Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2017, 05:45:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 69xx Hashrate (am I stupid?) <-- Yes I was!  (Read 1869 times)
0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:37:44 PM
 #1

Ok here is my problem:

I tested mining on any 58xx 5970 and now 69xx I can get.
But the 69xx are so fuxxing slow.
What people say in the wiki (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison) isn't what I get.

My 6950 does 330Mh/s my 6970 does 356Mh/s and this is clockt to 930Mhz.
My test-setup is Win7 with catalyst 11.5 and GUI-Miner.

In the wiki they all are using vectors, that works on my 5xxx cards but my 69xx all slow down if I enable vectors. Is the a problem with poclbm2011.beta4, are they stupid or am I?  Roll Eyes

Thx
1485020726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485020726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485020726
Reply with quote  #2

1485020726
Report to moderator
1485020726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485020726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485020726
Reply with quote  #2

1485020726
Report to moderator
1485020726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485020726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485020726
Reply with quote  #2

1485020726
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485020726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485020726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485020726
Reply with quote  #2

1485020726
Report to moderator
1485020726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485020726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485020726
Reply with quote  #2

1485020726
Report to moderator
aznsniper911
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:40:12 PM
 #2

Ok here is my problem:

I tested mining on any 58xx 5970 and now 69xx I can get.
But the 69xx are so fuxxing slow.
What people say in the wiki (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison) isn't what I get.

My 6950 does 330Mh/s my 6970 does 356Mh/s and this is clockt to 930Mhz.
My test-setup is Win7 with catalyst 11.5 and GUI-Miner.

In the wiki they all are using vectors, that works on my 5xxx cards but my 69xx all slow down if I enable vectors. Is the a problem with poclbm2011.beta4, are they stupid or am I?  Roll Eyes

Thx
Without using the -v -w128 flags I got the same speeds.
0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:43:56 PM
 #3

Same speed as with the option, as me or as them in the wiki?
rgod14
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 05:49:07 PM
 #4

Hey, my 6970 is oc'd to 975/333 at stock voltage. I get about 410 mh/s and it runs about 78ish degrees max. Is your card an XFX as I've heard of issues with not getting as high as overclocks due to the poor fan. And I use -v -w128 -f0 on my 6970 on GUIMiner.

Edit: Mine is a Sapphire 6970.

If I've been helpful please donate: 1Bnga4GEAMWJyUsvrzf6u5Vrw4VkACrGXV
0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:07:10 PM
 #5

OK! I am/was stupid! :-)

Problem1) Tuning my cards with MSI Afterburner sets the "Pover Control setting" back to 0%
Problem2) I tested with -w256 what results in making -v slower

My card is a Powercolor. I'm now on 930/1375 making 401Mh/s  Grin

How do you get the memory down to 333?
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:11:54 PM
 #6

Lower it in MSI! If not low enough, exit MSI then re-launch MSI, and the slider should be in the middle, with the same clocks. Lower some more! Repeat if necessary!  Wink

0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:14:55 PM
 #7

I tested MSI Afterburner but the RAM goes just up, not under the default 1375!
Same with TriXX!

Any idea?  Huh
theBaba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:16:48 PM
 #8

My card is a Powercolor. I'm now on 930/1375 making 401Mh/s  Grin

How do you get the memory down to 333?

I'm also running a PowerColor 6970.

I've had better luck with ATI Tray Tools than MSI Afterburner in getting the memory clock down... and for ease of use.

I'm running my 6970 at 960/350 now and it's running 5-6C cooler than it was at 940/1425.

Also, with the memory underclocked the "power control" no longer seems to make a difference... I get 400-410Mh/s regardless of if I'm at 0% or +5%.

I think the power control kicks in based on the total draw of the card, so my presumption is with the memory drawing so much less power I'm not bumping into that limiter anymore.

Tips: 1ECbhR1RkewBK16bbJBCjPgFi8qCU2g5Bk
aznsniper911
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:48:56 PM
 #9

Hey, my 6970 is oc'd to 975/333 at stock voltage. I get about 410 mh/s and it runs about 78ish degrees max. Is your card an XFX as I've heard of issues with not getting as high as overclocks due to the poor fan. And I use -v -w128 -f0 on my 6970 on GUIMiner.

Edit: Mine is a Sapphire 6970.
I don't understand why people tone down their memory. with 900/690(1380) and I'm getting 400 mh/s
0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:55:19 PM
 #10

I have the "power" @ +20% because it brings me 30Mh/s.
If I go back to 0% I can not bring the core one MHz higher, so this is what I choose.

@aznsniper911: higher RAM clock heats up your card and costs power!
PhrozenArmadillo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:57:20 PM
 #11

It could help reduce power consumption since the streaming cores are simply crunching numbers and the card is not actually holding the data that it crunches, simply passing it through the cache.
PhrozenArmadillo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:58:17 PM
 #12


@aznsniper911: higher RAM clock heats up your card and costs power!

Beat me to it.
0815miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:44:11 PM
 #13

Ok, I killed all my tuning tools, rebooted and reinstalled MSI afterburner.
Now I can go down to 800.
But wen I try something like 600 / 400 / 300 it jumps back up to defaults.  Angry

Next try will be Linux I think...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!