Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 05:53:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will this MOBO support THREE 6970? GIGABYTE GA-890FXA-UD5  (Read 1451 times)
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 11:25:05 PM
 #1

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128441&Tpk=GA-890FXA-UD5

I'm planning to install 3 6970 on it. Will it allow the 6970 reach max mining potential? The thing I'm concerned with is it says:
2 x PCI Express x16 slots, running at x16 (PCIEX16_1, PCIEX16_2) (Note 1)
1 x PCI Express x16 slots, running at x8 (PCIEX8) (Note 2)
1 x PCI Express x16 slots, running at x4 (PCIEX4)

Would the "running at x8" and "running at x4" affect MHash rates? or I can ignore that and just plug the card in any PCIe slot?

btc: 15sFnThw58hiGHYXyUAasgfauifTEB1ZF6
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511200383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511200383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511200383
Reply with quote  #2

1511200383
Report to moderator
1511200383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511200383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511200383
Reply with quote  #2

1511200383
Report to moderator
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:05:11 AM
 #2

bump

btc: 15sFnThw58hiGHYXyUAasgfauifTEB1ZF6
rgod14
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:08:13 AM
 #3

No, running at x8, x4, or even x1 won't affect your hashrate. And yes you can fit 3 of those cards in on that mobo. Now as for in a case that might be a different story.

If I've been helpful please donate: 1Bnga4GEAMWJyUsvrzf6u5Vrw4VkACrGXV
kokojie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:25:22 AM
 #4

Thanks dude. For case I plan to go with http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ZM7YTA Cooler Master HAF 912
Is this a good case for the set up?

btc: 15sFnThw58hiGHYXyUAasgfauifTEB1ZF6
rgod14
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:54:56 PM
 #5

You're going to have troubles getting 3 6970's in there I can guarantee that. I have the HAF 932 and it's a no go for sure. Probably caseless is a better idea imo.

Edit: You're going to want a case with at least 9 slots on the back panel if you do want to go with a case.

You're probably looking at something like this http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119225 tower....but again it's $200 that's probably not necessary.

If I've been helpful please donate: 1Bnga4GEAMWJyUsvrzf6u5Vrw4VkACrGXV
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!