Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 08:28:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Graphics Card Issues.  (Read 1183 times)
n00b2.0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 08:27:43 PM
 #1

I got a brand new graphics card for Christmas;

EVGa GeForce 660 Ti, 2GB DDR5 Memory, 192-bit memory width.

But I cant get above 90MH/s with it? Even overclocked, its sitting at 100MH/s. A friends GPU, that is 3 years old, is getting 200-400MH/s?

How do I tweek my settings to get the best results?

Any ideas?
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
1513499288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499288
Reply with quote  #2

1513499288
Report to moderator
russianfool
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:08:17 PM
 #2

The sad truth is that nVidia cards are just not very good at mining because of their architecture, and AMD cards are. Take a look here. http://m.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-660-ti-benchmark-review,3279-12.html

And don't forget to check your power consumption and electricity costs if you're doing this for profit.
panda1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:10:50 PM
 #3

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
n00b2.0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:15:02 PM
 #4

I heard AMD was better (after I bought the card), but I dint think it would be this bad!


Also, it just got worse! Take a look:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8417118607_356ca9da77.jpg

This keeps happening. I have to stop the program, and restart it for it to fix. Sometimes, just stopping the worker, and restarting it works, but not always.
n00b2.0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:18:08 PM
 #5

My card isnt even listed there. FML. Must be terrible!  Cry
foggyb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344


View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:21:22 PM
 #6

My card isnt even listed there. FML. Must be terrible!  Cry

Thats NVIDIA for ya.

Radeon 5830 can be found used for $60 & hash at close to 300 mh/s.
BitcoinOxygen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
January 26, 2013, 09:47:06 PM
 #7

Nvidia = Bad for mining
AMD = Good for mining

This is why his older card is performing better than your brand new card.

BTCOxygen PPS Mining Pool 2% Fee  <<<  Join Now
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
January 26, 2013, 09:58:52 PM
 #8

I got a brand new graphics card for Christmas;

EVGa GeForce 660 Ti, 2GB DDR5 Memory, 192-bit memory width.

But I cant get above 90MH/s with it? Even overclocked, its sitting at 100MH/s. A friends GPU, that is 3 years old, is getting 200-400MH/s?

How do I tweek my settings to get the best results?

Any ideas?

whats your CPU? maybe you can mine litecoin well

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Andynerd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
January 27, 2013, 02:17:00 AM
 #9

I feel your pain, I have an nvidia as well. I found that GUIMiner especially hates NVIDIA. I've tried diablo, bfg,rpc miner and guiminer. I find that for Nvidia BFGMiner and rpc CUDA Miner work almost the same, though bfg just feels more stable. I am running an nvidia 570 oc to 900 stock voltage runs about 150Mh/s to 175Mh/s.

BFG: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.0

RPC: https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=2444.0

Like my post? Donate! 1ADZqqLCXiomLr9HeytX49J4N8n5Tmz5rS
All BTC I make will be given back to the community.
n00b2.0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 12:21:30 AM
 #10

I feel your pain, I have an nvidia as well. I found that GUIMiner especially hates NVIDIA. I've tried diablo, bfg,rpc miner and guiminer. I find that for Nvidia BFGMiner and rpc CUDA Miner work almost the same, though bfg just feels more stable. I am running an nvidia 570 oc to 900 stock voltage runs about 150Mh/s to 175Mh/s.

BFG: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.0

RPC: https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=2444.0

Thanks! I'll defiantly look at them! Cheers!  Smiley

whats your CPU? maybe you can mine litecoin well

Intel Core 2 Duo. Old enough these days. Its next on my list, along with the motherboard, for an upgrade.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 01:24:17 AM
 #11

nVIDIA SUCKS

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
emjay2d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 02:01:18 AM
 #12

I heard AMD was better (after I bought the card), but I dint think it would be this bad!


Also, it just got worse! Take a look:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8417118607_356ca9da77.jpg

This keeps happening. I have to stop the program, and restart it for it to fix. Sometimes, just stopping the worker, and restarting it works, but not always.

Just so you dont feel alone. I must say this also happeneds to me... simply makes it unuseable for me imo... or anyone i think really... unless u sit there all day and check it to start it again. BitMinter has been working wonders for me, but with bitminter, ur stuck with bitminter pool. All i know is that it was easy as fuck to get running and it runs, consistantly... FOREVER! Tongue

I have ATI (im not used to saying AMD... I REFUSE!!!!) Smiley
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 28, 2013, 06:48:02 AM
 #13

ATi was purchased annd merged with AMD

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!