Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 06:10:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 50065 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Republic of Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 10:41:13 AM
 #101

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

My 5X 390 uses about 1220 W using OCZ 1250W gold PSU. Frequency: 1100/1200MHz. VCore -110 to -130 mV. Vaux = -100 mV.

So you should do 6x390 on 1600 W without problem. But you need to allocate the power on each rail properly.
1524291031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524291031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524291031
Reply with quote  #2

1524291031
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524291031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524291031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524291031
Reply with quote  #2

1524291031
Report to moderator
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1011


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 11:19:34 AM
 #102

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

My 5X 390 uses about 1220 W using OCZ 1250W gold PSU. Frequency: 1100/1200MHz. VCore -110 to -130 mV. Vaux = -100 mV.

So you should do 6x390 on 1600 W without problem. But you need to allocate the power on each rail properly.

Thanks for the guide, could you elaborate some best practices for "allocate the power on each rail"?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1011


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 04, 2016, 11:23:13 AM
 #103

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

limit the power used by each card, downclock them a bit, you probably might fit them all in the 1600w, by losing some hash, the ratio should be the same in the end

I am experimenting on the underclocking for these 390s, and it may just go under 1600w but I was advised by fellow riggers that 1600-G2 on continuous power is only 90%-92% efficient, so pushing it too close to max will shorten PSU life.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account.
fr4nkthetank
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1001


cryptominingtalk.com


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2016, 10:29:43 PM
 #104

doesnt matter really, it can do over 1600w.  But keep it under.  Mine has a 10 year warranty.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1174


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 02:23:23 AM
 #105

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

limit the power used by each card, downclock them a bit, you probably might fit them all in the 1600w, by losing some hash, the ratio should be the same in the end

I am experimenting on the underclocking for these 390s, and it may just go under 1600w but I was advised by fellow riggers that 1600-G2 on continuous power is only 90%-92% efficient, so pushing it too close to max will shorten PSU life.

you have one rail so zero issue on that balance rails comment.

the psu can give 1600 watts dc  which is about 1800 watts at the plug.


a long review on it:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=391


this shows it under  a 1595 watt dc load which was 1792 watt ac at the wall

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=391

I believe you can do it but your wall plug if 120 volts needs to be a 20 amp dedicated circuit to do it longterm.


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1011


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 03:08:40 AM
 #106

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

limit the power used by each card, downclock them a bit, you probably might fit them all in the 1600w, by losing some hash, the ratio should be the same in the end

I am experimenting on the underclocking for these 390s, and it may just go under 1600w but I was advised by fellow riggers that 1600-G2 on continuous power is only 90%-92% efficient, so pushing it too close to max will shorten PSU life.

you have one rail so zero issue on that balance rails comment.

the psu can give 1600 watts dc  which is about 1800 watts at the plug.


a long review on it:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=391


this shows it under  a 1595 watt dc load which was 1792 watt ac at the wall

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=391

I believe you can do it but your wall plug if 120 volts needs to be a 20 amp dedicated circuit to do it longterm.



Thanks Philip for the guide.

My country uses 240v and I have 60amps to play with, any impact based on the above parameters on 220-240v specs?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1174


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 05:05:58 AM
 #107

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

limit the power used by each card, downclock them a bit, you probably might fit them all in the 1600w, by losing some hash, the ratio should be the same in the end

I am experimenting on the underclocking for these 390s, and it may just go under 1600w but I was advised by fellow riggers that 1600-G2 on continuous power is only 90%-92% efficient, so pushing it too close to max will shorten PSU life.

you have one rail so zero issue on that balance rails comment.

the psu can give 1600 watts dc  which is about 1800 watts at the plug.


a long review on it:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=391


this shows it under  a 1595 watt dc load which was 1792 watt ac at the wall

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=391

I believe you can do it but your wall plug if 120 volts needs to be a 20 amp dedicated circuit to do it longterm.



Thanks Philip for the guide.

My country uses 240v and I have 60amps to play with, any impact based on the above parameters on 220-240v specs?



sure  60 x .8 =  48 amps at 220 volts  = 10560 watts  on the low side          48 amps   at 240 volts  =  11520 watts on the high side.



as your 60 amp max must be derated to 80%  for safe 24/7/365 operation.


so  I do not know how your 60 amps are distributed but    you can use 48 amps of it safely if set up correctly.

your  1600 watt psu doing the max at 1800 on the wall

  is 1800/220 = 8.1818 amps

or   1800/240 = 7.5000 amps

I would say think of it as 8.25 amps   of the 48 you can do

So I would want a 10 amp circuit   on the 60 amp  you have


Actually  six 10 amp circuits  for you sixty amps  and stay under 8.3 amps on each one

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1011


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 06:11:00 AM
 #108

Currently I have 5 x MSI-R9-390 rig, doing around 145Mhs or 29.xx Mhs per card.

