Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2017, 03:30:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can my PSU handle a 5870 + 6950?  (Read 662 times)
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 09:47:35 PM
 #1

I'm thinking about replacing my 4850 with a 6950. The 6950 only pulls 50-100W more than the 4850, but hashes much faster.

My PSU is rated at a 750W max load and has four 12V rails at 18A, 18A, 18A, 16A. Right now, I have three hard drives, a Core2Duo E8400, a 5870, and a 4850, and it's handling this load fine at 100%.

But will it be fine if I replace the 4850 with a 6950? I'm thinking that it should be fine, but the amperage of the 12V rails worries me. Do you guys think that it could handle it?
1490758233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490758233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490758233
Reply with quote  #2

1490758233
Report to moderator
1490758233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490758233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490758233
Reply with quote  #2

1490758233
Report to moderator
1490758233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490758233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490758233
Reply with quote  #2

1490758233
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490758233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490758233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490758233
Reply with quote  #2

1490758233
Report to moderator
1490758233
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490758233

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490758233
Reply with quote  #2

1490758233
Report to moderator
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:12:51 PM
 #2

what model psu is it? form what you said is doesn't sound like to good of one you might have 40amps of power on the 12v if it a cheep one. a good 650 will be way better then a cheep 750
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:22:34 PM
 #3

what model psu is it? form what you said is doesn't sound like to good of one you might have 40amps of power on the 12v if it a cheep one. a good 650 will be way better then a cheep 750
It's a Dell one that came with my XPS630, but from what I can tell, it's not a cheap unit. It's been working fine so far, I'm just wondering if it can handle an extra 50-100W... though I guess it'd be best to buy a new PSU just to be safe.
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 09, 2011, 10:29:17 PM
 #4

dell doesnt use good psu they are ok but i wouldn't trust it i seen way to many dell psu burn up over the years get your self a good 750+ like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151087 or if you wahnt a lot of overheard left some thing like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256068 thee are both gold rated for efficiency so that will save you over the long run
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!