Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:12:47 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire Xtreme HD5850 wont do 500 mem clock  (Read 1650 times)
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:12:35 AM
 #1

I dont understand, i turn on my computer put the dummy plug in place.
And then i try to downclock my mems and computer crashes.
Anyone had this, how did u solve it?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481361167
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361167

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361167
Reply with quote  #2

1481361167
Report to moderator
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:22:02 AM
 #2

i am using afterburner.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:22:45 AM
 #3

i use afterburner, and trixx, both works for me.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
kirby9058
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:24:42 AM
 #4

I dont understand, i turn on my computer put the dummy plug in place.
And then i try to downclock my mems and computer crashes.
Anyone had this, how did u solve it?
Have you tried turning it down in smaller increments? I have an XFX 5830 and I have the same problem on that card when I try and make big jumps. Dunno, it's worth a shot right?
tito13kfm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:25:17 AM
 #5

Sneak up on it.  Bring down your memory in small increments with Trixx.  Try 100MHz at a time.

One of my 5830s crashes instantly if I bring it from 1000 to 500, but if I go from 1000 to 900 to 800, etc it's fine.

I have no idea why though.  I do know that I get a HyperTransport error on boot after the crash though.  So it could be too much variance in expected rate through the pci-e slot.

sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:34:19 AM
 #6

yes! its working going down in decrements of 50.
i am using a pci-e 16x at 4x so it might be that.
lets see how far i can lower it.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:38:00 AM
 #7

crashed at 550 Sad

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:42:08 AM
 #8

can it be my drivers?
i still have 11.3

btw: it doesnt really crash and reboot windows just freezes.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
tito13kfm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:54:11 AM
 #9

This is another random/strange suggestion.  First lower your core clock rate down to like 500MHz, then gradually bring memory down, then gradually bring core clock back up.

Drivers should not matter one bit, but you never really know.

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:05:59 AM
 #10

maybe your card is bad? i can drop the clock to 230 instantly, with no crashes.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Dyaheon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:06:49 AM
 #11

Change memory clocks while idling. I believe the 400-600MHz range is unstable for some reason, so if you're idling at 157/300 or whatever clocks, it actually won't change to those values. That way you'll get to skip them and set it to straight to 300 and start mining  Smiley
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:11:26 AM
 #12

maybe your card is bad? i can drop the clock to 230 instantly, with no crashes.

yeah but it seems to work fine at stock clocks, how do i prove to them that its bad?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
EgoPaintedGrey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:23:57 AM
 #13

My 5850 wont do 500 memclock, so I set it at 700 on MSI AB, then close an reopen MSI and set them at 350. If I set them at 500 it will crash too.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:24:11 AM
 #14

maybe your card is bad? i can drop the clock to 230 instantly, with no crashes.

yeah but it seems to work fine at stock clocks, how do i prove to them that its bad?
i meant "bad" as in not good for overclocking, not "broken" Tongue

there's nothing you can do about it. maybe you were unlucky and/or i was lucky.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:10:24 AM
 #15

My 5850 wont do 500 memclock, so I set it at 700 on MSI AB, then close an reopen MSI and set them at 350. If I set them at 500 it will crash too.

U got it!
thx now hasing Cheesy
725/300.
just to test out brand new card. will overclock to ~900 after a day or so.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
pun1sh3r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:30:10 AM
 #16

My 5850 wont do 500 memclock, so I set it at 700 on MSI AB, then close an reopen MSI and set them at 350. If I set them at 500 it will crash too.
Same exact thing happens to me.....works at every other memory clock but 500 lol
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!