 2.8 pack so I tried everything from re installing Drivers versions from 12.6 to 12.10 and also with SDK 2.6 2.5
I reformatted windows 7 (x64) No luck with anything.

Are you using your desktop while mining?

If so what is your intensity set to?

Are you overclocking the engine or underclocking your memory?

Are you getting hardware error's?

Did you read the FAQ in the readme?

Did you post in the CGMiner thread?

By the way, what's an FX8120?

I'm mining Litecoins.

No I'm not using the desktop.

Since you asked I just tried a lower intensity than the originally set on 17. It seems to work (at a lower hash rate... same temperature tho) with intensity 13.

No I'm not overclocking or underclocking. The thing is set to its defaults. I did tried overclocking before the issue started to happen. --gpu-engine 860-1152 --gpu-memclock 1200-1350

FX8120 its the micro processor's model. As in AMD Bulldozer FX8120 8-cores.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 10:10:29 AM
 #17

I'm mining Litecoins.

No I'm not using the desktop.

Since you asked I just tried a lower intensity than the originally set on 17. It seems to work (at a lower hash rate... same temperature tho) with intensity 13.

Ah, Litecoins.  That is a mystery in and of itself.  I thought you were mining BTC till I saw your other thread on this same subject.

But I would get the device driver failure like you describe when overclocked the engine too high or underclocked the RAM too much or did something too graphic intensive while mining.

So since it stabilized after lowering intensity I would say its related to that.  I think there is a litecoin readme has some suggestions on which driver/sdk combination and as well as settings.  From there its probably trial and error.

Hopefully someone who is well versed in Litecoin will have better input for you.

Good Luck,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!