Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 09:28:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Terracoin setup questions  (Read 1832 times)
AMD FTW
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 05:47:26 PM
 #1

How does one mine terracoins solo?

I downloaded the most current terracoin file from their site.
I then created a .conf file under my terracoin roaming folder.
I then opened my cgminer file and typed in http://10.0.0.2:9332
My unique username
My unique password

Before this I tried to open terracoin-qt -server via command prompt with the server flag. I got an error saying that I must set a rpcpassword in the configuration file which I already did. The error gave me a recommended username as well as a password. I haven't tried these yet but was hoping someone could comment on this.




GUTS | GET-Protocol ICO
smart-ticket protocol for events | live product with market traction!
BTC ANN | WEBSITE | BLOG | SANDBOX | WHITEPAPER | BOUNTY
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
"Governments are good at cutting off the heads of a centrally controlled networks like Napster, but pure P2P networks like Gnutella and Tor seem to be holding their own." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
1513416537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513416537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513416537
Reply with quote  #2

1513416537
Report to moderator
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 06:01:51 PM
 #2

How does one mine terracoins solo?

I downloaded the most current terracoin file from their site.
I then created a .conf file under my terracoin roaming folder.
I then opened my cgminer file and typed in http://10.0.0.2:9332
My unique username
My unique password

Before this I tried to open terracoin-qt -server via command prompt with the server flag. I got an error saying that I must set a rpcpassword in the configuration file which I already did. The error gave me a recommended username as well as a password. I haven't tried these yet but was hoping someone could comment on this.





Assuming you are in windows:

Your .conf file must go in /appdata/roaming/terracoin

and must contain the following:

Code:
server=1
rpcuser=youruniqueusername
rpcpassword=youruniquepass
rpcallowip=192.168.1.*
rpcport=yourterracoinport

Once you have this in the correct folder, re-launch terracoin and try again.

***EDIT***

To connect your miners, point them at your local network address rather than your external ip.

crazy_rabbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


RUM AND CARROTS: A PIRATE LIFE FOR ME


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 06:49:49 PM
 #3

Can you be a little more specific about your setup?

Otherwise, you can generally use localhost for the IP to point to: 127.0.0.1

:-)
the rabbit

more or less retired.
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 07:23:33 PM
 #4

Can you be a little more specific about your setup?

Otherwise, you can generally use localhost for the IP to point to: 127.0.0.1

:-)
the rabbit

Yes, if you are mining on the same computer your terracoin client is on then you can point your miner to: 127.0.0.1:port

but if you are using another computer you will need to point your miner to the local network address and port number (i.e. 192.168.1.123:port)
AMD FTW
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 08:06:26 PM
 #5

Thanks guys for responding. I figured out what the issue was. For some reason when I opened up notepad and originally named the file "terracoin.conf" it didn't save it as a .conf file. I deleted the notepad file and created a new one and low and behold it worked the 2nd time and was actually a .conf file when I saved it.

GUTS | GET-Protocol ICO
smart-ticket protocol for events | live product with market traction!
BTC ANN | WEBSITE | BLOG | SANDBOX | WHITEPAPER | BOUNTY
c4n10
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 08:13:19 PM
 #6

Thanks guys for responding. I figured out what the issue was. For some reason when I opened up notepad and originally named the file "terracoin.conf" it didn't save it as a .conf file. I deleted the notepad file and created a new one and low and behold it worked the 2nd time and was actually a .conf file when I saved it.


Ah yes, when saving .conf files in notepad (or any files that aren't .txt) you must make sure that when saving you change the "files of type" drop-down menu to "all files" then save as "filename.conf"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!