Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 02:47:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin - endless pending transaction  (Read 1623 times)
EBK1000
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


A Wound in Eternity


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 11:22:57 AM
 #1

Can someone please help / explain. I have a pending transaction shown in my Bitcoin Core 0.12.0 wallet of:

0.02712967 BTC

This has been shown pending for more than a week now and all my transactions are all confirmed and there is no such amount in my transaction list. I do not know where it is from but it just sits there as pending:



Whats going on here and how can I trace what this transaction is?

Soooooooon...............
1511578069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511578069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511578069
Reply with quote  #2

1511578069
Report to moderator
1511578069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511578069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511578069
Reply with quote  #2

1511578069
Report to moderator
1511578069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511578069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511578069
Reply with quote  #2

1511578069
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511578069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511578069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511578069
Reply with quote  #2

1511578069
Report to moderator
1511578069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511578069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511578069
Reply with quote  #2

1511578069
Report to moderator
pedrog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
February 25, 2016, 11:28:16 AM
 #2

What does it show in a block explorer?

Have you tried to turn it off and on again? Smiley

EBK1000
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


A Wound in Eternity


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 12:27:30 PM
 #3

What does it show in a block explorer?

Have you tried to turn it off and on again? Smiley

Yes, I have turned it off/on and it makes no difference, I can't check the block explorer because I have no idea what this amount is for or from and it's not shown in my transaction list.

Soooooooon...............
belcher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 245


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 02:01:24 PM
 #4

Restart bitcoin-qt once with the -zapwallettxes flag enabled.

1HZBd22eQLgbwxjwbCtSjhoPFWxQg8rBd9
JoinMarket - CoinJoin that people will actually use.
PGP fingerprint: 0A8B 038F 5E10 CC27 89BF CFFF EF73 4EA6 77F3 1129
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 04:27:27 PM
 #5

Mine did the same thing.

There is no transaction for that amount to be searched on the blockchain.

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
BTC_Learner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 04:37:03 PM
 #6

Mine did the same thing.

There is no transaction for that amount to be searched on the blockchain.

I echo this. Interestingly, before I updated to 0.12 (was on 0.8.6 previously), nothing was showing as pending--the full amount was showing as confirmed. Like iglasses and OP said, there is no unconfirmed transaction showing up in my transactions list. Appreciate any input.
zsmith
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 04:56:07 PM
 #7

I also have a small mysterious pending transaction that does not seem to exist on the blockchain, since upgrading.

Find my post useful? Please consider dropping some bitcoin in my tip jar: 1zsmithbYtyrcZ2jAAYwZHyAy28zv7pUY
Moloch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2016, 05:52:53 PM
 #8

According to https://blockchain.info/unconfirmed-transactions, there are currently 1800kB+ of unconfirmed transactions...

Around 950kB are in each block, so not all of these will make it into the next block... (and more transactions keep piling up)

Only the 50% with highest fees will get mined in the next block... if you put a low/zero fee, it might sit for days before confirming

You can try clearing the tx out of your wallet and re-sending it with a higher fee (double-spend), or giving it the occasional bump so it stays in memory (default bitcoin setting removes stale transactions after 72 hours)

I set up a relay if you want to try broadcasting the transaction from a different origin:
http://services.moloch.net/broadcast

BTC_Learner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 06:00:21 PM
 #9

According to https://blockchain.info/unconfirmed-transactions, there are currently 1800kB+ of unconfirmed transactions...

Around 950kB are in each block, so not all of these will make it into the next block... (and more transactions keep piling up)

Only the 50% with highest fees will get mined in the next block... if you put a low/zero fee, it might sit for days before confirming

You can try clearing the tx out of your wallet and re-sending it with a higher fee (double-spend), or giving it the occasional bump so it stays in memory (default bitcoin setting removes stale transactions after 72 hours)

I set up a relay if you want to try broadcasting the transaction from a different origin:
http://services.moloch.net/broadcast

Thanks, but what's going on here is a little more perplexing.

I, and others on here, have no unconfirmed transactions in our Transaction List, yet an amount still shows as pending. We are having a hard time even identifying which transaction this pending amount would relate to.

And this issue only arose after updating to 0.12. Before updating, I had, e.g., 1 bitcoin showing up as my confirmed balance with 0 pending. Now, after updating, I show 0.8 confirmed and 0.2 pending.
shorena
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


ALL escrow is signed! https://keybase.io/verify


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2016, 11:58:14 PM
 #10

According to https://blockchain.info/unconfirmed-transactions, there are currently 1800kB+ of unconfirmed transactions...

Around 950kB are in each block, so not all of these will make it into the next block... (and more transactions keep piling up)

Only the 50% with highest fees will get mined in the next block... if you put a low/zero fee, it might sit for days before confirming

You can try clearing the tx out of your wallet and re-sending it with a higher fee (double-spend), or giving it the occasional bump so it stays in memory (default bitcoin setting removes stale transactions after 72 hours)

I set up a relay if you want to try broadcasting the transaction from a different origin:
http://services.moloch.net/broadcast

Thanks, but what's going on here is a little more perplexing.

