Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 10:01:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1 gpu now 11gpus 5rigs for Ethereum. 45 days of mining. Photos thoughts.  (Read 49101 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 06, 2016, 09:39:27 PM
 #581

Good luck guys with your RXs , they seems to be complicated ...



]Drivers need work for sure



In the same time , I'm looking after the Stilt Bios.
Informations here :
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

And files here :
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B2XVfIhkHZlfcVR0QzhlQlhJYTA&usp=drive_web#list

I'm just not sure how to choose the good file for the 290.
As it seems to be the best choice with ethereum, I would like to take the bios with less voltage, but not sure to understand which one it is from the list here:
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

I think this one is with highest voltage : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V34.zip (DPM7 - 1.2250V)


and this one the most undervolted : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V)

Could you guys confirm you understand that as me ?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1510956089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956089
Reply with quote  #2

1510956089
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510956089
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956089

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956089
Reply with quote  #2

1510956089
Report to moderator
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 06, 2016, 10:24:25 PM
 #582

follow up i turned off the r9 390 pc  and I am running just the rx 480 pc with 2  480s.

i show 45-46 mh in house

but  at the pool  the line shows the hash and no credit or miner

you can see the r9 dropped off
you can see the rx pick up but i do not get  any credit for it.

this is happening on 3 different pc's  all windows 7 with the new 16.6.2 and installed  


Phil - are you using qtminer?

Try changing to Claymore. I was using qtminer before then changed to Claymore, and working fine at ethpool.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 06, 2016, 10:42:28 PM
 #583

follow up i turned off the r9 390 pc  and I am running just the rx 480 pc with 2  480s.

i show 45-46 mh in house

but  at the pool  the line shows the hash and no credit or miner

you can see the r9 dropped off
you can see the rx pick up but i do not get  any credit for it.

this is happening on 3 different pc's  all windows 7 with the new 16.6.2 and installed  


Phil - are you using qtminer?

Try changing to Claymore. I was using qtminer before then changed to Claymore, and working fine at ethpool.

I forgot to give you credit as I did just that all is good now!

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 05:54:01 AM
 #584

Phil - are you using qtminer?
Try changing to Claymore. I was using qtminer before then changed to Claymore, and working fine at ethpool.
I forgot to give you credit as I did just that all is good now!

+1... Both of you... thanks for the advice.  Switched from qtminer to claymore, and much happier.  Once I got my old motherboard thinking gen3 pcie instead of gen2,  the cards "just work".  Hashing away at a total of ~49.5 MH/s.  I'll tweak voltages and clock rates once I get a good baseline established.

Thanks again!
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 07:27:20 AM
 #585

follow up i turned off the r9 390 pc  and I am running just the rx 480 pc with 2  480s.

i show 45-46 mh in house

but  at the pool  the line shows the hash and no credit or miner

you can see the r9 dropped off
you can see the rx pick up but i do not get  any credit for it.

this is happening on 3 different pc's  all windows 7 with the new 16.6.2 and installed  


Phil - are you using qtminer?

Try changing to Claymore. I was using qtminer before then changed to Claymore, and working fine at ethpool.

I forgot to give you credit as I did just that all is good now!

Ah... that's great news!

I was worried for awhile because, I have 12 more 480s coming my way to get 2 x 6 x GPU rigs up this week.

Claymore Dual Miner (CDM) has so many cool switches that you can configure it to kingdom come.

I have also suggested a few features in his solo-mode and monitoring utility, in which Claymore has incorporated in his latest versions.

If you go to the Claymore thread, many members have contributed the many cool features the v4.7 have today.

Also due to lack of OC and underclocking support for 480 (I can't get AF or Strixx working with it), it's worth looking into CDM's features that does these power controls from CDM command line.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
adaseb
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1414



View Profile
July 07, 2016, 08:23:28 AM
 #586

Good luck guys with your RXs , they seems to be complicated ...


In the same time , I'm looking after the Stilt Bios.
Informations here :
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

And files here :
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B2XVfIhkHZlfcVR0QzhlQlhJYTA&usp=drive_web#list

I'm just not sure how to choose the good file for the 290.
As it seems to be the best choice with ethereum, I would like to take the bios with less voltage, but not sure to understand which one it is from the list here:
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

I think this one is with highest voltage : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V34.zip (DPM7 - 1.2250V)


and this one the most undervolted : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V)

Could you guys confirm you understand that as me ?

