Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 09:34:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: There is something about git I'm just not comprehending  (Read 355 times)
AliceWonderMiscreations
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 01:06:26 AM
 #1

Sorry until a few years ago I just used SVN and now that using git, it is all been my projects and I haven't worried about branches.

I need to squash a pull request for bitcoin and I just am not getting the concept.

https://gist.github.com/bcherny/de24955c15430efd99f1

Code:
git checkout master
git merge --squash myBranch
git commit

How to refer to "myBranch" is what I am not comprehending.

https://github.com/AliceWonderMiscreations/bitcoin

That is myBranch - but there must be something in that article that is obvious to some but not to me to allow referring to myBranch

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/7588

That is the pull request I need to squash.

With the above, I assume I am suppose to co from the bitcoin/bitcoin master branch ??

I hereby reserve the right to sometimes be wrong
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511343286
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511343286

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511343286
Reply with quote  #2

1511343286
Report to moderator
1511343286
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511343286

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511343286
Reply with quote  #2

1511343286
Report to moderator
AliceWonderMiscreations
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 01:58:27 AM
 #2

There is definitely something I am not comprehending -

Code:
git branch -v
* AliceWonder 3174621 Merge #7583: [doc] Fix typos
  master      3174621 Merge #7583: [doc] Fix typos

git remote -v
AliceWonder https://github.com/AliceWonderMiscreations/bitcoin.git (fetch)
AliceWonder https://github.com/AliceWonderMiscreations/bitcoin.git (push)
origin https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin.git (fetch)
origin https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin.git (push)

I checked out master from bitcoin/bitcoin and figured out how to reference my branch and switch to it.

It seems to show that I am now in my branch but it is not showing the files or mods.

Fuck it.

I'm going to sleep, look at it later, if I can't figure it out, no skin off my back. Just trying to add something help those in the RPM world as the docs are heavy on debian package world.

I'm sure git is a wonderful tool, it just seems there is some basic concept all the docs I have found assume the reader is familiar with that I just am not.

And I don't even seem to know what to google for to find it.

Sorry for being such a n00b but it isn't worth my time to keep trying to figure out something I'm not getting paid to do.

I hereby reserve the right to sometimes be wrong
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 03:15:14 AM
 #3

Try the instructions here: https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2/Git-Tools-Rewriting-History. It uses git rebase in interactive mode. Also, for general git help and instructions, read the articles here: https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
AliceWonderMiscreations
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 03:39:38 AM
 #4

Maybe I'm just too old to learn new tricks.

I may have gotten farther along in that I was able to squash them in the cli but I can't go from there, and I'm not going to spend more time on it.

Code:
git pull AliceWonder -u master
git checkout master
git merge --squash AliceWonder
git commit

That's as far as I got, but I can't seem to get that off my local machine and onto github.

I'm done trying, better ways to waste my time.

I hereby reserve the right to sometimes be wrong
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 03:41:54 AM
 #5

You need to do a "git push" in order for your commit to appear on github.

The basic workflow is always:

git pull
...
(do some work)
git commit
(do some more work)
git commit
...
git push

Once you get used to "git" you'll never want to go back to CVS or SVN (so it is worth making the effort to learn the basics).

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
AliceWonderMiscreations
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 07:03:14 AM
 #6

You need to do a "git push" in order for your commit to appear on github.

The basic workflow is always:

git pull
...
(do some work)
git commit
(do some more work)
git commit
...
git push

Once you get used to "git" you'll never want to go back to CVS or SVN (so it is worth making the effort to learn the basics).


The git push gave me a 403 after entering my credentials.

I just gave up on it.

The RPM stuff works well for me, I thought I would share it with others, but I'm not going to stress myself to do so nor am I going to spend hours learning the git stuff I have never needed for my own personal git needs to so.

Kind of sad that procedural stuff is a barrier to contribution of what I am good at, but someone else can write an RPM spec file for the project, or even steal mine.

I hereby reserve the right to sometimes be wrong
AliceWonderMiscreations
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2016, 08:57:56 AM
 #7

If anyone else wants to give it a shot - http://awel.domblogger.net/7/libre/src/repoview/bitcoin.html - a src.rpm now including SELinux support.

Feel free to extract the spec file and put in the contrib section.

No I'm not lazy, it's just there is some git concept I clearly don't get even after hours of trying to figure it out, and I'm not getting paid to keep trying.

So if a well written RPM spec file is of value, I've done my part. Have at it.

I hereby reserve the right to sometimes be wrong
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!