Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2018, 09:28:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: noob question- is it still worht it ? 5770, 7770, 5850 HW mining  (Read 719 times)
n00b2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 08:07:04 PM
 #1

hey guys, ya Im a noob and Im also quite late to the party it seems, so figured Id throw this outthere, is it worth starting now ? in the mining game that is
I have a 5770 and a 7770, also have an option to pickup a 5850 at a decent price, but will it be worthwhile ? esp if the ASICs do come out Sad
kicking myself for being late to this party, Im usually aware of such things Sad
team question: should I join a pool or single run ?
soft question: should I use GUIminer if Im on MSWIn ? XP and 7
noober question: Im still unclear are the results constant daily or luck based win/loose 50 ??



please advise and thank you in advance


n00b
1519421330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519421330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519421330
Reply with quote  #2

1519421330
Report to moderator
1519421330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519421330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519421330
Reply with quote  #2

1519421330
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1007


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 08:15:34 PM
 #2

Mining is not a get rich quick scheme, sometime in the past it was profitable but it was just a momentary thing. Right now i doubt mining with your gpu will pay the electricity cost...

This said, using GUIminer is fine, of course join a pool. Luck? Yes it is luck based but in a pool the variance is reduced, since it finds some blocks in a day, so the results are more or less constant. for example
n00b2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 08:24:27 PM
 #3

Mining is not a get rich quick scheme, sometime in the past it was profitable but it was just a momentary thing. Right now i doubt mining with your gpu will pay the electricity cost...

This said, using GUIminer is fine, of course join a pool. Luck? Yes it is luck based but in a pool the variance is reduced, since it finds some blocks in a day, so the results are more or less constant. for example

nah, not looking for a get rich kind of thing, but would like to make up HW costs and buy more HW Smiley I like HW Smiley
if it could pay for the HW and HW upgrades, Id be quite happy

so as solo I could spend months and get nothing ?
dryan9576
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 08:28:59 PM
 #4

if you had a farm of 10 ASIC singles, do you think after a year it might be profitable
AndrewJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 29, 2013, 09:06:46 PM
 #5

I don't think is a good idea mining with that
Just wait for Asic
n00b2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 09:10:54 PM
 #6

I don't think is a good idea mining with that
Just wait for Asic

I wont invest in that, PC hard I have and I love and Id gladly buy up more for mining and otherwise
tbh I hope ASIC fails miserably Smiley sorry, just aint fair and wont be fun for tons of people
n00b2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 29, 2013, 09:44:04 PM
 #7

started phoenix2 on my 7770, I see about 140mhs, that a bit low aint it ? according to the HW repo on the wiki it should be more like 200
I tried guiminer, but it wouldnt connect, kept throwing some silly error I couldnt figure, no matter what pool I tried
AndrewJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 30, 2013, 09:33:30 AM
 #8

started phoenix2 on my 7770, I see about 140mhs, that a bit low aint it ? according to the HW repo on the wiki it should be more like 200
I tried guiminer, but it wouldnt connect, kept throwing some silly error I couldnt figure, no matter what pool I tried
Whats the error? - NoOpenCl devices?
n00b2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 30, 2013, 11:30:51 PM
 #9

nope, ValueError: too many values to unpack
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!