Bitcoin Forum
April 17, 2014, 01:10:25 AM *
News: ♦♦ A bug in OpenSSL, used by Bitcoin-Qt/Bitcoin Core, could allow your bitcoins to be stolen. Immediately updating Bitcoin Core to 0.9.1 is required in some cases, especially if you're using 0.9.0. Download. More info.
The same bug also affected the forum. Changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I use my laptop to mine bitcoins?  (Read 24688 times)
Mr. E
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 06:21:00 PM
 #1

Hello all,

I was just wondering if it is possible to mine bitcoins using my laptop.

It has a 1.6ghz amd processor and 2gbs of ram and is running on windows 7.

If so, what sort of graphics card should I get for this computer and
what could I expect to mine in bitcoins a day with a single graphics card.

I would really appreciate your advice!
1397697025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397697025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397697025
Reply with quote  #2

1397697025
Report to moderator
1397697025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397697025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397697025
Reply with quote  #2

1397697025
Report to moderator
      0.0065 BTC / GHs for 5 years. NO FEES!    PB Mining
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397697025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397697025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397697025
Reply with quote  #2

1397697025
Report to moderator
1397697025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397697025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397697025
Reply with quote  #2

1397697025
Report to moderator
Mr. E
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:02:39 PM
 #2

Wow this forum is active, this thread was at the bottom of the page in a matter of minutes!

Over 60 views so far and no responses.  I must be asking a pretty stupid question  Huh
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:04:41 PM
 #3

Unfortunately laptop mining, and CPU mining in general is completely unfeasible at current difficulty levels. You will pay more in electricity than you will earn.

If you had a high-end chip like 6970M, you could maybe pull off 1/4th of it's desktop variant, or about 100mhash/s.

Best bet for mining is desktop systems with ATI cards.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:06:15 PM
 #4

if you have to ask then your laptop is not any good

and you cant upgrade graphic card in 99% laptops
kokojie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


tblob.org


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:08:34 PM
 #5

laptop GPU is very underpowered, you can't compete with the multi-gpu desktop miners. Unless you get free electricity, then any mining done is a net gain.

I think you can expect 1 BTC every week for 24/7 mining on laptop with a pool.

If my post has been helpful, send me some love -> BTC: 1kokojUapmWqCqPw3Ch2rjcVh57tJEzka | PPC: PDyXAgA8eH47gokVW6zVZPSuu15aao5nZF | LTC: LRDpNJM5nkXFBDoxWRCk5hicvT7TrXQZ3c
The Big List of Bitcoin | My reputation | Free 20GB cloud storage from copy.com
Mr. E
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:12:46 PM
 #6

Thanks for the responses, sounds like I can't do it with my laptop.
mathiasben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1



View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:31:54 PM
 #7

I have an Asus laptop with an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 in it running at 56mhash/s. It takes about a week and a half to mine a coin. It does work, not well at all however.
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 07:53:23 PM
 #8

If you don't blow up your laptop, you will probably greatly reduce the laptop's life due to heat
Bitonetta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile

Ignore
June 09, 2011, 09:42:11 PM
 #9

I have a laptop that's mining.  It doesn't do alot.  Currently about 70Mhas/sec.  But wth... free is free.  Since my electric is free even cpu mining is worth it for me.  I currently have 9 desktop/nvidia machines that's mining (Phenom II/i3/i7s with 260/460/470 cards) contributing anywhere from 20M to about 90Mhash/sec each.  So they do add up at basically zero cost.

I have several portable AC Units running 24/7 anyways.  Guess the only downside is noise.  But my dedicated mining rigs completely overshadow whatever noise these machines may make.   Grin
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 17, 2011, 12:55:25 PM
 #10

This thread is not true at all.  Laptops GPUs use considerably less power than full cards, so as long as you have a
good laptop (very recent) with a high end ati mobility chip, you can get some good results.

I have an msi GX660r that has a 5870m chip, and it gets between 192 to 200 mhash a second! (after some tweaks) this is
a considerable amount so why not have it going when I'm not using it... like over night.. it ads quite an amount of shares and
is far more efficient that some of the major graphics cards in the 4800 series (better than my monster 4850 X2 which is the size of a boat and only get 150mhash but sucks power down like jughead does hamburgers and shakes).

That being said, the msi I have has very good cooling with multiple fans and even a fan turbo button. Many laptops have extreme issues with heat.  I have left the laptop running stable now for a few days and it's considerably added to my shares
without using that much power as a desktop.  So if you have a 58xxm or higher it's probably worth it... other than that... probably not.

 

http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
Stupidpal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
July 17, 2011, 01:56:30 PM
 #11

This thread is not true at all.  Laptops GPUs use considerably less power than full cards, so as long as you have a
good laptop (very recent) with a high end ati mobility chip, you can get some good results.

I have an msi GX660r that has a 5870m chip, and it gets between 192 to 200 mhash a second! (after some tweaks) this is
a considerable amount so why not have it going when I'm not using it... like over night.. it ads quite an amount of shares and
is far more efficient that some of the major graphics cards in the 4800 series (better than my monster 4850 X2 which is the size of a boat and only get 150mhash but sucks power down like jughead does hamburgers and shakes).

That being said, the msi I have has very good cooling with multiple fans and even a fan turbo button. Many laptops have extreme issues with heat.  I have left the laptop running stable now for a few days and it's considerably added to my shares
without using that much power as a desktop.  So if you have a 58xxm or higher it's probably worth it... other than that... probably not.

 

How are you getting such a high hashrate? My 6750M only gives me 110 mhash after overclocking it.

If I helped, tip me! Smiley http://btc.to/a7
The easiest way to earn Bitcoins! BitCatch Randomizer
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile

Ignore
July 17, 2011, 02:33:35 PM
 #12

Hello all,

I was just wondering if it is possible to mine bitcoins using my laptop.


No.

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 17, 2011, 02:54:51 PM
 #13

This thread is not true at all.  Laptops GPUs use considerably less power than full cards, so as long as you have a
good laptop (very recent) with a high end ati mobility chip, you can get some good results.

I have an msi GX660r that has a 5870m chip, and it gets between 192 to 200 mhash a second! (after some tweaks) this is
a considerable amount so why not have it going when I'm not using it... like over night.. it ads quite an amount of shares and
is far more efficient that some of the major graphics cards in the 4800 series (better than my monster 4850 X2 which is the size of a boat and only get 150mhash but sucks power down like jughead does hamburgers and shakes).

That being said, the msi I have has very good cooling with multiple fans and even a fan turbo button. Many laptops have extreme issues with heat.  I have left the laptop running stable now for a few days and it's considerably added to my shares
without using that much power as a desktop.  So if you have a 58xxm or higher it's probably worth it... other than that... probably not.

 

How are you getting such a high hashrate? My 6750M only gives me 110 mhash after overclocking it.

The 6870s both the full card and the 6870m are much slower than the 5870s series....   just because a card has a higher number does not mean it is 'better'

So for that card you are probably getting the best you can on a laptop which is usually about half what you would get on a desktop...
you might be able to tweak by running AOCLBF 1.74 and running the phoenix phatk mod... but 6870s are just not as optimized for hashing as they are for games.



https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!