Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:11:37 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to run/build 6+ GPU Mining Rig  (Read 2161 times)
Cozzie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:45:40 AM
 #1

I have read around but is still slightly confused about GPU limitations per rig.

What I do know is that Windows only support up till 4 cores for AMD based cards so if anyone wants to run 4+ cores they have to use linux which itself has an 8 core limit and there is no way around it is it correct?

How about on the hardware end? Are there any mobos that support more than 3x 2 slot cards (eg: 6990s) cause I have read some people do 4 GCs. And is it possible to split the PCIe with splitters?

How does someone do this??

http://img847.imageshack.us/img847/5971/img0711n.jpg

Thank you for clarifying!
1481382697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382697
Reply with quote  #2

1481382697
Report to moderator
1481382697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382697
Reply with quote  #2

1481382697
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481382697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382697
Reply with quote  #2

1481382697
Report to moderator
1481382697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382697
Reply with quote  #2

1481382697
Report to moderator
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:06:19 AM
 #2

Yes, you are correct on the GPU limits.
This seems like a popular motherboard for 4 dual slot cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274

You don't really need this specific one, as long as it has PCIe 1x slots you can use an extender though you'll have to hack together some case or mounting solution. The one above just has it so that you can plug in all 4 cards and still fit inside a case (as long as the case has 8 expansion slots)

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
Bitonetta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 08:25:54 PM
 #3

What case is that pictured above?

My stuff is open so far and putting them into a case would be nice depending on cost.  What supports 4 double cards? (8 slots or more)
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:05:06 AM
 #4

Here's a bunch of 8 slot cases. I did a newegg search for 8 slots.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007583+600006557&QksAutoSuggestion=&ShowDeactivatedMark=False&Configurator=&IsNodeId=1&Subcategory=7&description=&Ntk=&CFG=&SpeTabStoreType=&AdvancedSearch=1&srchInDesc=

I personally would use a case because all the cards are jammed right next to each other and they get too hot for my tastes.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:37:43 AM
 #5

Be wary when looking for cases. In Yanz's list from Newegg is a HAF 912, which does have 8 card slots, but only two of those slots are available for PCIE from most motherboard layouts. I'd take a guess that most ATX Mid Tower are going to be the same.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!