Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:43:01 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Downclocking 6970 Memory!  (Read 4129 times)
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:15:16 AM
 #1

Could someone please help me out? I just bought this card today, I also have a 5850; they run way too hot.
Right now I'm running at 950Mhz GPU Clock, 1375Mhz Memory Clock. and +5& Power Control Settings. 406Mhash/s @ 71 Celcius with fan @ 88% (Louder than a Jet plane)

So please what utility do I use to downclock the RAM to 331Mhz. As stated here from the Mining Hardware Wiki Chart:
Quote
6970    423          995       2.4    PCI-E 2.1 x16    phoenix 1.48/poclbm    ATI Tray Tools, Clocks=995/331.25, WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 VECTORS ,68C @ 65% Fan, HAF932 Case



http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7043267/GPU.png

1480740181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740181
Reply with quote  #2

1480740181
Report to moderator
1480740181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740181
Reply with quote  #2

1480740181
Report to moderator
1480740181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740181
Reply with quote  #2

1480740181
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480740181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740181
Reply with quote  #2

1480740181
Report to moderator
1480740181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740181
Reply with quote  #2

1480740181
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:16:41 AM
 #2

Could someone please help me out? I just bought this card today, I also have a 5850; they run way too hot.
Right now I'm running at 950Mhz GPU Clock, 1375Mhz Memory Clock. and +5& Power Control Settings. 406Mhash/s @ 71 Celcius with fan @ 88% (Louder than a Jet plane)

So please what utility do I use to downclock the RAM to 331Mhz. As stated here from the Mining Hardware Wiki Chart:
Quote
6970    423          995       2.4    PCI-E 2.1 x16    phoenix 1.48/poclbm    ATI Tray Tools, Clocks=995/331.25, WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 VECTORS ,68C @ 65% Fan, HAF932 Case







MSI Afterburner
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:42:21 AM
 #3

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7043267/Gpu2.png


Still won't bring the clock down enough. Also MSI afterburner doesn't have any power options for me so when I use it the Mhash rate goes way down to 311 instead of 406.
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:44:56 AM
 #4

In afterburner, lower the memory speed all the way down, click apply.  Then close afterburner and restart. You should then be able to decrease the memory even further.
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:52:49 AM
 #5

In afterburner, lower the memory speed all the way down, click apply.  Then close afterburner and restart. You should then be able to decrease the memory even further.


Did exactly as you said. Brought it down to the lowest. Applied, closed out. Restarted. No cigar though.
Same minimum clock as before.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:56:55 AM
 #6

In afterburner, lower the memory speed all the way down, click apply.  Then close afterburner and restart. You should then be able to decrease the memory even further.


Did exactly as you said. Brought it down to the lowest. Applied, closed out. Restarted. No cigar though.
Same minimum clock as before.

He means restart after burner, not your pc. If thats what you did.
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 01:57:56 AM
 #7

In afterburner, lower the memory speed all the way down, click apply.  Then close afterburner and restart. You should then be able to decrease the memory even further.


Did exactly as you said. Brought it down to the lowest. Applied, closed out. Restarted. No cigar though.
Same minimum clock as before.

He means restart after burner, not your pc. If thats what you did.

I did both. :3 Still not going down either way :[
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:19:37 AM
 #8

Have you made the appropriate changes to the afterburner config?

Code:
[ATIADLHAL]
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Only other thing I can think of. Hopefully that gets you going.  And yeah, just restart MSI Afterburner, not your PC!

cent
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:23:23 AM
 #9

Have you made the appropriate changes to the afterburner config?

Code:
[ATIADLHAL]
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

Only other thing I can think of. Hopefully that gets you going.  And yeah, just restart MSI Afterburner, not your PC!

cent

BEAUTIFUL. Thank you so much!!!
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:40:53 AM
 #10

Very welcome!

Have fun and go make some BTC!  Grin
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 02:57:05 AM
 #11

Very welcome!

