Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 07:05:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to mine from behind a firewall with most ports shut.  (Read 7331 times)
jaminunit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:39:48 AM
 #1

Hi there, I am a graphics guy and we have 10 OS X graphics boxes here at work. The only thing is that we are behind a firewall Sad
And IT wont open any ports.

I'm just wandering if anyone knows how I can GPU mine from behind a firewall??? I was able to run bitcoinplus.com but that is CPU only and is well useless.

I have tried Diablo with mining.bitcoin.cz but it fails to log in.

I think it might be a problem with getting through port 8332 but like I said IT wont touch anything.

Any advice would be well appreciated.

Smiley Huh
1508569513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508569513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508569513
Reply with quote  #2

1508569513
Report to moderator
1508569513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508569513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508569513
Reply with quote  #2

1508569513
Report to moderator
1508569513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508569513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508569513
Reply with quote  #2

1508569513
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 12:02:07 PM
 #2

Hi there, I am a graphics guy and we have 10 OS X graphics boxes here at work. The only thing is that we are behind a firewall Sad
And IT wont open any ports.

I'm just wandering if anyone knows how I can GPU mine from behind a firewall??? I was able to run bitcoinplus.com but that is CPU only and is well useless.

I have tried Diablo with mining.bitcoin.cz but it fails to log in.

I think it might be a problem with getting through port 8332 but like I said IT wont touch anything.

Any advice would be well appreciated.

Smiley Huh

Eligius has port 80 open for mining.
jaminunit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:22:17 AM
 #3

I just found that http://bitcoins.lc does port 8080 Smiley  WOO HOO!

ukbitco.in
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 03:28:32 PM
 #4

otherwise: tunnel
Wuked
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2011, 10:32:38 PM
 #5

You can use an SSH tunnel to forward ports:

Code:
ssh -L <localPort>:<RemoteHost:Port> login@ssh server

then if you connect to locahost on the localport your traffic will get moved though the firewall!

Rodyland
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 499


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:10:02 PM
 #6

I use a tunnel, works fine.

Beware the weak hands!
1NcL6Mjm4qeiYYi2rpoCtQopPrH4PyKfUC
GPG ID: E3AA41E3
naveennoel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 06, 2015, 04:15:05 AM
 #7

I know this is an old post, I am trying to connect cgminer through an ssh tunnel, but not much luck. Any help would be appreciated.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
February 06, 2015, 04:30:11 PM
 #8

I know this is an old post, I am trying to connect cgminer through an ssh tunnel, but not much luck. Any help would be appreciated.

you could just use a vps
ProudMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135



View Profile
February 27, 2015, 11:30:33 AM
 #9

I had the same problem, there are pools who use port 80 or 8080 for mining.


https://www.f2pool.com/
stratum+tcp://stratum.f2pool.com:80


https://www.litecoinpool.org
stratum+tcp://litecoinpool.org:8080   (London, UK)
stratum+tcp://us.litecoinpool.org:8080   (New York, USA)
stratum+tcp://us2.litecoinpool.org:8080   (San Francisco, USA)
stratum+tcp://ltcpool5brio2gaj.onion:8080   (Tor hidden service)

bomberb17
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478


View Profile
May 30, 2017, 08:23:43 PM
 #10

Now that many ethereum ubuntu rigs are around, I'm going to ask the same question:
Say my miner wants to mine at eu1.ethermine.org:4444 but port 4444 outbound is blocked.
How can I tunnel traffic through the firewall? What would be the
Code:
ssh -L <localPort>:<RemoteHost:Port> login@ssh server
command if I have access to ssh server IP X.Y.Z.W ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!