Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:55:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU-Power Supply questions  (Read 767 times)
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 12:44:34 PM
 #1

I finally got my hands on an MSI 890FXA-GD70, sempron 140, and 3 X 5870. I am still missing the power supply. Eventually there will be another 5870 so I need a power supply that can handle 4 cards. I am thinking a quality 1000 Watt will work, and going with 1200 Watt just to be sure.

My question is...when buying a quality power supply is it possible to wire up 4 video cards with everything that iscomes in the box, or will I have to get different wiring adapters?

1481284506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284506
Reply with quote  #2

1481284506
Report to moderator
1481284506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284506
Reply with quote  #2

1481284506
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284506
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284506

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284506
Reply with quote  #2

1481284506
Report to moderator
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:29:27 PM
 #2

Depends on the power supply. Some have enough pcie connectors, some don't. If they don't, most of the cards have 4pin->6pin pcie converters included
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 03:45:15 PM
 #3

You just have to make sure you have enough rails to power each card, that's all I'd be worried about, unfortunately I purchased a PSU with only two 6+2(8pin) pin power connectors and I can only fit two cards, now i gotta go out and buy another one.
finnthecelt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:17:41 PM
 #4

You just have to make sure you have enough rails to power each card, that's all I'd be worried about, unfortunately I purchased a PSU with only two 6+2(8pin) pin power connectors and I can only fit two cards, now i gotta go out and buy another one.

I ran into that as well. So I ended up with another PSU that was just laying around, ergo I was forced to buy the necessary gear to fulfill its existence  Cry

lol
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!