Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 07:47:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: For win32 users - a script that allows actual usage of 4GB+ of RAM....  (Read 4032 times)
GenTarkin (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 01:00:04 AM
Last edit: April 05, 2013, 04:11:09 PM by GenTarkin
 #1

For years Ive wanted to find a way to use PAE to allow windows 32bit to actually use 4GB+ RAM...since thats basically what PAE is really for. On modern machines windows nearly always has PAE turned on because DEP(nx bit) requires PAE be used. So, by default most windows 32bit installs actually use the PAE enabled kernel.
But, even when PAE is forced on or is on because of DEP... RAM above 4GB is still locked away and unusable.
After coming across this article: http://www.geoffchappell.com/notes/windows/license/memory.htm

Ive been inspired to get this working for myself. So, Ive successfully been able to patch vista_32 & win7_32 kernels, resign them and boot from them. This has been tested on a couple different machines and works fantastic.
After confirming both kernel types are patchable, I set out to write an autoit script that automates the process on both vista & 7.
So, Ive made my first release of the patch. It basically patches the kernel, creates a cert, signs the patched kernel w/ the cert, modifies BCD to add entry of picking between original kernel & patched copy of the kernel.
NOTE: this is ONLY for vista or 7. Win8 32 I have not tested. XP this patch is not possible.
TO INSTALL: Simply run the exe

TO UNINSTALL: by creating a shortcut to my script, and putting 'uninstall' (without quotes) as an argument, it will remove the BCD entries and delete the modified kernel.

I am posting links to my script, one is the precompiled version(the executable)
The other is the source so you can see for urself what it does.
http://temp-share.com/show/HKdPx6LpA
http://temp-share.com/show/KdPf25qAh
 Screenshot:
http://temp-share.com/show/dPf3apu7W

-
EDIT: patcher now gets rid of watermarks as well.... yay =)
NOTE: after applying the patch, your system may show "test" mode water mark on the desktop in the corner(s). This is normal. There are guides to get rid of this watermark(by editing user32.dll.mui file). I may make it as part of my script in the future if there is enough demand for it.

Donations: 12jjayHWtUci3ygPXD4i2yUHMySytiUBd4

April 5th, 2013 - updated download links to work, dropbox account over download limit apparently.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715111265
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715111265

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715111265
Reply with quote  #2

1715111265
Report to moderator
1715111265
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715111265

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715111265
Reply with quote  #2

1715111265
Report to moderator
1715111265
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715111265

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715111265
Reply with quote  #2

1715111265
Report to moderator
grue
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1431



View Profile
February 27, 2013, 01:12:50 AM
 #2

why would you even not upgrade to 64 bit?

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Adblock for annoying signature ads | Enhanced Merit UI
GenTarkin (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 01:22:05 AM
 #3

why would you even not upgrade to 64 bit?

Cuz, Im trying to stretch the life of my 32bit OS long as I can, since there is no inplace upgrade to 64bit. I dont wanna spend more than a month trying to figure out the last 6 years Ive put into my OS install =P

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
GenTarkin (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 09:41:53 PM
 #4

Been workin on patcher, it now removes testing watermarks as well.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
malevolent
can into space
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3472
Merit: 1721



View Profile
February 27, 2013, 09:48:15 PM
 #5

Any chance to make it work on 32-bit XP SP3?

Signature space available for rent.
GenTarkin (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 27, 2013, 10:00:57 PM
 #6

Any chance to make it work on 32-bit XP SP3?

Nope, XP and previous it did things a bit differently, alot of the code was hardcoded vs a simple check which can be overridden via kernel patch. So, if theres a way, Im presently not aware.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Evan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 507
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 03:51:06 PM
 #7

Any chance to make it work on 32-bit XP SP3?

Nope, XP and previous it did things a bit differently, alot of the code was hardcoded vs a simple check which can be overridden via kernel patch. So, if theres a way, Im presently not aware.

seriously time for 64bit kiddo.....

I am poor, but i do work for Coin Smiley
1PtHcavXoakgNkQfEQdvnvEksEY2NvwaLM
GenTarkin (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1002


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 04:11:32 PM
 #8

updated download links...for anyone that may use this.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! -- !!NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!