Afterburner settings at -100mV, 1015mhz and 1500mhz, core voltage, core clock and memory clock respectively.

The EVGA 1600w G2/Gold is pushing around 1270w to 1350w for the system ASrock H81-BTC, Celeron 1840 and 8GB RAM.

Initial plan was to use only 5 x GPU so that I can avoid using 2 x PSUs.

However, with the 1600 EVGA and undervolt settings, could I do the 6th card at 1450w (within the safe zone of 15-20%) of the PSU.

It will be prefered not to get the PSU worn out quickly if the rig pushes the wattage to maximum because even EVGA Gold is only about 90% efficiency.

Any advice to get the 6th card in without fear of the burning out the PSU?

Thanks

limit the power used by each card, downclock them a bit, you probably might fit them all in the 1600w, by losing some hash, the ratio should be the same in the end

I am experimenting on the underclocking for these 390s, and it may just go under 1600w but I was advised by fellow riggers that 1600-G2 on continuous power is only 90%-92% efficient, so pushing it too close to max will shorten PSU life.

you have one rail so zero issue on that balance rails comment.

the psu can give 1600 watts dc  which is about 1800 watts at the plug.


a long review on it:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=391


this shows it under  a 1595 watt dc load which was 1792 watt ac at the wall

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=391

I believe you can do it but your wall plug if 120 volts needs to be a 20 amp dedicated circuit to do it longterm.



Thanks Philip for the guide.

My country uses 240v and I have 60amps to play with, any impact based on the above parameters on 220-240v specs?



sure  60 x .8 =  48 amps at 220 volts  = 10560 watts  on the low side          48 amps   at 240 volts  =  11520 watts on the high side.



as your 60 amp max must be derated to 80%  for safe 24/7/365 operation.


so  I do not know how your 60 amps are distributed but    you can use 48 amps of it safely if set up correctly.

your  1600 watt psu doing the max at 1800 on the wall

  is 1800/220 = 8.1818 amps

or   1800/240 = 7.5000 amps

I would say think of it as 8.25 amps   of the 48 you can do

So I would want a 10 amp circuit   on the 60 amp  you have


Actually  six 10 amp circuits  for you sixty amps  and stay under 8.3 amps on each one


thanks again Philip - I see it clearly now. My electrician had infact suggested zoning the 60amps (63amps to be exact) into 2 zones so that it won't trip the other if anything bad happens.

according to kill-o-watt meter, each 1600 PSU (EVGA 1600w Gold 80, 90 efficiency) draws 1270-1350w and hovers around 5.46-5.55 amps.

this is using settings of -94Mv (undervolt core), 1015mhz (GPU) and 1500mhz (memory) = delivering 29.xx MHs per card - I am happy with this speed.

I understand that underclocking the memory has no impact to overall voltage reduction, that's why I kept it at 1500mhz stock.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1021


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 06:35:37 AM
 #109

Gold-rated power supplies are generally 1-2% more efficient when running from 220V vs. 110v


Undervolting cards tend to make them a more efficient, so your hash/watt should improve - since the GPU cards are soaking most of the power, even though the rest of the system power consumption won't change it's such a small percentage of the overall consumption it has very little effect on the hash/watt ratio.
It also helps longevity of the GPUs since they'll be running cooler.



I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Ayers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 07:22:34 AM
 #110

i have bought the 1500i from corsair, it's expensive, but it has great efficiency, i can push it to the max without worry about, also great warranty, for 7 years from corsair so i'm safe with it
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1174


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 05, 2016, 02:33:08 PM
 #111

i have bought the 1500i from corsair, it's expensive, but it has great efficiency, i can push it to the max without worry about, also great warranty, for 7 years from corsair so i'm safe with it


  The 1500i is pretty good.

The evga 1600 g2 ,p2, t2   are all pretty good. 

THEY ALL COST A LOT    $300 or more.


I LIKE this psu

http://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Technology-Strider-Titanium-PS-ST60F-TI/dp/B01CE7NUG2/ref=sr_1_3?


I use it with 2 r9 390s

I spend 475 watts  for 55mh, but I am a big believer of building complete pc's with 2 cards.

Once the pc is fully paid for if coins tank I sell it off as a gamer pc used.

Also lets me do 3 different pools on 3 different pc's.


http://nanopool.org/account/0x3ef297e47404a771139472b93621f82c8a832857



   Worker          Hide Offline          Last Share     Now       6h   Reported
1   hd7970                               few minutes ago   88.0 Mh/s      52.3 Mh/s   53.8 Mh/s
2   hd7970a                               few minutes ago   44.0 Mh/s           39.2 Mh/s   34.7 Mh/s
3   r9                                       few minutes ago   88.0 Mh/s           55.1 Mh/s   52.1 Mh/s



I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
valkir
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 14, 2016, 02:08:09 AM
 #112

Hey Hey Phil

Welcome on eth  Grin will follow this thread for sure.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1174


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 14, 2016, 08:04:41 AM
 #113

Hey Hey Phil

Welcome on eth  Grin will follow this thread for sure.

