Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:25:17 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: paypal donation coming to anyone who can get me running  (Read 1483 times)
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:51:45 PM
 #1

i just learned of bitcoins today and now am trying to get my gaming computer mining, but i can't seem to get it to work.  paypal donation coming to anyone who can get me running.

comp specs:
windows 7 64 bit
nvidia geforce 8800 gtx

prog's downloaded:
bitcoin-0.3.21-win32
bitcoin-0.3.22
poclbm_py2exe_20110428
guiminer-20110609
GPU_Caps_Viewer_Setup_v1.12.0

so first thing i did was update my video card drivers and then ran the gpu_caps_viewer which told me i can currently run opengl, opencl and cuda.

next i made a folder c:\bitcoin and unzipped the other files to their own folders inside.  (bitcoin-0.3.21-win32, bitcoin-0.3.22, poclbm_py2exe_20110428, guiminer-20110609)

next i went into
C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Bitcoin
and made bitcoin.conf with a username and password

next i went to BTC Guild's website and created a new account

then i tried to start up guiminer and in the solo utilities tab i went to the bitcoin-0.3.21-win32 client path, chose the BTC Guild pool and entered my username / password

now when i start mining i get:
"Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC"

let me know what other information i could provide.
1481127917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127917
Reply with quote  #2

1481127917
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481127917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127917
Reply with quote  #2

1481127917
Report to moderator
1481127917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481127917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481127917
Reply with quote  #2

1481127917
Report to moderator
doomy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:53:21 PM
 #2

> nvidia geforce 8800 gtx

Not a very viable card to mine.

The buck ends here -> 138Cqv33HWtjUn9T3FfZog5xT9NtKQMc2U
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:55:09 PM
 #3

> nvidia geforce 8800 gtx

Not a very viable card to mine.

i'm not trying to get rich with this setup i am experimenting to get it running, once i'm more familiar i'll think about buying a mining rig or two- but i don't want to make that leap until i know i'll be able to set it up easily.
V2-V3
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


Jagersfontein


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 09:55:26 PM
 #4

maybe your username/password was typed incorrectly?

Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:56:48 PM
 #5

then i tried to start up guiminer and in the solo utilities tab i went to the bitcoin-0.3.21-win32 client path, chose the BTC Guild pool and entered my username / password

Something seems wrong here.
Don't use the solo mode, just choose the pool.

Also on Btcguild you have to create a worker account for your miner, don't enter the login data for BTCguild in GUIminer!

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
doomy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:57:46 PM
 #6

Was the miner set up for solo or BTCguild ?

Server -> drop down

The buck ends here -> 138Cqv33HWtjUn9T3FfZog5xT9NtKQMc2U
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:01:47 PM
 #7

Was the miner set up for solo or BTCguild ?

Server -> drop down

right now it is on btc guild
the username i've tried the following and none have worked:

my btc guild username / password
my btc workername / btc password
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:05:20 PM
 #8

The password should be irrelevant.

Enable the console view in guiminer and post the command line (without the worker name, if you're paranoid that someone could mine for you... Wink) that gets written when you start the miner.

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:08:22 PM
 #9

2011-06-11 17:07:08 Listener for "Default": 11/06/2011 17:07:08, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:11:02 PM
 #10

Check your firewall ports. That is a communication error most likely.

http://canyouseeme.org/

I think BTCGuild is the standard port 8337

You may need to forward originating data from that port to your machine.

http://portforward.com/


Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
Fakeman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:11:38 PM
 #11

Try eligius, no account needed as you just use your bitcoin address to login.

16wEsax3GGvJmjiXCMQUWeHdgyDG5DXa2W
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:17:57 PM
 #12

Check your firewall ports. That is a communication error most likely.

http://canyouseeme.org/

I think BTCGuild is the standard port 8337

You may need to forward originating data from that port to your machine.

http://portforward.com/



my port 8337 is blocked i'm trying to forward it now tinkering with my router settings
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:20:15 PM
 #13

2011-06-11 17:07:08 Listener for "Default": 11/06/2011 17:07:08, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
You need to set your "Server" in GUIminer to BTCguild, not to solo! Stop messing with port forwards... Wink

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
dumb_mother
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:31:56 PM
 #14

well i'm not sure what happened but now it is working- i think my problem was the username / passwords i was using, finally i renamed the top tab to my account, the username to my workername and the password to my account password and now i'm clocking in at 27.3 mhash/s- now to work on optimizing it a bit through the extra flag line.  i might go shopping this weekend on newegg and get a unit going, this is fun.  pm me your paypal doomy and sukrim and i'll send you each a couple dollars for helping me out.
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:37:56 PM
 #15

Nah, I don't like giving out payment details - and also I like to help people.

If you feel like it, you can send some bitcents to the adress in my sig --> but I won't feel good at all if I get paid just for being helpful on the internet.

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:46:58 PM
 #16

chose the BTC Guild pool and entered my username / password
2011-06-11 17:07:08 Listener for "Default": 11/06/2011 17:07:08, Problems communicating with bitcoin RPC
You need to set your "Server" in GUIminer to BTCguild, not to solo! Stop messing with port forwards... Wink

He mentioned that he had BTCguild selected in the first post.

i think my problem was the username / passwords i was using, finally i renamed the top tab to my account, the username to my workername and the password to my account password

Ah.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
Sukrim
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:53:50 PM
 #17

He mentioned that he had BTCguild selected in the first post.

After fiddling with the "Solo utilities tab" and probably trying to launch her bitcoin client in server mode (and maybe also trying to connect to it?)

https://bitfinex.com <-- leveraged trading of BTCUSD, LTCUSD and LTCBTC (long and short) - 10% discount on fees for the first 30 days with this refcode: x5K9YtL3Zb
Mail me at Bitmessage: BM-BbiHiVv5qh858ULsyRDtpRrG9WjXN3xf
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!