Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:02:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about Avalom batch 2  (Read 745 times)
pcm81
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 04:53:10 AM
 #1

Now that Avalon has made the first batch a reality, there really is no "unexpected" overhead cost and parts can be ordered easier than the first time around. So, my question is this: assuming Avalon has 100,000 orders for batch 2, why shouldn't they just accept them and deliver 100,000 boxes? Now it will take a week of mining to pay for the 1st unit delivered. In a month difficulty will shoot up and it will probably take up to 2 months to pay for the unit that the last guy gets/hooks up. With the confidence in their ability to deliver, what if Avalon gets 100,000 orders for 60GH boxes for batch 2? What if they decide to fill them all? Then the difficulty will shoot way up and most of the batch 2 boxes will take like a year to pay for themselves...
I know that in batch 1 thread they said they will do batches of 300, but with money in had for say 100,000 units, they can get a bigger shop etc. It would be good for btc network, not to flood it with 100,000 asic units, but from the seller prospective, why not just expand manufacturing capacity and do it?
1511542971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511542971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511542971
Reply with quote  #2

1511542971
Report to moderator
1511542971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511542971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511542971
Reply with quote  #2

1511542971
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511542971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511542971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511542971
Reply with quote  #2

1511542971
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 04:56:19 AM
 #2

They have already answered this.  Even if they got orders for 100,000 units it would take months to build and ship all of them.  The further out your preorders the harder it is to control the schedule.  Delays compound on delays and result in timelines getting pushed back weeks, months, even quarters.  Given the continual difficult rise and falling ROI% it is a recipe for drama, and anger.

Keep the batches small.  Pre-order, build, ship.  Open up another pre-order.  While there may be delays it is far more manageable.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
January 31, 2013, 05:42:25 AM
 #3

Their operation is quite small, and they like it that way. Batch two will be 600 units, and that's all they will ship. I'm sure they'll have no problem filling all 600 slots.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!