Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:53:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can multiple GPU share the same Miner(worker) Account?  (Read 7824 times)
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:10:11 AM
 #1

Let's say I have 3 cards, 5830, 5850 & 5870,
Can they all mine under the same account under same Miner/Worker,
(for example: all 3 cards mining under MyAccount_Miner1 @ btcguild.com)

If yes, is there any disadvantage from doing so? compared to creating separate miner1,2,3 account for each card.

I wanted to do this for simplified account setup and calculation.

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
1481403228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403228
Reply with quote  #2

1481403228
Report to moderator
1481403228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403228
Reply with quote  #2

1481403228
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481403228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403228
Reply with quote  #2

1481403228
Report to moderator
1481403228
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481403228

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481403228
Reply with quote  #2

1481403228
Report to moderator
Dante
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:12:03 AM
 #2

im kinda new to this but im pretty sure they can you just still have to start a miner for each card and please anyone correct me if im wrong
mattpker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:14:27 AM
 #3

Each GPU/CPU/Computer needs a separate worker/miner.

d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:14:30 AM
 #4

The thing is, I don't want to start a different miner for each card.

If I'm to expand my mining rig to 10 cards,
I don't want to deal with miner 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Instead I want them all to be mining under Miner1 account, with the same login/pass
for simplified installation.

is it not possible ATM?

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
masterminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 06:15:18 AM
 #5

On my new pool you can @ http://www.bitlottopool.com, both miners use the same username and password information.

That's exactly why I didn't bother with making separate worker accounts, in the end it's usually all getting credited to one bitcoin account.




BitLotto Pool - Mine to Win! Jackpots every round! (http://www.bitlottopool.com)
jme621
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:15:36 AM
 #6

The thing is, I don't want to start a different miner for each card.

If I'm to expand my mining rig to 10 cards,
I don't want to deal with miner 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Instead I want them all to be mining under Miner1 account, with the same login/pass
for simplified installation.

make batch file that starts them all, done.

d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:18:17 AM
 #7

Doesn't make it any easier when I switch pool. Sad

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
rearwheels
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:22:32 AM
 #8

Let's say I have 3 cards, 5830, 5850 & 5870,
Can they all mine under the same account under same Miner?
(for example: all 3 cards mining under Miner1 @ btcguild.com)

If yes, is there any disadvantage from doing so? compared to creating separate miner1,2,3 account for each card.

I wanted to do this for simplified account setup and calculation.


Yes you can. I'm doing that right now for my 5970.

For each GPUs, start them (with different device ID of course) with the same user account in the pool.

With one miner to each GPU, you can track the hash rate of each. (more time to setup, more user id and password to manage)

If you don't care, just point them to the same user account and password.

Less is more.

Regards,
koo

Monitor multiple pools - www.btc-poolwatch.com
(forum)

If it's useful, please consider donating: 18bvrJ9Kouxwv8g4tLUemsv1GuxgGk8Kn7
(Pls PM me so I can thank you.)
rearwheels
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:24:24 AM
 #9

Doesn't make it any easier when I switch pool. Sad

You may want to consider splitting them among 2 or more pools though.

If the pool goes down (like recently, due to network issue), all your GPUs are sitting there twiddling their thumbs.


Monitor multiple pools - www.btc-poolwatch.com
(forum)

If it's useful, please consider donating: 18bvrJ9Kouxwv8g4tLUemsv1GuxgGk8Kn7
(Pls PM me so I can thank you.)
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 06:36:11 AM
 #10

Let's say I have 3 cards, 5830, 5850 & 5870,
Can they all mine under the same account under same Miner?
(for example: all 3 cards mining under Miner1 @ btcguild.com)

If yes, is there any disadvantage from doing so? compared to creating separate miner1,2,3 account for each card.

I wanted to do this for simplified account setup and calculation.


Yes you can. I'm doing that right now for my 5970.

For each GPUs, start them (with different device ID of course) with the same user account in the pool.

With one miner to each GPU, you can track the hash rate of each. (more time to setup, more user id and password to manage)

If you don't care, just point them to the same user account and password.

Less is more.

Regards,
koo

Wooot! thanks! I was looking for this answer!
Now the next question is, is there any disadvantage doing multiple login on the same account?
like more chances getting duplicate hash, thus decreasing performance compared to separate miner accounts.

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:26:14 AM
 #11

Successfully tested on BTCGuild with all 3 cards on 1 miner account,
I'm getting over 1gh/s on 1 miner now, wooot!

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:55:07 AM
 #12

Successfully tested on BTCGuild with all 3 cards on 1 miner account,
I'm getting over 1gh/s on 1 miner now, wooot!


You're mixing up your terms!

Miner = the application you run to mine coins
Mining rig = the computer that runs the application
Worker = what pools call a miner and is essentially a subaccount that's used to monitor how many shares each worker have submitted induvidually


So no you don't need a worker for each miner, you DO however need a miner for each GPU you have unless you use DiabloMiner which can run on more GPU's at any given time
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:28:53 PM
 #13

It's possible in Slush's pool as well.  I did it on accident once and noticed one of my miners was showing double the results of the rest and one was at zero. Smiley  Just use the same miner login/password for each worker.

Of course, I don't know if that causes any problems on the back end for the pool operators...
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 12:33:16 PM
 #14

Doesn't make it any easier when I switch pool. Sad

sure it is easier
if you heve them all in one batch, just use notepad to search xxx and replace with yyy

more, with pools statistics you can check if \ which worker have problems, eliminate or replace slowest card etc.
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:26:04 PM
 #15

It's possible in Slush's pool as well.  I did it on accident once and noticed one of my miners was showing double the results of the rest and one was at zero. Smiley  Just use the same miner login/password for each worker.

Of course, I don't know if that causes any problems on the back end for the pool operators...

That's what I want to find out,
Currently I'm getting about 1.61-1.65% rejection rate on BTCguild with 3 GPU all cramped into 1 worker account.
does it sound a bit higher than the rest?

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
ensign_lee
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 07:34:44 PM
 #16

Keep in mind it will be a lot harder to troubleshoot when 1 of your 10 miners goes down. It'll very hard to figure out which one.

I don't see a problem with keeping track of different miners. I have like 7 of them myself. Guiminer even has an autostart feature on it which will start all of them. The benefits of having one miner / GPU seem to me to greatly outweigh the drawbacks of longer setup.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2011, 08:30:09 PM
 #17

It's possible in Slush's pool as well.  I did it on accident once and noticed one of my miners was showing double the results of the rest and one was at zero. :)  Just use the same miner login/password for each worker.
Of course, I don't know if that causes any problems on the back end for the pool operators...
As far as I know, he doesn't recommends that. You better ask in his thread.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 09, 2011, 09:59:12 PM
 #18

Yeah, I don't and definitely wouldn't do that.  It was purely accidental copy/paste of a miner name Smiley  I was just saying it is possible.

I find it much easier to do separate miners.  Takes a bit longer to setup, but it makes it so easy to check on all your miners.  Go to the site and as long as every miner has submitted a recent result, everything is chugging along fine.

Much easier than jumping from machine to machine to check on things.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!