Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2017, 12:34:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dry ice  (Read 1489 times)
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 02:05:11 AM
 #1

Ok, simple plan. Ac unit with dry ice box on front ---- > Dryer tube -----> PC case already beign cooled by ac in this fashion. Should I be  good on this one?
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
1484958852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484958852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484958852
Reply with quote  #2

1484958852
Report to moderator
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:14:08 AM
 #2

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 02:18:17 AM
 #3

it will be very expensive as the dry ice will sublimate very quickly

snoopytime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:19:28 AM
 #4

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.


Vented (preferably back into your grow room so you get bigger buds)

If I make you smile you can hook me up a teeny bit:  13hKeyHMv5YMWxvwj9M1fTntGJiogdhbeo
Xenon971
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:21:27 AM
 #5

It wouldn't be economically viable. The the post above you have to work out extra venting since CO2 is toxic in large amounts. Also factor in how long it take a block to evaporate( correct substance change term? ), and the price of the block. You wouldn't see that big of a hash performance increase with the extra money you're spending.

I'll love you forever if you donate!
1CXwbcQd9kvAJc2rYejqGfbUwbPhDcSJQw
CentroniX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:28:23 AM
 #6

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.


Vented (preferably back into your grow room so you get bigger buds)

Best post today.  Check your wallet! Smiley
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 02:30:33 AM
 #7

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.


Vented (preferably back into your grow room so you get bigger buds)

Best post today.  Check your wallet! Smiley

I 2nd that......where do you think I got the dryer tube from? Smiley
Jarredm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:31:27 AM
 #8

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.


It's CO2 not CO you shouldn't have to vent it outside as long as the room you are in isn't air tight or extremely small.  Depends on the quantity of dry ice you are vaporizing.  I wouldn't expect the CO2 concentration to raise more than a few tenths of a percent, even with a fairly large block of ice like 3-5 lbs.

It is kind of expensive which I don't think will result in any profit increases.  You are already using a refrigiration unit to cool the miner your so your PUE is already 2 which means you are paying twice for the electricity to mine. Once to run it and once to cool it.  If you want to improve your profits, don't overclock excessively creating heat, you want to find a way to reduce the cost of cooling your miners
LeonGeeste
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:32:02 AM
 #9

Why would you necessarily lose the CO2?  Couldn't you do this as a closed cycle where the CO2 vapor just passes its heat back to the surroundings but still returns back as liquid coolant?  (Of course, it wouldn't be "ice" then.)
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:33:19 AM
 #10

Yep! Not worth it unless you do it like a real overclocker does it! In a pot, with acetone! The difference in temp between the cold AC air and the DICE is so minute, that it would make very little difference if any at all!

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:37:29 AM
 #11

Why would you necessarily lose the CO2?  Couldn't you do this as a closed cycle where the CO2 vapor just passes its heat back to the surroundings but still returns back as liquid coolant?  (Of course, it wouldn't be "ice" then.)
In oreder to store liquid CO2, it would have to be under high pressure. Also, liquid CO2, probably not the best conductor of heat!

@OP
I would say water cool if you need extreme cooling! My cards sit @ 37°C 24/7, and my CPU never sees 50°, thanks to water! Wink

BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:37:58 AM
 #12

Why would you necessarily lose the CO2?  Couldn't you do this as a closed cycle where the CO2 vapor just passes its heat back to the surroundings but still returns back as liquid coolant?  (Of course, it wouldn't be "ice" then.)

problem is dry ice doesnt "melt" into liquid, it sublimates, or goes directly from solid to gas.
Condensing CO2 gas into liquid  can only be done at 5 times normal atmospheric pressure.

so, no, that wont work

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 02:38:40 AM
 #13

Save it for dry ice bombs.

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
snoopytime
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:39:26 AM
 #14

remember that dry ice is CO2, and will need to be vented outside somehow. 
other then that, dry ice is kinda expensive.


Vented (preferably back into your grow room so you get bigger buds)

Best post today.  Check your wallet! Smiley

Hahaaa thxx dogg! right on, glad someone gets my sense of humor lolz

If I make you smile you can hook me up a teeny bit:  13hKeyHMv5YMWxvwj9M1fTntGJiogdhbeo
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:54:13 AM
 #15

get water blocks and make a chiller whit your ac
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:05:52 AM
 #16

Just throw the whole rig in the freezer  Cheesy
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 05:00:53 AM
 #17

Oh for the people who say the ac dosent help...
Well it has a required powersave move where after 15 min it will pause for 2 min. During that time my 1025mhz 5770 running at 230k rises in temp from 71 to 80. The ac turns back on and down to 71 in 5 min.
I did a quick experiment with some dry ice right now and this is what I discovered. By placing it in the dry ice in box I use to connect the ace to the 6 feet of dryer tube, I got the temp down to 54 for about 25 min before the began to raise. Chunk was 1/2lb at $3/lb so not cost effective at all. However I did get the 5830 to 410.
AshleyAshes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:27:25 AM
 #18

Buying dry ice to use as a long term cooling solution sounds about as practical as buying hot coffee frequently, to fill your radiators with, to heat your home in the winter. Tongue
bullox
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:30:20 AM
 #19

Buying dry ice to use as a long term cooling solution sounds about as practical as buying hot coffee frequently, to fill your radiators with, to heat your home in the winter. Tongue
Couldnt have said it better myself.

And, STARBUCKS, at that.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!