Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 09:07:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: is it possible to mine from 2 different GPUs?  (Read 8962 times)
frozenkai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
January 25, 2013, 11:55:58 PM
 #1

Is it possible to mine bitcoins from 2 different GPUs?
Just say like a 7970 and a 5870?

My hard drive died and I lost all my bitcoins, help me out? 19BsFvdjtVDPHhdcYqBUi1bZ9xRopzbRjC
1513242477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513242477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513242477
Reply with quote  #2

1513242477
Report to moderator
1513242477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513242477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513242477
Reply with quote  #2

1513242477
Report to moderator
1513242477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513242477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513242477
Reply with quote  #2

1513242477
Report to moderator
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513242477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513242477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513242477
Reply with quote  #2

1513242477
Report to moderator
sounds
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

1221iZanNi5igK7oAA7AWmYjpsyjsRbLLZ


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 12:04:25 AM
 #2

Yes

Is it possible to make money with GPUs? Well, not very likely and it will take a long time.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 12:05:25 AM
 #3

Absolutely. You may need to run two different instances of your miner though depending on your miner of choice and install ATI Stream SDK 2.1 in addition to the AMD APP that comes with more recent drivers (use 12.1) to get optimum performance though. You can just install the most recent driver and AMD APP that comes with it, but you'll lose up to 20% performance from your 5870.

Gatorhex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 03:41:23 AM
 #4

Yes, even if they were the same I still wouldn't use crossfire as they run better solo.

I've run 5830s with 6850s and 7850s in the same machine (5830s are a real bargain)

Being able to game on one card while the other keep mining is nice.
noncecents
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 11:51:18 PM
 #5

I think the question depends on the assumption that GPU's share workloads, which they do not.

Mining software works similar to the way that parallel computing clusters do whereby the software uses a small amount of the host's CPU resources to assign jobs to each GPU, each of which are handled by one GPU.

Thus, each CPU works one job at a time and the work of one job is not shared between the GPU's.

This is why it doesn't matter if your GPU's are in Crossfire or SLI configuration (or not). The software addresses the GPU's directly.

You could have as many different GPU's as your motherboard can support all running under one instance of, say, Diablominer.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1612



View Profile
January 30, 2013, 12:58:43 PM
 #6

If you were mining back in the days when a 5870 was pulling in 5.0 BTC a day, you will remember that it was even common for people to mine with ATI and nVidida GPUs side-by-side. They simply ran one instance of a CUDA miner and another instance of an OpenCL miner.
tyjo26
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 19, 2014, 11:14:39 PM
 #7

I think the question depends on the assumption that GPU's share workloads, which they do not.

Mining software works similar to the way that parallel computing clusters do whereby the software uses a small amount of the host's CPU resources to assign jobs to each GPU, each of which are handled by one GPU.

Thus, each CPU works one job at a time and the work of one job is not shared between the GPU's.

This is why it doesn't matter if your GPU's are in Crossfire or SLI configuration (or not). The software addresses the GPU's directly.

You could have as many different GPU's as your motherboard can support all running under one instance of, say, Diablominer.

So say I have a Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 and I want to buy a PowerColor Radeon HD 7970. Would that work?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!