Bitcoin Forum
February 27, 2017, 01:42:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Motherboard with onboard video  (Read 1532 times)
Spadowsky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:26:30 AM
 #1

Hi,

I, considdering buying an ASRock M3A785GXH/128M
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3A785GXH/128M But it has onboard video.
The wiki: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig claims mobo's with onboard video gives problems.
Anybody expierience with this mobo er other with onboard video? i it works this is an ideal mobo.

Specs:
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3A785GXH/128M
gpu: 2x ASUS EAH5850 DirectCU/2DIS/1GD5 http://azerty.nl/8-970-266900/asus-eah5850-directcu-2dis-1gd.html
cpu AMD Athlon II 250
psu: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 http://azerty.nl/8-1073-386489/corsair-enthusiast-series-tx75.html

Tanks in advance.
1488202961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488202961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488202961
Reply with quote  #2

1488202961
Report to moderator
1488202961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488202961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488202961
Reply with quote  #2

1488202961
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488202961
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488202961

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488202961
Reply with quote  #2

1488202961
Report to moderator
Savaron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:47:11 AM
 #2

I do have a motherboard with onboard too (Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H) and I can't use two cards. My second PCIe slot does not work with video cards. Either it activates the one in the first PCIe slot, or the onboard if its missing.

I don't know about your specific mainboard, but I needed to buy a new one.
Spadowsky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 10:53:16 AM
 #3

Have you tried crossfire?
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:39:12 AM
 #4

I do have a motherboard with onboard too (Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H) and I can't use two cards. My second PCIe slot does not work with video cards. Either it activates the one in the first PCIe slot, or the onboard if its missing.

I don't know about your specific mainboard, but I needed to buy a new one.
Have you tried dummy plugs?

I've heard many people use the onboard video to drive the monitor and use the other slots to mine. It's supposed to speed up mining as doesn't have to draw the screen.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
Savaron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 12:15:41 PM
 #5

I do have a motherboard with onboard too (Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H) and I can't use two cards. My second PCIe slot does not work with video cards. Either it activates the one in the first PCIe slot, or the onboard if its missing.

I don't know about your specific mainboard, but I needed to buy a new one.
Have you tried dummy plugs?

I've heard many people use the onboard video to drive the monitor and use the other slots to mine. It's supposed to speed up mining as doesn't have to draw the screen.

I did 2 seperate monitors to each of the card. But even with only 1 card connected to the second PCIe slot, it does not even start (fan goes to 100%, long beep from bios and black monitor).
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 12:21:32 PM
 #6

Is that long beep a POST code? You should look up what that means.

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!