Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:18:49 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Could someone recommend me a motherboard for 4 cards?  (Read 5564 times)
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 04:52:26 AM
 #21


Riser cable available here:
http://www.chinadist.com/pci-e-1x-riser-pci-express-extension-card-cable.html

it allows you to place the card farther away from the motherboard so you can plug more GPU's into a motherboard without the space restrictions between slots where a dual slot card will not fit.

1481249929
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249929

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249929
Reply with quote  #2

1481249929
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DupingBitCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:54:55 AM
 #22


Riser cable available here:
http://www.chinadist.com/pci-e-1x-riser-pci-express-extension-card-cable.html

it allows you to place the card farther away from the motherboard so you can plug more GPU's into a motherboard without the space restrictions between slots where a dual slot card will not fit.

Wow thats awesome :O

That will also keep them cooler right sense they won't be close to eachother??
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 05:01:36 AM
 #23

yes sir it will help keep them much cooler

DupingBitCoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:12:31 AM
 #24

yes sir it will help keep them much cooler

Your the man :O
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 05:56:07 AM
 #25

yes sir it will help keep them much cooler

Your the man :O

You are very welcome Smiley

jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:01:26 AM
 #26

yes sir it will help keep them much cooler

Your the man :O

they stay very cold like this.  i have a homemade aluminum frame 2 level case with these.  2 cards and the power supply on the top level and 2 cards and the motherboard on the bottom level.  the bottom cards are plugged into the 16x ports and the top cards are on extenders plugged into the 1x ports. they have about an inch between them and the temps are about 15 degrees colder than when i had them back to back.

the case is a few inches bigger than the motherboard and is about 13-14" tall.  basically a cube with fans on the front blowing through

i got my cables from here
https://cablesaurus.com/

you can pay in bitcoins, my order arrived in 3 days and it shipped all the way across the US
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:07:12 AM
 #27

here is the one that i got with 4 pci-e slots for $65

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138318



That board only has two pci-e slots which can be used with video cards.

lol, tell that to my four 5830s then Smiley

If you are using risers on pci-e 1x slots for video cards, then you're killing the bandwidth. Might as well chop the card in half while you're at it.
jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:12:43 AM
 #28

its a 100% mining rig  i could care less all i am after is Mh/sec
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:42:05 AM
 #29

my money is on GD70. 4~6 cards depending on ur config.

jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:43:28 AM
 #30

my money is on GD70. 4~6 cards depending on ur config.

how do you power that?
phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:01:57 AM
 #31

How do you guys get around the issue of not having enough PCI-E connections? I have a 850W PSU which should be able to manage 3x5870. But it only has enough PCI-E cables for 2 cards. Are these adapters fine :

PCI Express 6-Pin to 4-Pin Power Adaptor for PCI-E Graphics Cards

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CB-033-OK


Dyaheon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:12:34 AM
 #32

How do you guys get around the issue of not having enough PCI-E connections? I have a 850W PSU which should be able to manage 3x5870. But it only has enough PCI-E cables for 2 cards. Are these adapters fine :

PCI Express 6-Pin to 4-Pin Power Adaptor for PCI-E Graphics Cards

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CB-033-OK


Yeah. Didn't your video cards come with those adapters? I thought they always included those.
phenom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:17:28 AM
 #33

How do you guys get around the issue of not having enough PCI-E connections? I have a 850W PSU which should be able to manage 3x5870. But it only has enough PCI-E cables for 2 cards. Are these adapters fine :

PCI Express 6-Pin to 4-Pin Power Adaptor for PCI-E Graphics Cards

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CB-033-OK


Yeah. Didn't your video cards come with those adapters? I thought they always included those.

Dude, I completely forgot haha. Just checked the boxes and they have 2 each  Roll Eyes

mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:06:25 PM
 #34

here is the one that i got with 4 pci-e slots for $65

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138318



That board only has two pci-e slots which can be used with video cards.

lol, tell that to my four 5830s then Smiley

If you are using risers on pci-e 1x slots for video cards, then you're killing the bandwidth. Might as well chop the card in half while you're at it.

getting 260 Mhash/sec out of each one, with 875 core clock and 900 mem clock, running at 59-64 C.  ::shrug::
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!