Bitcoin Forum
May 29, 2017, 05:14:27 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can my PSU handle a 5870 + 6950?  (Read 668 times)
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 09:47:35 PM
 #1

I'm thinking about replacing my 4850 with a 6950. The 6950 only pulls 50-100W more than the 4850, but hashes much faster.

My PSU is rated at a 750W max load and has four 12V rails at 18A, 18A, 18A, 16A. Right now, I have three hard drives, a Core2Duo E8400, a 5870, and a 4850, and it's handling this load fine at 100%.

But will it be fine if I replace the 4850 with a 6950? I'm thinking that it should be fine, but the amperage of the 12V rails worries me. Do you guys think that it could handle it?
1496078067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496078067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496078067
Reply with quote  #2

1496078067
Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1496078067
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1496078067

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1496078067
Reply with quote  #2

1496078067
Report to moderator
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:12:51 PM
 #2

what model psu is it? form what you said is doesn't sound like to good of one you might have 40amps of power on the 12v if it a cheep one. a good 650 will be way better then a cheep 750
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:22:34 PM
 #3

what model psu is it? form what you said is doesn't sound like to good of one you might have 40amps of power on the 12v if it a cheep one. a good 650 will be way better then a cheep 750
It's a Dell one that came with my XPS630, but from what I can tell, it's not a cheap unit. It's been working fine so far, I'm just wondering if it can handle an extra 50-100W... though I guess it'd be best to buy a new PSU just to be safe.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:29:17 PM
 #4

dell doesnt use good psu they are ok but i wouldn't trust it i seen way to many dell psu burn up over the years get your self a good 750+ like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151087 or if you wahnt a lot of overheard left some thing like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256068 thee are both gold rated for efficiency so that will save you over the long run
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!