Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 02:22:23 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why do I not see any entry in the "Transactions" tab of bitcoin-qt?  (Read 1048 times)
spixx (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 06:34:01 AM
 #1

I'm new within the Bitcoin realm.
I've installed Bitcoin-core (QT version 0.12.1.0) on my Ubuntu 16.04 box.
Download of the block-chain lasted roughly 20 hours.
Bitcoin-qt confirms "Up to date. Processed 412540 blocks of transaction history"
I have setup an encrypted wallet.

And here's my questions:
Why do I do not see any entry in the "Transactions" tab?
Are only my own transactions shown?
How can I see the block-chain transactions?

Many thanks in advance for these, I admit, dumb questions. But I did not find any answers by Mama Google.

1714918943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714918943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714918943
Reply with quote  #2

1714918943
Report to moderator
The trust scores you see are subjective; they will change depending on who you have in your trust list.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714918943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714918943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714918943
Reply with quote  #2

1714918943
Report to moderator
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4354
Merit: 3042


Vile Vixen and Miss Bitcointalk 2021-2023


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 06:56:40 AM
 #2

Are only my own transactions shown?
Bingo.

Will pretend to do unspeakable things (while actually eating a taco) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
I am not on the scammers' paradise known as Telegram! Do not believe anyone claiming to be me off-forum without a signed message from the above address! Accept no excuses and make no exceptions!
spixx (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 07:52:57 AM
 #3

Thank you for your quick reply. That raises the curtain of ignorance.

One small other question: Is there any way to show the whole block-chain? Out of pure curiousity.
DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 4616



View Profile
May 20, 2016, 11:18:22 AM
Last edit: May 20, 2016, 12:56:54 PM by DannyHamilton
 #4

In the console tab of the Debug Window found in the Help Menu enter the following command:

Code:
getblockhash BLOCKHEIGHT

Replacing BLOCKHEIGHT with the actual height in the blockchain of the block you want to see. For example, if you want to see the first block in the blockchain (the one that came immediately after the genesis block) then you would enter:

Code:
getblockhash 1

The command will return a BLOCKHASH.  Next enter:

Code:
getblock BLOCKHASH

Replacing BLOCKHASH with the block hash that was returned with the previous command.  For example, if you ran "getblockhash 1" and it returned 00000000839a8e6886ab5951d76f411475428afc90947ee320161bbf18eb6048 then you would enter:

Code:
getblock 00000000839a8e6886ab5951d76f411475428afc90947ee320161bbf18eb6048

This should include all the details about the block including a list of transaction hashes in the "tx:" section.

For each and every transaction hash enter the following command:

Code:
getrawtransaction TRANSACTIONHASH 1

Replacing TRANSACTIONHASH with the transaction hash that was returned with the previous command. For example, if you ran "getblock 00000000839a8e6886ab5951d76f411475428afc90947ee320161bbf18eb6048" and it returned a transaction list that had only a single transaction with a hash of 0e3e2357e806b6cdb1f70b54c3a3a17b6714ee1f0e68bebb44a74b1efd512098 then you would enter:

Code:
getrawtransaction 0e3e2357e806b6cdb1f70b54c3a3a17b6714ee1f0e68bebb44a74b1efd512098  1

Repeat this process for every TRANSACTIONHASH found in every BLOCKHEIGHT from 1 to the current height (412567 at the time I'm writing this).

(Note, I'm not sure, but I think you might need to have txindex=1 set in your bitcoin.conf if you want to be able to run getrawtransaction for transactions that weren't sent to or from your wallet).
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 6581


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
May 20, 2016, 11:34:29 AM
 #5

(Note, I'm not sure, but I think you might need to have txindex=1 set in your bitcoin.conf if you want to be able to run getrawtransaction for transactions that weren't sent to or from your wallet).
That is right. You must either have txindex=1 in the bitcoin.conf file or have -txindex in the startup command. Otherwise you cannot see transactions that are not in your wallet. Using the txindex will require that you also reindex the databases, which can take several hours.

spixx (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2016, 12:51:51 PM
 #6

@DannyHamilton
Thank you for verbose explanation. Very helpful to dig deeper into the details.
I've just started reindexing of the database.
Will last several hours, but no problem - I want to see the gory details.

@knightdk
Thank you for your confirmation of the bitcoin.conf entry. It did the trick.
spixx (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 04:49:09 PM
 #7

The reindexing lasted more than 20 hours on my system.
But no problem, because I am now able to snoop into the very beginning.
Blocks #1,2,3,etc. are really simple and it's easy to understand the process.

It looks like the first (rough guess) 50-60.000 blocks are mainly single transactions.
The ones I have checked were transferring constantly 50 BTC.
First after 50.000 I have detected the first block with multiple transactions inside.
And then also the transferred values change.

But it's really great to see this history, going back to the very beginning.
DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3388
Merit: 4616



View Profile
May 21, 2016, 09:32:00 PM
 #8

- snip -
It looks like the first (rough guess) 50-60.000 blocks are mainly single transactions.
The ones I have checked were transferring constantly 50 BTC.
- snip -

That transaction is the block subsidy (also known as the block reward).  It is the 50 brand new bitcoins that the miner gets for solving the block.  You'll notice that those transactions don't spend any outputs from previous transactions.

First after 50.000 I have detected the first block with multiple transactions inside.

One of those transactions should still be a block reward of at least 50 BTC. The output will be the sum of the transaction fees (if any) of all the other transactions in the block plus the 50 BTC subsidy.

The additional transactions will be whatever amount the owner of the bitcoins was spending.  They will have inputs that refer back to outputs from previous transactions, and the sum of the newly created outputs will be less than or equal to the sum of the values of the inputs.  If the sum of the outputs is less than the sum of the inputs, then the difference between the sum of the inputs and the sum of the outputs is the transaction fee for that transaction.
shorena
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1499


No I dont escrow anymore.


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2016, 09:37:39 PM
 #9

-snip-
First after 50.000 I have detected the first block with multiple transactions inside.
-snip-

Try block 170, IIRC it includes the first transaction where satoshi send 10 btc to hal.

Im not really here, its just your imagination.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!