Bitcoin Forum
October 26, 2021, 03:18:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD 7970, Windows IE text / graphic artifacts with CGMiner, no OC.  (Read 3742 times)
Tanquen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 06:16:34 AM
 #1

I have two 7970 AMD GPUs and whenever I run CGMiner I get random text or graphic artifacts when browsing and when using some programs. While the 7970s do have a lot of game driver issues I've not seen this while playing any. The GPUs are not running around 99-100% while playing games though.

I've seen a few post with issues with certian drivers and or trying to OC but even if I underclock I see the artifacts.

I'm running the AMD driver 13.2 Beta 5


Just wondering if this means I have bad GPUs or RAM and need to RMA.

Thanks.


My System:

Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 DELUXE, Intel 3930k 3.2GHz - G.SKILL 64GB (8 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card: MSI HD7970 - R7970-2PMD3GD5
System Drive: Samsung 512GB 830 Series SSD
Data Drive: Hitachi 4TB
Power Supply: SeaSonic Platinum-1000W
LG Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM GGC-H20L
2 Dell 30" U3011 on Ergotron HD Dual-Monitor Arm

Some pics. Smiley
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1038475873#post1038475873
1635218315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1635218315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1635218315
Reply with quote  #2

1635218315
Report to moderator
1635218315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1635218315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1635218315
Reply with quote  #2

1635218315
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1635218315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1635218315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1635218315
Reply with quote  #2

1635218315
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 02, 2013, 03:33:37 PM
 #2

Happens with my 7770 too mining litecoin, card is fine though

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
noncecents
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 01:59:04 AM
 #3

Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 DELUXE, Intel 3930k 3.2GHz - G.SKILL 64GB (8 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card: MSI HD7970 - R7970-2PMD3GD5

Your GPU's require a total of 32 PCIe lanes yet your CPU provides only 16.

You are wasting about 2/3 of your GPU's compute resources because your CPU doesn't have enough bandwidth to operate both cards at load.

To fix this problem you need to upgrade to a Ivy Bridge CPU which has 2x16 PCIe lanes.
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 08, 2013, 02:56:45 PM
 #4

Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 DELUXE, Intel 3930k 3.2GHz - G.SKILL 64GB (8 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card: MSI HD7970 - R7970-2PMD3GD5

Your GPU's require a total of 32 PCIe lanes yet your CPU provides only 16.

You are wasting about 2/3 of your GPU's compute resources because your CPU doesn't have enough bandwidth to operate both cards at load.

To fix this problem you need to upgrade to a Ivy Bridge CPU which has 2x16 PCIe lanes.

Yea, right  Huh
Pug
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 09, 2013, 04:48:28 AM
Last edit: December 25, 2015, 08:23:03 PM by Pug
 #5

-
flyingmonkeycrap
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 05, 2013, 11:12:57 PM
 #6

Just wondering if anyone figured this out? I'm experiencing the same problem

Edit: I think I just solved it actually by disabling the windows areo theme and using windows 7 basic theme

Binance Exchange for IOTA, REQ, ETC. 0.05% Fees, good for day trading:
https://www.binance.com/?ref=11613693
stephengillon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 06, 2013, 01:36:58 PM
 #7

Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 DELUXE, Intel 3930k 3.2GHz - G.SKILL 64GB (8 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card: MSI HD7970 - R7970-2PMD3GD5

Your GPU's require a total of 32 PCIe lanes yet your CPU provides only 16.

You are wasting about 2/3 of your GPU's compute resources because your CPU doesn't have enough bandwidth to operate both cards at load.

To fix this problem you need to upgrade to a Ivy Bridge CPU which has 2x16 PCIe lanes.


Dont response with absolutely wrong information

3930k has 40 lanes and that wont effect it anyways.
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 711
Merit: 502



View Profile
June 06, 2013, 04:15:51 PM
 #8

There is nothing wrong with your card, most cards, when mining under windows do that (square blocky crap randomly blinking around the screen), don't worry, the card is fine.
BTW: it doesn't happens in linux, and also, for mining even 1x PCI-e is enough Cheesy

BTC addr: 1vTGnFgaM2WJjswwmbj6N2AQBWcHfimSc
demosthenez
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2013, 04:43:01 PM
 #9

Had artifacts with my Gigabyte 7970 Ghz - on 13.1.
Upgraded to 13.3b and the artifacts disappeared.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!