Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:17:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: If I'm builing a rig on Linux, which Linux flavour is the best?  (Read 1996 times)
uptheante
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:05:25 PM
 #1

For mining of course. What's your take?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026634
Reply with quote  #2

1481026634
Report to moderator
ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:15:27 PM
 #2

The one you're most confortable with.

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
wahbasah
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:18:40 PM
 #3

LinuxCoin
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7374.0
jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:45:28 PM
 #4

if you dont know linux dont bother
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:47:14 PM
 #5

Linux Mint -- the latest version 11.
Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:51:23 PM
 #6

I'm using Linuxcoin but overclocking features seems to be less powerful than those available to windows.
I will try a portable XP soon, see if I can rise my 5830's 260Mhash/s to 300Mhash/s.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:03:08 PM
 #7


+1 to "whichever you're most comfortable with."

Most of my boxes are Fedora.

As far as "overclocking being less powerful" - I have no idea where you get that idea.

I've got Diamond 5850s running at 1010 GPU clock, 300 memory clock for 380 MHs.

Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:36:25 PM
 #8

As far as "overclocking being less powerful" - I have no idea where you get that idea.

I've got Diamond 5850s running at 1010 GPU clock, 300 memory clock for 380 MHs.


Which application are you using? I don't know about 5850, but 5830 with aticonfig has a 875mhz cap.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:40:26 PM
 #9

As far as "overclocking being less powerful" - I have no idea where you get that idea.

I've got Diamond 5850s running at 1010 GPU clock, 300 memory clock for 380 MHs.


Which application are you using? I don't know about 5850, but 5830 with aticonfig has a 875mhz cap.

aticonfig, AMDOverDriveCtrl, flashed BIOS with the ceiling set to 1200 (uh, it seemed like a good number at the time....).

Oh, and poclbm -v -w128 per the mining comparison chart.

Edit:

Here's exactly what I did... so I don't have to type it again...

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11087.msg202705#msg202705

Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:55:08 PM
 #10

As far as "overclocking being less powerful" - I have no idea where you get that idea.

I've got Diamond 5850s running at 1010 GPU clock, 300 memory clock for 380 MHs.


Which application are you using? I don't know about 5850, but 5830 with aticonfig has a 875mhz cap.

aticonfig, AMDOverDriveCtrl, flashed BIOS with the ceiling set to 1200 (uh, it seemed like a good number at the time....).

Oh, and poclbm -v -w128 per the mining comparison chart.

Edit:

Here's exactly what I did... so I don't have to type it again...

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=11087.msg202705#msg202705


Ok, guess I'll have to flash my BIOS. I did it for some motherboard but never for a graphic card.
I think windows allows you to do that without flashing, but ok.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:06:28 AM
 #11


Well, here's my story about Diamond 5850s and a buddy of mine....

So you know what I did for mine and what's running at.  My buddy, in the mean time, uses Win7x32 with the same BIOS change I did.  The cards have identical SKU and models, etc, etc except the cards I bought (out of the box) had a ceiling of 775 while his was 825.

We followed the same steps I did and he's having trouble keeping his card running over 950MHz.  Either poclbm locks up, the PC locks up or the whole damn thing resets.

Now, obviously, this is a single case-study type of situation, so I didn't want to definitively declares "Linux is WINRAR!" because of this possible "fluke," but that's the story so far.

supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:15:00 AM
 #12


Quick update -

Moved to phoenix with phatk and now running at 395 MHs.

Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:26:17 AM
 #13

depend you definition of "best".
in terms of speed, best on from "from the shelf" distros is Slackware, probably. from well-know.
most easy to use AND functional is Debian Linux, also know by most under Ubuntu, but thats crippled versions of unstable builds of Debian.
closeset to "Bleeding edge"[of toolchain]is Fedora or Gentoo with derrivatives, like Fedora Electronics and Sabayon, respectively. or testing/sid Debian[aka "Wheezy"].
talking about stability stable Debian[this time its 6.0 aka "Lenny"] or RHEL/CentOS/Scientific and Slackware is best.

check Linux-related resources for reference/review/info and/or buy/read/download some books/newpapers, probably.
starting from http://distrowatch.com/
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 02:28:28 AM
 #14

Overclocking is over-rated.

I suppose some have time, and others have money. If you have no money but lots of time, go ahead and waste time overclocking. It's really not worth the hassle if you try to push things to the max. You could even destroy your card, you know.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 03:35:38 AM
 #15

Overclocking is over-rated.

I suppose some have time, and others have money. If you have no money but lots of time, go ahead and waste time overclocking. It's really not worth the hassle if you try to push things to the max. You could even destroy your card, you know.


Right.  From 292 to 392 MH is dumb.  A 100MHs gain is for people that are broke and can spare the 10 minutes it takes to overclock. Tongue

My current GPU temperature?  72C....

I'm not sure if you're trolling or trying to justify to yourself the "silliness" of doing something you refuse to do.

I've been overclocking since Cyrix made those 486 booster chips.  I think I've had one single piece of equipment loss - and that was an Intel. Smiley

Coma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:41:21 PM
 #16

Overclocking is over-rated.

I suppose some have time, and others have money. If you have no money but lots of time, go ahead and waste time overclocking. It's really not worth the hassle if you try to push things to the max. You could even destroy your card, you know.


Right.  From 292 to 392 MH is dumb.  A 100MHs gain is for people that are broke and can spare the 10 minutes it takes to overclock. Tongue

My current GPU temperature?  72C....

I'm not sure if you're trolling or trying to justify to yourself the "silliness" of doing something you refuse to do.

I've been overclocking since Cyrix made those 486 booster chips.  I think I've had one single piece of equipment loss - and that was an Intel. Smiley


supa, cards flashing was a success, thanks A LOT.
I won't get greedy and I will overclock slowly through a couple of days until I'm somewhere close to 300Mhash/s on each 5830 xtreme. Now I'm 570Mhash/s @ 66°.
Thank you so much.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 12:03:21 AM
 #17


Cheers, Coma!  Grin

lmlbs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 09:46:55 AM
 #18

I'm using Linuxcoin but overclocking features seems to be less powerful than those available to windows.
I will try a portable XP soon, see if I can rise my 5830's 260Mhash/s to 300Mhash/s.

Hmm - I also got 260 MHash/sec under Fedora 14 and AMD openCL v2.1 - is this normal then?
Hollie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

This account was a fraudulent account.


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 10:27:25 PM
 #19

i have Ubuntu 11.04 And i just got a HD 6950.

How do i overclock it to get 350+ MHash/s

like on: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

This account was a fraudulent account created by a girl in Melbourne, Australia. There is no point messaging this account, continue with reversing all paypal transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!