Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 01:19:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Account has insufficient funds" message but there are enough funds  (Read 3987 times)
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:09:54 PM
 #1

Hi all

I'm trying to send some bitcoins having enough funds, but my own bitcoin-qt says I have not enough funds.

Code:
20:05:47 sendfrom 1HXyhhXs2B8C6uomRcvYFsqApmw5HDj6o4 1dice8EMZmqKvrGE4Qc9bUFf9PX3xaYDp 0.001
20:05:47 Account has insufficient funds (code -6)

Could somebody help me?
1529414360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529414360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529414360
Reply with quote  #2

1529414360
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529414360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529414360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529414360
Reply with quote  #2

1529414360
Report to moderator
1529414360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529414360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529414360
Reply with quote  #2

1529414360
Report to moderator
1529414360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529414360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529414360
Reply with quote  #2

1529414360
Report to moderator
greyhawk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:16:33 PM
 #2

You have 0.00148702 BTC in that account and are trying to send out 0.001 BTC. This would suffice were it not for the transaction fee of 0.0005.
Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2013, 08:19:16 PM
 #3

Code:
sendfrom <fromaccount> <tobitcoinaddress> <amount> [minconf=1] [comment] [comment-to]
<amount> is a real and is rounded to the nearest 0.00000001
requires wallet passphrase to be set with walletpassphrase first

account is not a address. try "sendtoaddress" instead.

Code:
sendtoaddress 1dice8EMZmqKvrGE4Qc9bUFf9PX3xaYDp 0.01

0.001 is too low. SD changed the min. amount to 0.01
Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2013, 08:23:06 PM
 #4

now you can try it and loose the money...  Grin

http://blockchain.info/tx-index/49520058/102489203f4736055fc7f8cfbcdce41d7d7a832f9caa37eda11594aef30d3e44
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:24:08 PM
 #5

You have 0.00148702 BTC in that account and are trying to send out 0.001 BTC. This would suffice were it not for the transaction fee of 0.0005.

Thanks

I understood from reading something somewhere (I'm quite new and I can not remember where I read everything) that transactions can be made without fees, and they just will delay more than if made with fees. Am I wrong?
greyhawk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:27:01 PM
 #6

You have 0.00148702 BTC in that account and are trying to send out 0.001 BTC. This would suffice were it not for the transaction fee of 0.0005.

Thanks

I understood from reading something somewhere (I'm quite new and I can not remember where I read everything) that transactions can be made without fees, and they just will delay more than if made with fees. Am I wrong?

That's correct in theory. However bitcoin-qt enforces a mandatory "voluntary fee" of 0.0005 for a transaction. You'd need to use another client to avoid that.

Looks like gyrsur has bumped your balance up to the necessary amount.
Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1019


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
February 05, 2013, 08:30:50 PM
 #7


yeah to feed the SD monster...  Grin
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:36:54 PM
 #8

You have 0.00148702 BTC in that account and are trying to send out 0.001 BTC. This would suffice were it not for the transaction fee of 0.0005.

Thanks

I understood from reading something somewhere (I'm quite new and I can not remember where I read everything) that transactions can be made without fees, and they just will delay more than if made with fees. Am I wrong?

That's correct in theory. However bitcoin-qt enforces a mandatory "voluntary fee" of 0.0005 for a transaction. You'd need to use another client to avoid that.

Looks like gyrsur has bumped your balance up to the necessary amount.

Thanks. I'll check other clients. I'm not against fees, I know they will maintain BTC system running after 21M, but I also want the freedom to choose if pay them or not.
greyhawk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 08:44:50 PM
 #9


"The dice must roll"
tribble222
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 10:26:44 PM
 #10

It's the .005 fee that's getting you. It should let you avoid it if you say no though.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!