Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:50:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with 2 different cards  (Read 4400 times)
jallen1000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 08:49:35 AM
 #1

Hello Everyone,

I am curious to know how one would go about mining with a 5870, and a 6950 on the same board. How would you set up an overclock utility to oc them both seperately? Is there a way to do this? Does it matter if they are not crossfire'd?

I am using windows 7 x64.


Thanks, any help is very much appreciated!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305804
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305804

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305804
Reply with quote  #2

1481305804
Report to moderator
1481305804
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305804

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305804
Reply with quote  #2

1481305804
Report to moderator
Waltibaba
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:25:09 AM
 #2

Hi, I have a similar setup, and I have to admit it was VERY challenging to set up. My rig: 6950 unlocked, and just got a 5830 for mining. Before the 5830 I got ~405 MH/s off my 6950, using overdrive only, stock voltage, clocks at 950/1250 and power control at +20.

Reinstalled the drivers for the 5830 now, so I dont have the OC range from the modded overdrive anymore, therefore I use MSI Afterburner atm. 925/350 stock voltage on 6950 and 988/315 stock on 5830. 6950 only gives out 355MH/s now though Cry , but in total its worth it I think.

In order to get afterburner to give you the OC range, go to the install location, and modify the afterburner.cfg file like so:
Find the line "UnofficialOverclockingEULA" and replace it and the following line with this:

UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1

Taken directly from my config.

Hope I helped you, I know I could have used this kinda help hahaha. PM me, or post if you need anything, I'm subbing thread.

12ZzdcQ7pyAcUJS9AGBRHTYcsu8tYLGWBK
"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."  Thomas Greco (2009)
*Image Removed*
jallen1000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:58:49 PM
 #3

Thank you very much for your reply! You did help me out Smiley I have a 6950 (unlocked to 6970) and i can get a 5870 for really cheap. It looks like i should probably go ahead and get one hey? Even though msi won't clock the cards individually?


Thanks again,

 Jordan
Waltibaba
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 11:40:59 PM
 #4

Hey,
Sure, I'm happy to help! My mobo just broke down (not due to mining) but I managed to get the setup working with Catalyst overclock on the 6950 and Rivatuner low-level OC on the 5830. That way there was no need for afterburner and the instability at high OCs that comes with it. In the end I was putting out 405MH/s + 280MH/s !!! Then I moved the PC, plugged it in again, and I assume static or the missing ground connection in my wall socket killed it.
Good luck!

12ZzdcQ7pyAcUJS9AGBRHTYcsu8tYLGWBK
"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."  Thomas Greco (2009)
*Image Removed*
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!