You need to try each one going from lowest to highest voltage until its stable. One of my 290 is very stable the lowest voltage, another one is only stable at the highest voltage. Check your ASIC quality in GPUz

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 04:24:15 PM
 #587

follow up i turned off the r9 390 pc  and I am running just the rx 480 pc with 2  480s.

i show 45-46 mh in house

but  at the pool  the line shows the hash and no credit or miner

you can see the r9 dropped off
you can see the rx pick up but i do not get  any credit for it.

this is happening on 3 different pc's  all windows 7 with the new 16.6.2 and installed  


Phil - are you using qtminer?

Try changing to Claymore. I was using qtminer before then changed to Claymore, and working fine at ethpool.

I forgot to give you credit as I did just that all is good now!

Ah... that's great news!

I was worried for awhile because, I have 12 more 480s coming my way to get 2 x 6 x GPU rigs up this week.

Claymore Dual Miner (CDM) has so many cool switches that you can configure it to kingdom come.

I have also suggested a few features in his solo-mode and monitoring utility, in which Claymore has incorporated in his latest versions.

If you go to the Claymore thread, many members have contributed the many cool features the v4.7 have today.

Also due to lack of OC and underclocking support for 480 (I can't get AF or Strixx working with it), it's worth looking into CDM's features that does these power controls from CDM command line.

You are the people (miner) who drive up the mining difficulty. You must have very cheap electricity.

I deleted your post it does not belong here.  Here is why: " the sky is blue " obvious correct? yes it is obvious.  and that means you were making your post count bigger for your signature.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 09:31:06 PM
 #588

Good luck guys with your RXs , they seems to be complicated ...


In the same time , I'm looking after the Stilt Bios.
Informations here :
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

And files here :
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B2XVfIhkHZlfcVR0QzhlQlhJYTA&usp=drive_web#list

I'm just not sure how to choose the good file for the 290.
As it seems to be the best choice with ethereum, I would like to take the bios with less voltage, but not sure to understand which one it is from the list here:
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=12830.msg121827#msg121827

I think this one is with highest voltage : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V34.zip (DPM7 - 1.2250V)


and this one the most undervolted : MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V)

Could you guys confirm you understand that as me ?

You need to try each one going from lowest to highest voltage until its stable. One of my 290 is very stable the lowest voltage, another one is only stable at the highest voltage. Check your ASIC quality in GPUz

Thanx for trying to help.
For my home computer , mining with two gpus , I would like to get the less noise possible , so I need the lowest temp , that imply lower voltage I think.
Could you confirm my understanding in the reading of the files name ?
=> MBA_C6711101-100_K2_AGR_STILTMP_V48.zip (DPM7 - 1.1000V) is the less voltage available.

For the mining rig ,(whose noise is not a problem) , I'll do as you suggest to try to get the best hashrate.
galacticpilgrim
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


**MNM CVC**


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 10:56:53 AM
 #589

I've been following your thread for a while... thoroughly enjoying it!

I've been researching different cards lately and and looking forward to the 1060 (July 19th) and the 470 (release info coming soon). I hate to wait haha  Smiley


▃▃                             ▃▃                OFFICIAL WEBSITE          ⬇Download MINEUM client⬇
 █     M I N E U M     █                                                                  Windows   Mac   Linux
▔▔                             ▔▔             ]BITCOINTALK THREAD
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 03:35:48 PM
 #590

do you guys know a way to reduce GPU usage while mining with home computer ?
The 2 gpus family computer run at 76°c with almost 100% fan (less than 100% fan make heat go up).
Power limit 50% or less voltage -100mv do almost the same : -100w but not less heat and no less noise ... (but -100mv doesn't reduce hashrate , power limit reduce it)
Any advice ?
The 2 R9 290 provide 50mh/s hashrate , I would agree with a light reduce of hashrate if it can protect my ears !
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 04:53:59 PM
 #591

do you guys know a way to reduce GPU usage while mining with home computer ?
The 2 gpus family computer run at 76°c with almost 100% fan (less than 100% fan make heat go up).
Power limit 50% or less voltage -100mv do almost the same : -100w but not less heat and no less noise ... (but -100mv doesn't reduce hashrate , power limit reduce it)
Any advice ?
The 2 R9 290 provide 50mh/s hashrate , I would agree with a light reduce of hashrate if it can protect my ears !