I, and others on here, have no unconfirmed transactions in our Transaction List, yet an amount still shows as pending. We are having a hard time even identifying which transaction this pending amount would relate to.

And this issue only arose after updating to 0.12. Before updating, I had, e.g., 1 bitcoin showing up as my confirmed balance with 0 pending. Now, after updating, I show 0.8 confirmed and 0.2 pending.

Do a -rescan. With the update to 0.12 came some changes to the wallet part as well. There might have been a hickup somewhere.

BTC_Learner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 27, 2016, 06:42:32 PM
 #11

Shorena, I would like to do a rescan, but I'm pretty computer illiterate. Would you be able to give me a step-by-step of how to do it on OSX? Is it something I have to do through the command line, or can I use a configuration file to do it? Either way, pretty clueless as to how to actually do it.
vlamer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102

N.E.E.T


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2016, 06:47:36 PM
 #12

Can someone please help / explain. I have a pending transaction shown in my Bitcoin Core 0.12.0 wallet of:

0.02712967 BTC

This has been shown pending for more than a week now and all my transactions are all confirmed and there is no such amount in my transaction list. I do not know where it is from but it just sits there as pending:



Whats going on here and how can I trace what this transaction is?
is wallet  already synced for block download ?

BTC_Learner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 27, 2016, 06:52:56 PM
 #13

Shorena, I would like to do a rescan, but I'm pretty computer illiterate. Would you be able to give me a step-by-step of how to do it on OSX? Is it something I have to do through the command line, or can I use a configuration file to do it? Either way, pretty clueless as to how to actually do it.

Actually, dug up an old post that showed how to do it. In progress as we speak... will see how it goes!
vlamer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102

N.E.E.T


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2016, 07:15:59 PM
 #14

Shorena, I would like to do a rescan, but I'm pretty computer illiterate. Would you be able to give me a step-by-step of how to do it on OSX? Is it something I have to do through the command line, or can I use a configuration file to do it? Either way, pretty clueless as to how to actually do it.

Actually, dug up an old post that showed how to do it. In progress as we speak... will see how it goes!
may be this link can help https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin this for OS X https://bitcoin.org/en/full-node#mac-os-x-instructions

you can see problem in file debug.log ,in dir $HOME/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/   /Users/username/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin fo OS X..

bob123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


JOLYY - The future of beauty!


View Profile
February 28, 2016, 06:23:41 PM
 #15

you can trie to rebroadcast the transaction using blockchain API

            ███           ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄           ███       ▀███          ▀██▄ ▄██▀          ███▀
            ███         ▄████▀▀    ▀▀████▄         ███         ███          ▀█████           ███
            ███       ▄███▀            ▀███▄       ███          ▀██▄         ▄███▄         ▄██▀
            ███      ███▀                ▀███      ███            ███       ███▀███       ███
            ███     ███▀                  ▀███     ███             ▀██▄   ▄██▀   ▀██▄   ▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███               ███▄██▀       ▀██▄██▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                ▀███▀         ▀███▀
            ███     ███                    ███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███     ███▄                  ▄███     ███                 ███           ███
            ███      ███▄                ▄███      ███                 ███           ███
           ███▀       ▀███▄            ▄███▀       ▀███                ███           ███
██▄▄▄  ▄▄▄███▀          ▀████▄▄    ▄▄████▀          ▀███▄▄▄  ▄▄▄██     ███           ███
▀▀████████▀▀              ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀              ▀▀████████▀▀     ███           ███
           T H E   F U T U R E             
                       o f   B E A U T Y


 ▀█▄             ▄▄▄▄▄▄
   ▀█▄      ▄▄███▀▀▀▀
    ▄██     ▀▀▀     ▄▄▄▄
 ▄▄▄ ██         ▄     ▀▀██▄
▀█▀█▀█▀▄       █▄     ▄██▀
               ▀████████
               ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀ ▀


      ▄▄
     ▀█▀▀▀

    █▄
     ███████▀▀▀
    █▄
      ▀▀▀▀▀
zsmith
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
February 28, 2016, 09:20:35 PM
 #16

Do a -rescan. With the update to 0.12 came some changes to the wallet part as well. There might have been a hickup somewhere.

Rescanning solved the issue for me, thanks.

Find my post useful? Please consider dropping some bitcoin in my tip jar: 1zsmithbYtyrcZ2jAAYwZHyAy28zv7pUY
BTC_Learner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 29, 2016, 02:34:19 PM
 #17

Rescan worked for me as well.
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 09:47:35 AM
 #18

I also have a small mysterious pending transaction that does not seem to exist on the blockchain, since upgrading.
I just upgraded I had the same issue with an accidental double-spend I made a while back. Somehow the client created the transaction I wanted to do twice, one went through and the other was marked as "error" in my transaction list... until this update which marked it as pending. Rescanning did the trick for me too.

-
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!