I posted some photos of two card rigs
2 r9 390's


2 r9 390's with a powerful exhaust fan the silverstone 141 moves 170 cfm


here is a 1 card r9 380


1 card nvidia bespoke ready for buy will drop it off soon




1 card tester rig with an old 7970 and a huge air cooler. price for this was free as it was just sitting on a shelf. this one is really quiet.




I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sadasa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 451
Merit: 250


Unpaid signature.


View Profile
May 14, 2016, 10:04:57 AM
 #114

I understand that underclocking the memory has no impact to overall voltage reduction, that's why I kept it at 1500mhz stock.

The power usage is linearly related to the frequency, so if you reduce the memory frequency, the power consumption will reduce.

B2















BitDouble.io
















██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1174


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 19, 2016, 01:04:29 PM
 #115

I understand that underclocking the memory has no impact to overall voltage reduction, that's why I kept it at 1500mhz stock.

The power usage is linearly related to the frequency, so if you reduce the memory frequency, the power consumption will reduce.

Yeah it saves a few watts per  card if you drop memory down.

Eth coin is rising strong now.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1021


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 05:35:46 AM
 #116

Yup - and I finally got all of my existing hardware that CAN mine Ethereum working on it - and added a used HD 7870 (bought locally for $80) to the mix.

 Haven't seen ANY of my cards match any of the "published" hashrates yet, except perhaps my GTX 950s - but I suspect those published hashrates date from far enough back for the most part that the natural "DAG grows = less hashrate" progression is the core issue, not problems with my cards.

 It's odd though, my semi-dead 7850 hashes just as well at 500/950 as it does at any higher settings I've tried running it at - which is a good thing 'cause it was horribly unstable and crashy at anything close to 600 when I was crunching RC5-72 with it before yesterday. 8.5ish MH out of a card that at one point I thought was outright dead is nothing to sneer at!

 8-)



 Current lineup:

 3 x EVGA GTX 950 / A10-5700 / 16 Gig RAM / Win7 - I think I have the 361 drivers on that machine but it might be 35x, whatever came on the CD.
 2 x EVGA GTX 960 / A10-7860 / 8 Gig RAM / Ubuntu 14.04.4 + XFCE - 361 drivers
 1 x HIS IceQ HD 7870 / Athlon64 X240 / 4 Gig RAM / Ubuntu etc.
 1 x AMD Reference 7870 / Athlon64 5050e / 2 Gig RAM / Ubuntu etc.
 1 x Powercolor 7850 / Semperon64 3000+ / 1 Gig RAM / Ubuntu etc.

 Got a BIG case and a couple of low-profile 750Ti cards ordered from NewEgg, at which point all of my machines (except my XP-based main gaming machine) will have real vid cards in them (though some of them are 1 Gig 7750s I can't mine ETH with).


 What I'd really like to see is PrecisionX and GPU-Z ported to LINUX (I might settle for Afterburner in a pinch, though I don't like it nearly as well). They make the available tools to do the same things under LINUX look weaksauce pathetic. 8-(

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1021


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 05:37:28 AM
 #117

I understand that underclocking the memory has no impact to overall voltage reduction, that's why I kept it at 1500mhz stock.

The power usage is linearly related to the frequency, so if you reduce the memory frequency, the power consumption will reduce.

Yeah it saves a few watts per  card if you drop memory down.

Eth coin is rising strong now.

 Some cards though are picky about the memory speed setting if you want max or near-max hashrate.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1011


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 05:46:23 AM
 #118

I inherited a Sapphire NITRO R7 370 4GB and ASUS STRIX R7 370 from 2 old gaming system.
Any idea if this would be good GPUs for ETH? I browsed around and both these cards can do 15-16MHs per card.
Can overclock to get more hash?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 20, 2016, 05:59:14 AM
 #119

I inherited a Sapphire NITRO R7 370 4GB and ASUS STRIX R7 370 from 2 old gaming system.
Any idea if this would be good GPUs for ETH? I browsed around and both these cards can do 15-16MHs per card.
Can overclock to get more hash?

yes the 370 nitro is basically the best card for the buck you can get, very cheap if you get it used, you can build a whole rig for $1300-1400 that can do 90-100MH

but since polaris is coming next week and will consume much less, i would wait at this point, selling again everything in a month it's a pain in the ass
mandica
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 667
Merit: 508



View Profile WWW
May 20, 2016, 07:56:24 AM
 #120

I inherited a Sapphire NITRO R7 370 4GB and ASUS STRIX R7 370 from 2 old gaming system.
Any idea if this would be good GPUs for ETH? I browsed around and both these cards can do 15-16MHs per card.
Can overclock to get more hash?

The 4GB card is good. The hash rate will not drop as much as the 3GB cards such as the 7950 or 280x.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!