Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 03:33:37 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: -dbcache not working as intended in core 0.12 (?)  (Read 673 times)
AlexGR
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1025



View Profile
March 18, 2016, 10:03:31 PM
 #1

Launching 0.12 bitcoin-qt in linux with -dbcache=2048

SSD = around 1-2m to see wallet
mechanical = around 4-5m to see wallet

...similar very slow times with -dbcache=1024.

Launching 0.12 bitcoin-qt with  -dbcache=0

SSD and mechanical = 10-15 secs at most.

-dbcache=0 works way faster, betraying some kind of problem in the way caching works.
1537673617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673617
Reply with quote  #2

1537673617
Report to moderator
1537673617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673617
Reply with quote  #2

1537673617
Report to moderator
1537673617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673617
Reply with quote  #2

1537673617
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537673617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673617
Reply with quote  #2

1537673617
Report to moderator
1537673617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537673617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537673617
Reply with quote  #2

1537673617
Report to moderator
gmaxwell
Moderator
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1449



View Profile
March 18, 2016, 10:18:13 PM
 #2

-dbcache=0 works way faster, betraying some kind of problem in the way caching works.
No, it's way faster because the initial startup tests are truncated when the cache is too small. (Because they undo a bunch of blocks in memory and redo them... they need enough memory to hold that intermediate state)

Bitcoin will not be compromised
AlexGR
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1025



View Profile
March 18, 2016, 10:30:16 PM
 #3

Aha... Makes sense then...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!