Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:27:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2x5870 Win 7 64bit - cannot overclock  (Read 1004 times)
phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:38:26 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

I have a single XFX 5870 on another machine and it overclocks fine.

I've got a new mining rig hooked up with 2 5870's and I cannot get past 900mhz on the core clock.

What's strange is that after editing the msi afterburner cfg to allow me to do this, this is what I see :



Whatever changes I make is not applied.

I've tried different SDK, Catalyst and MSIafterburner versions.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Thanks


1481340472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340472
Reply with quote  #2

1481340472
Report to moderator
1481340472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340472
Reply with quote  #2

1481340472
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481340472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340472
Reply with quote  #2

1481340472
Report to moderator
PhrozenArmadillo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 06:51:06 PM
 #2

Could you give a little more detail about the hardware configuration that surrounds your dual 5870 setup? Do both of your rigs share common hardware?
phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:01:19 PM
 #3

MSI 890FXA-GD70 890FX Socket AM3 8 Channel HD Audio Gigabit Lan ATX Motherboard
XFX 850W Power Supply
AMD Sempron 140 2.70GHz (Socket AM3) Processor
Corsair Value 2GB (1x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz

I'll experiment with 1 card and see how it goes.

I'm assuming I should be getting 800+ MH/s out of these two together. Is that correct?

My solo 5870 is pulling 410+ on a really old system.

Btw, their not crossfired. Is it worth me crossfiring them?

LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:05:09 PM
 #4

When you edited the file you may have messed up the file permissions, try removing the config file and restarting Afterburner.

That should cause Afterburner to re-create the file.

Let us know what happens.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
anodyne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:06:21 PM
 #5

Is the second GPU active (connected to display/dummy plug)? Can you see either of them if you change master GPU in Afterburner?

Bitcoins: solid enough to build pyramids.
doomy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:14:29 PM
 #6

This happened to me when I used an ATI card, after months of using/OC'ing a Nvidia card with Afterburner. Clean re-install solves it.

The buck ends here -> 138Cqv33HWtjUn9T3FfZog5xT9NtKQMc2U
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:19:24 PM
 #7

I had exactly the same problem.  I ended up using the AMD GPU Clock tool and that let me change everything.

W

phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 08:34:32 PM
 #8

Problem solved, I had no idea about having to use dummy plugs. I've got'em crossfired for now until I decide to use a dummy plug or switch over to Linux.

Thanks for your help.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!