Bitcoin Forum
October 03, 2022, 04:45:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hashing Question  (Read 912 times)
LanYu (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:49:11 AM
 #1

Would it be possible to program your gpu, or the mining program to only hash under a certain point, i.e. the target? Obviously I am guessing that the answer is no, but why is this?
1664772344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664772344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664772344
Reply with quote  #2

1664772344
Report to moderator
1664772344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664772344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664772344
Reply with quote  #2

1664772344
Report to moderator
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1664772344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664772344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664772344
Reply with quote  #2

1664772344
Report to moderator
1664772344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664772344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664772344
Reply with quote  #2

1664772344
Report to moderator
1664772344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1664772344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1664772344
Reply with quote  #2

1664772344
Report to moderator
smell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:00:40 AM
 #2

Would it be possible to program your gpu, or the mining program to only hash under a certain point, i.e. the target? Obviously I am guessing that the answer is no, but why is this?

I think it is because the hash we use (SHA256) was specifically designed to make it hard to demand certain properties of the output from wise choices of input.  So that one could trust a file signed with an SHA256 hash was not modified since if one could generate hashes with certain properties (equal to an observed hash) this would not be possible.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!