Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 01:21:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to upgrade SDK from 2.1 to 2.4 Ubuntu  (Read 3037 times)
MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 01:51:00 AM
Last edit: June 12, 2011, 10:38:00 AM by MiningBuddy
 #1

Code:
1) wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/APPSDK/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64.tgz

2) sudo tar xvfz AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64.tgz -C /opt

3) sudo tar xvfz /opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/icd-registration.tgz -C /

4) cd pyopencl-0.92

5) ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64


6) Add this to miner starting script:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64



1H9R8bkkPgmMkgiPEWPAZku4QM8nC6zvMW

Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get its fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715044903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715044903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715044903
Reply with quote  #2

1715044903
Report to moderator
1715044903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715044903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715044903
Reply with quote  #2

1715044903
Report to moderator
1715044903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715044903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715044903
Reply with quote  #2

1715044903
Report to moderator
MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:15:31 AM
 #2

Anyone?  Cry

burtyb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2011, 11:32:36 AM
 #3

It probably depends what else you're using.

I use pyopencl which needs to be recompiled against the SDK when it's changed, but other than that I only change the path to the SDK.

ChrisB.
MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:53:02 AM
 #4

It probably depends what else you're using.

I use pyopencl which needs to be recompiled against the SDK when it's changed, but other than that I only change the path to the SDK.

ChrisB.
Ah, I think you're on to something,
I tried to run configure.py on pyopencl-0.92 with ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64
but it complained to me about already being configured, I assume from the previous version and I really don't know what to do... any suggestions for a noob?  Cheesy

Thanks

burtyb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2011, 11:56:05 AM
 #5

Do what it tells you to do and remove siteconf.py, then re-run configure.py/make/make install.

ChrisB.
MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 12:07:01 PM
 #6

Thanks man, I did what you said above and it configured without errors (as far as I could see)

I replaced this: export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/
with: export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64/

but for some reason my miner wont pickup the different SDK version giving me the errors below, any ideas?

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "phoenix.py", line 123, in <module>
    miner.start(options)
  File "/home/buddy/phoenix-1.48/Miner.py", line 75, in start
    self.kernel = self.options.makeKernel(KernelInterface(self))
  File "phoenix.py", line 112, in makeKernel
    self.kernel = kernelModule.MiningKernel(requester)
  File "kernels/phatk/__init__.py", line 132, in __init__
    platforms = cl.get_platforms()
pyopencl.LogicError: clGetPlatformIDs failed: invalid/unknown error code

thanks

MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:50:59 PM
 #7

If anyone can help me get this sorted I will offer a small bounty for your trouble.

MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:16:35 PM
 #8

Bump, I still cant it to work.

MiningBuddy (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:39:08 AM
 #9

 Cheesy Well don't I feel silly, after looking at it again I got it to work and have updated OP with a short guide on how others can do the same.

minerX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:13:42 AM
 #10

Cheesy Well don't I feel silly, after looking at it again I got it to work and have updated OP with a short guide on how others can do the same.

I just used the instructions from the 11.04 guide.  I went back and did the steps that were missing.   However you need to use --platform when using POCLBM. 

Not sure if other miners support --platform though.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!