Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:44:49 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Maxed out my extension cord!  (Read 1056 times)
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:11:44 AM
 #1

It's official.... I just added two 6970s on my ubuntu miner.  I couldn't figure out why the hell I was getting low hashes!  Then I swapped over to my 2nd rig and noticed the hashes were low as well.

I have a 13amp extension cord plugged into a 13amp surge protector.   One of those cannot handle all the power!

4x 5850s, 1x 6950, 2x 6970. 

Time to run to Walmart!
1480963489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963489
Reply with quote  #2

1480963489
Report to moderator
1480963489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963489
Reply with quote  #2

1480963489
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963489
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963489

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963489
Reply with quote  #2

1480963489
Report to moderator
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:13:45 AM
 #2

Don't really think it's the power. I have around 13 Amps on my end and I'm running 6x5850 2x5970 2x4870 1x 5770 1x4850

minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:18:53 AM
 #3

Don't really think it's the power. I have around 13 Amps on my end and I'm running 6x5850 2x5970 2x4870 1x 5770 1x4850

Oh it's definitely the power.  My surge protector just triggered and both computers shut off.   6970s use a shit load of power.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 09:38:38 AM
 #4

No, a 13 amp breaker/surge protector may trip, but it cannot explain a poor Mhash/s of your GPUs.
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:33:03 AM
 #5

No, a 13 amp breaker/surge protector may trip, but it cannot explain a poor Mhash/s of your GPUs.

Not sure what's going on.  I just got a new surge protector/extension cord.  But I noticed when I again overclocked my cards their speeds decreased.   I just switched wall socket plugs so hopefully that is it.
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:38:49 AM
 #6

No, a 13 amp breaker/surge protector may trip, but it cannot explain a poor Mhash/s of your GPUs.

Looks like you were right.  It was just a coincidence that my surge protector tripped.   For some reason when I overclock the cards the hash rate decreases.  Ubuntu 11.4. 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!