Bitcoin Forum
January 28, 2023, 03:53:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTB] Open air frames  (Read 2212 times)
yochdog (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 09:05:30 PM
 #1

Looking to pick up some open air frames now that GPU mining is winding down. 

Looking for stuff like this:

http://www.zulius.com/img/blog/btc-mining-rig/mining-rig.jpg

and

http://www.stomped.me/pics/100_0253.JPG

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1674921200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674921200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674921200
Reply with quote  #2

1674921200
Report to moderator
1674921200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674921200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674921200
Reply with quote  #2

1674921200
Report to moderator
1674921200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674921200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674921200
Reply with quote  #2

1674921200
Report to moderator
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 09:10:44 PM
 #2

Not that there's anything wrong with it but it's basically a set of shelves with a couple of brackets and a bar attached. Maybe a trip to Ikea is in order?


Haha, I'm kidding. I wouldn't send my worst enemy to Ikea.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
AndrewK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:30:22 PM
 #3

Just built a new one out of plastic shelving from Lowes... cost 14 bucks for 4 racks (total of 3 motherboards and 8 cards... will be adding more cards shortly).

1K4BacKKdssA5RGzaFx3D4LC9HVXjE2NvS
yochdog (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:39:58 PM
 #4

Just built a new one out of plastic shelving from Lowes... cost 14 bucks for 4 racks (total of 3 motherboards and 8 cards... will be adding more cards shortly).

care to share your design? 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 05:14:02 PM
 #5

I might be interested in selling kits to build these sort of frames.  You'd get all the pieces pre-cut and pre-drilled, and a bag of fastener hardware.  Everything you need, just some assembly required.  That way it can ship in a nice compact tube mailer.

Do you know what you might pay for such a thing?  If there's enough interest I may start offering these.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
yochdog (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 05:34:49 PM
 #6

I might be interested in selling kits to build these sort of frames.  You'd get all the pieces pre-cut and pre-drilled, and a bag of fastener hardware.  Everything you need, just some assembly required.  That way it can ship in a nice compact tube mailer.

Do you know what you might pay for such a thing?  If there's enough interest I may start offering these.


I have no idea what the parts cost.  If you could give me a range, I could tell you if I am interested. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 05:41:08 PM
 #7

All you might need to sell would be a pre-drilled & tapped rail for the card plates and a pre-drilled baseplate for the motherboard (Though the holes are usually in a line so you might be able to get away with just a few rails for that too).

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
AndrewK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 16, 2013, 02:16:56 AM
 #8

GOD $*%&$* MOTHER %&$O*%ing verizon... I took a bunch of pics the other day of my setup while building and posted them online in my verizon album... They have since changed their site and it is impossible to find them now (I think they did away with it and instead of just saying that they say "Come check out our new PIX PLACE page" and it just takes you to a scrolling ad for new phones!).

***Rant off.

Anyway, check out the below link. I believe this is the one I bought. Basically used a soldering Iron to shorten the struts to the length where riser cards could easily stretch from a board up to the bottom of the next shelf. Then made a slot for the cards on the shelf above each board (using the soldering iron again).

http://www.lowes.com/pd_339942-742-193583_0__?productId=3295476&Ntt=shelving&Ns=p_product_price|0

despite maybe inhaling some plastic fumes (I did all of this outside) it was pretty painless...

Oh yeah... used the iron to punch holes in the shelves for screwing the mobos down.

I will try to get a pic on monday (out of town for the second).

1K4BacKKdssA5RGzaFx3D4LC9HVXjE2NvS
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 05:02:41 AM
 #9

What might be cool would be to allow for attaching some lightweight mesh to allow for a degree of RF shielding.

I'd be totally for doing this to my main PC. The case is from when I moved to the US in 2000 so it's getting a bit old and it would be ideal for sitting under my printer. Way too many projects already on my plate though.


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 12:20:10 AM
 #10

Just wondering though, what is the purpose of these vs just a regular case? Maintenance? Just cheaper if you are running a dozen rigs (cases are pretty cheap). I wouldn't mind doing one for the cool factor but I'd like to factor a few design decisions in there.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1004



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 01:01:10 AM
 #11

Just wondering though, what is the purpose of these vs just a regular case? Maintenance? Just cheaper if you are running a dozen rigs (cases are pretty cheap). I wouldn't mind doing one for the cool factor but I'd like to factor a few design decisions in there.

Cant fit 6 graphics cards into a motherboard by directly plugging them in. You need to suspend the cards somehow and use riser cables. In order to do this, a standard ATX case is not viable. It also allows clearance between each GPU for air circulation.

Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 03:24:25 AM
 #12

Just wondering though, what is the purpose of these vs just a regular case? Maintenance? Just cheaper if you are running a dozen rigs (cases are pretty cheap). I wouldn't mind doing one for the cool factor but I'd like to factor a few design decisions in there.

Cant fit 6 graphics cards into a motherboard by directly plugging them in. You need to suspend the cards somehow and use riser cables. In order to do this, a standard ATX case is not viable. It also allows clearance between each GPU for air circulation.

That makes sense. Though it's not the case in the first picture. Does that second one really have 5 graphics card slots?

One thing I'm wondering about is whether it would be possible to use multiple channels from one slot to run multiple cards. I know people have cut down x4 cards to fit in x1 slots (The card just uses the one channel automatically. Part of the spec apparently). Could you split a x4 slot out to 4 cards? I'm thinking maybe not but who knows? Not really worth worrying about GPU mining much anymore though I guess.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:05:18 PM
 #13

yochdog,

Would you be interested in this frame? I built it out of an aluminum rack my neighbor was discarding (tubing is 1.5"). Not exactly like the pics you posted, but let me know. It will take up to 6 GPUs (though the 6th would need a bit of insulation to keep the GPU from contacting the frame), has power switch, fans included. The black tabs are for attaching screens around the whole frame to keep out larger-size crap, also included. I'm thinking in the neighborhood of $50 plus shipping.



yochdog (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:10:22 PM
 #14

yochdog,

Would you be interested in this frame? I built it out of an aluminum rack my neighbor was discarding (tubing is 1.5"). Not exactly like the pics you posted, but let me know. It will take up to 6 GPUs (though the 6th would need a bit of insulation to keep the GPU from contacting the frame), has power switch, fans included. The black tabs are for attaching screens around the whole frame to keep out larger-size crap, also included. I'm thinking in the neighborhood of $50 plus shipping.





How much we talking for shipping?

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:21:32 PM
 #15

^^ PM me your zip code so I can estimate.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 03:39:12 PM
 #16

I'm building mine out of crates right now with filtering, I'll post some pictures and price estimates when I'm done

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:07:30 PM
 #17

yochdog,

I looked at shipping rates assuming ship to east coast (I'm in Los Angeles). It's going to be expensive since it will need a large box (around 25x25x15). Due to this I'm willing to drop effective cost of the frame to more like $25. The offer is 1.2 BTC shipped to anywhere in the lower 48. I can probably do a little better if you are in the west. I certainly understand if it is more than you want to pay, but let me know if interested. 
FreedomCoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 507


Freedom to choose


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:40:34 PM
 #18

I'm building mine out of crates right now with filtering, I'll post some pictures and price estimates when I'm done

milk crate rig FTW!

MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 05:33:45 AM
 #19

I dont know what your looking for man but heck if you give me a rough sketch I can model it out in solidworks for ya with a materials list and steps to build. lol

You could just pay me whatever you felt it was worth to you.

Just hate to see you throw much money after something that can be thrown together pretty easily unless its just a lack of mechanical building skills that some do lack.  Those are often the people that just have awesome skills in other areas.

Just thought I'd offer because I appreciate the rockin deal on the cards you sold me compared to my other buying experience around here!

I have something similar in the works for myself, except that its going to be full server rack size and I hope to put 5 to 6 rigs in one rack, vertically stacked ontop of each other.  Then I want to encase the whole thing in some sort of "mesh" to keep kids fingers out, and mount some kind of fans on the back side to keep the air blowing across each of the rigs so the hot air doesn't "pool".  I'm not sure if I"m going to cheap out and do something like box fans or try to do some kind of larger mounted fan solution almost like a fan on a car radiator.  Again I'll have to think of small fingers!

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1880


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 02:09:11 PM
 #20

I have something similar in the works for myself, except that its going to be full server rack size and I hope to put 5 to 6 rigs in one rack, vertically stacked ontop of each other.  Then I want to encase the whole thing in some sort of "mesh" to keep kids fingers out, and mount some kind of fans on the back side to keep the air blowing across each of the rigs so the hot air doesn't "pool".  I'm not sure if I"m going to cheap out and do something like box fans or try to do some kind of larger mounted fan solution almost like a fan on a car radiator.  Again I'll have to think of small fingers!

I still have a bunch of 80mm fans from Newegg from when I needed two and you could buy 10 or 12 for the same price as 3. Might be worth seeing if that deal is still going.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!