Bitcoin Forum
April 01, 2020, 02:37:05 AM *
News: The virus is now s̴͜͠p̶̰͝r̷̰̅e̶̦̽a̵̼͂d̴͉̑ỉ̷̖n̸̙̏g̷̬͝ even online; practice social distancing!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with 2 different cards  (Read 4576 times)
jallen1000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 08:49:35 AM
 #1

Hello Everyone,

I am curious to know how one would go about mining with a 5870, and a 6950 on the same board. How would you set up an overclock utility to oc them both seperately? Is there a way to do this? Does it matter if they are not crossfire'd?

I am using windows 7 x64.


Thanks, any help is very much appreciated!
1585708625
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585708625

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585708625
Reply with quote  #2

1585708625
Report to moderator
1585708625
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585708625

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585708625
Reply with quote  #2

1585708625
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1585708625
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585708625

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585708625
Reply with quote  #2

1585708625
Report to moderator
1585708625
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585708625

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585708625
Reply with quote  #2

1585708625
Report to moderator
Waltibaba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:25:09 AM
 #2

Hi, I have a similar setup, and I have to admit it was VERY challenging to set up. My rig: 6950 unlocked, and just got a 5830 for mining. Before the 5830 I got ~405 MH/s off my 6950, using overdrive only, stock voltage, clocks at 950/1250 and power control at +20.

Reinstalled the drivers for the 5830 now, so I dont have the OC range from the modded overdrive anymore, therefore I use MSI Afterburner atm. 925/350 stock voltage on 6950 and 988/315 stock on 5830. 6950 only gives out 355MH/s now though Cry , but in total its worth it I think.

In order to get afterburner to give you the OC range, go to the install location, and modify the afterburner.cfg file like so:
Find the line "UnofficialOverclockingEULA" and replace it and the following line with this:

UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 1

Taken directly from my config.

Hope I helped you, I know I could have used this kinda help hahaha. PM me, or post if you need anything, I'm subbing thread.
jallen1000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:58:49 PM
 #3

Thank you very much for your reply! You did help me out Smiley I have a 6950 (unlocked to 6970) and i can get a 5870 for really cheap. It looks like i should probably go ahead and get one hey? Even though msi won't clock the cards individually?


Thanks again,

 Jordan
Waltibaba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 11:40:59 PM
 #4

Hey,
Sure, I'm happy to help! My mobo just broke down (not due to mining) but I managed to get the setup working with Catalyst overclock on the 6950 and Rivatuner low-level OC on the 5830. That way there was no need for afterburner and the instability at high OCs that comes with it. In the end I was putting out 405MH/s + 280MH/s !!! Then I moved the PC, plugged it in again, and I assume static or the missing ground connection in my wall socket killed it.
Good luck!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!