Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 01:17:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Importing private keys to bitcoin-qt  (Read 1512 times)
rickylford
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


Have fun. Get bitcoin.


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2013, 05:20:25 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

I used the Vanitygen to generate a new Wallet address for myself (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.0) and I went into the main Bitcoin-QT client, clicked Help, then Debug Window, and then console and issued this command: "importprivkey keyhere".

Now, when I go into my Address Book, the key shows up there. It doesn't show up in my "Receive Coins" window, but instead the "Address Book" window. How do I get this into my "Receive Coins" window so that I can actually send/receive coins from the vanity address?

Thanks,
Ricky


WAIT! Nevermind. It shows up now after my Bitcoin-QT client updated the blocks. Smiley

Care to help a brother out? 1Rickyng8R6q9UZKbRLd1VtPJgW5eM7mL (bitcoin://1Rickyng8R6q9UZKbRLd1VtPJgW5eM7mL)
1524273435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524273435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524273435
Reply with quote  #2

1524273435
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524273435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524273435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524273435
Reply with quote  #2

1524273435
Report to moderator
1524273435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524273435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524273435
Reply with quote  #2

1524273435
Report to moderator
DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1321



View Profile
February 05, 2013, 05:45:11 PM
 #2

Looks like this is a bug in the importprivkey functionality in the current Bitcoin-Qt.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=134688.msg1434502#msg1434502

rickylford
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


Have fun. Get bitcoin.


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2013, 12:29:45 AM
 #3

Looks like this is a bug in the importprivkey functionality in the current Bitcoin-Qt.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=134688.msg1434502#msg1434502
Thank ya! Smiley I went ahead and responded to that thread (even though it's a month old) with my experience on the "bug." Not even sure you can really call it a bug.. I dunno if that's what the developer had in mind when importing private keys, but yea, it's a strange issue for sure.

Thanks for the link!

Care to help a brother out? 1Rickyng8R6q9UZKbRLd1VtPJgW5eM7mL (bitcoin://1Rickyng8R6q9UZKbRLd1VtPJgW5eM7mL)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!