Have fun and go make some BTC!  Grin

Haha yep. Ty. I actually got the 6970 today, regretting it though.
I overclocked my 5850 to 342 Mhashes and it's running at a cool 61c (Fan at 40%) while the 6970 is getting 406 Mhashes @74c with the fan at 70%.
Might try to return it and pickup 2 more 5850's, possibly setup a new rig.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 03:19:22 AM
 #12

Very welcome!

Have fun and go make some BTC!  Grin

Haha yep. Ty. I actually got the 6970 today, regretting it though.
I overclocked my 5850 to 342 Mhashes and it's running at a cool 61c (Fan at 40%) while the 6970 is getting 406 Mhashes @74c with the fan at 70%.
Might try to return it and pickup 2 more 5850's, possibly setup a new rig.

6970 on 406 Mhps at 74C? Nice! Seriously, that's cool and quite for these stupid things. Can't get any 58xx where I live, and my only option is watercooling whic as a mechanical klutz I'm not sure I can do. If you you hate the noise, return 'em. I've got 6990's and I have to go with a 6970 for my next card.

BTW, what settings (OC, UC, miner and flags) are giving you 406 Mhps on your 6970? Also, downclocking mem below 440 drastically increases stales on my 6990, and below 550 increases them from 0.5% to 1.5%. Something to keep in mind when you UC mem.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:16:58 AM
 #13

Quote
6970 on 406 Mhps at 74C? Nice! Seriously, that's cool and quite for these stupid things. Can't get any 58xx where I live, and my only option is watercooling whic as a mechanical klutz I'm not sure I can do. If you you hate the noise, return 'em. I've got 6990's and I have to go with a 6970 for my next card.

BTW, what settings (OC, UC, miner and flags) are giving you 406 Mhps on your 6970? Also, downclocking mem below 440 drastically increases stales on my 6990, and below 550 increases them from 0.5% to 1.5%. Something to keep in mind when you UC mem.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7043267/OC.png 1002/340
I used the CCC(Amd OverDrive) to turn up the +20% power after I used the MSI Afterburner, cause it was only getting like 340 or something without it. Too bad MSI afterburner doesn't have that option :/
Using the newest GUIminer with phoenix miner flags are: WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 VECTORS (Haven't really messed with the flags that much)
If I get tired of the fans I might get a watercooling unit.

Edit: also might be worth getting Phoenix rising instead of GUI miner; due to the fact that you can set it to cooldown after it hits a certain temperature as a precaution so you don't brick your cards.
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:22:19 AM
 #14

Add FASTLOOP=false to your options as well.
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:32:36 AM
 #15

Add FASTLOOP=false to your options as well.

Shot it up by 1 Mhash heh.
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:35:32 AM
 #16

Add FASTLOOP=false to your options as well.

Shot it up by 1 Mhash heh.
Every Mhash helps! 1Mhash/sec*60sec==60Mhash more per minute. Work that out to a month.  It adds up!!
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:37:21 AM
 #17

Also I might add that the 6970's are XBOXHUGE compared to my puny 5850.
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/3410/sam0291.jpg
Ferret
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 04:37:54 AM
 #18

Add FASTLOOP=false to your options as well.

Shot it up by 1 Mhash heh.
Every Mhash helps! 1Mhash/sec*60sec==60Mhash more per minute. Work that out to a month.  It adds up!!

True that.
3txx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:41:17 PM
 #19

Sombody knows how far i can overclock the 9760 savely? At the moment I'm at 960/1100 with 74°C and ~411mhash with 60%Fan (stable).
Did I only need to look at the temperature or are there any other variables to take care of?

jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:55:51 PM
 #20




Still won't bring the clock down enough. Also MSI afterburner doesn't have any power options for me so when I use it the Mhash rate goes way down to 311 instead of 406.

I did this with my 6870 cards and set them to 300 in MSI afterburner but as soon as i start mining the graphs on the right (if you scroll down you will see the memory clock graph) it spikes to 1050 (stock clock).  as soon as i shut off the miners it drops to 300

anyone know how i can get the card to run at 300 while at full load?
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!