you have 2 290's in a pc case correct?

what are your case fans?

what is your case make and model?

what do you mine with claymore qtminer or another?

case builds do run hot.



better case fans help a bit.

if you can get 2 of these in the case one as intake and one as exhaust they may help

https://www.amazon.com/Silverstone-Cooler-Computer-Cooling-FHP-141/dp/B00A460TK6/ref=sr_1_1?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 06:04:44 PM
 #592

I think he's looking g for a way to throttle to mining app. Do any of the miners have a command line switch to artificially limit the hash rate? A way to not just run at 100% capacity.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 07:34:49 PM
 #593

Yes Lonerangir , that's it!
Thanks Phil but I don't want to change my case or fans, they are average gaming quality, and I just want to make profit of the PSU when not gaming.
That's why I added two R9 290 got for cheap but don't want to proceed deep changes on this unit.
Being able to manage heat and noise would be very appreciated for the time we are near the computer ! (at the moment , I just can stop mining instead)

NB : I'm currently with genoil ethminer , but will try claymore soon

NB bis : good idea for the silverstone Phil, I might take the one I have on my silent S3 to improve computer for free and without lot of work.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 07:40:43 PM
 #594

Yes Lonerangir , that's it!
Thanks Phil but I don't want to change my case or fans, they are average gaming quality, and I just want to make profit of the PSU when not gaming.
That's why I added two R9 290 got for cheap but don't want to proceed deep changes on this unit.
Being able to manage heat and noise would be very appreciated for the time we are near the computer ! (at the moment , I just can stop mining instead)

NB : I'm currently with genoil ethminer , but will try claymore soon

NB bis : good idea for the silverstone Phil, I might take the one I have on my silent S3 to improve computer for free and without lot of work.



to try  another method.  strip out the drivers.

put in 16.7.1  go to watt man and set the power to  -30  or -35  it should help you mine lower heat noise and fans.

or not  since I only tried it with rx 480s and claymore  .



worked really good for them.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 08:10:31 PM
 #595

I'm currently looking at claymore , and everything seems to be available to control heat ! great !
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 08:16:17 PM
 #596

I'm currently looking at claymore , and everything seems to be available to control heat ! great !

I was using qtminer before because of stratum feature then I stumbled into Claymore v1.... months later v5.

It has a lot of switches and it should address everything you need to tune-up the dual miner, it mines DCR and SIA coins too.

Claymore is also quite responsive in getting new features in - in fact many cool features were from members requests.

Great miner, in my opinion - it runs very well and stable on my 390s, Nanos and 480s.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 08, 2016, 09:53:21 PM
 #597

I'm currently looking at claymore , and everything seems to be available to control heat ! great !

I was using qtminer before because of stratum feature then I stumbled into Claymore v1.... months later v5.

It has a lot of switches and it should address everything you need to tune-up the dual miner, it mines DCR and SIA coins too.

Claymore is also quite responsive in getting new features in - in fact many cool features were from members requests.

Great miner, in my opinion - it runs very well and stable on my 390s, Nanos and 480s.

Have to really thank you for pushing me towards it.

I am hoping to get a total of 5 rx 480s and 2 r9 390's running over the next month all using claymore.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 01:28:18 AM
 #598

Does anyone have stats, or have seen stats, of the RX 480 4GB variety? They're a bit cheaper, if you can find them.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 01:56:28 AM
 #599

Does anyone have stats, or have seen stats, of the RX 480 4GB variety? They're a bit cheaper, if you can find them.

its been going around they are 8gb models with a 4gb sticker.

im guessing the stats would be the same..

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 09, 2016, 04:52:49 AM
 #600

Does anyone have stats, or have seen stats, of the RX 480 4GB variety? They're a bit cheaper, if you can find them.

its been going around they are 8gb models with a 4gb sticker.

im guessing the stats would be the same..



Yes big post about it on anantech.  You need to unlock it but the ram is on the card.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!