Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 10:51:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Where is my money?  (Read 614 times)
yvv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Moirai Pre-ICO starts on 28.10.2017


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 05:08:28 PM
 #1

After accumulating  some bitcoins in local wallet, I realized, that my system automatically backed up my /home on a cloud, including my unencrypted wallet. I followed these steps to create a new wallet and transfered my btc to it.  Finally, blockchain.info shows that transaction is ok, but the client (bitcoin-qt) shows me 0 in my new wallet. Where is my money, man?
 

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
1513032688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513032688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513032688
Reply with quote  #2

1513032688
Report to moderator
1513032688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513032688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513032688
Reply with quote  #2

1513032688
Report to moderator
1513032688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513032688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513032688
Reply with quote  #2

1513032688
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513032688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513032688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513032688
Reply with quote  #2

1513032688
Report to moderator
1513032688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513032688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513032688
Reply with quote  #2

1513032688
Report to moderator
pat1900
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:21:39 PM
 #2

More info please, e.g.

what happened to your wallet.dat file?
what OS?
which bitcoin-qt version?

USD: 0.000 BTC       EUR: 0.000 BTC
John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:25:19 PM
 #3

After accumulating  some bitcoins in local wallet, I realized, that my system automatically backed up my /home on a cloud, including my unencrypted wallet. I followed these steps to create a new wallet and transfered my btc to it.  Finally, blockchain.info shows that transaction is ok, but the client (bitcoin-qt) shows me 0 in my new wallet. Where is my money, man?
 
If 1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB is indeed an address in your Bitcoin-QT wallet, be rest assured it's safe. You probably need to finish synchronizing before it shows up.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

yvv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Moirai Pre-ICO starts on 28.10.2017


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 05:32:06 PM
 #4

ubuntu linux 2.10, bitcoin-qt 0.8. Here I copypaste new address from the running client

1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB

This is where I sent my bitcoins to.  blockchain.info shows 39 confirmations at the moment, but my client shows 0 balance.

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
yvv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Moirai Pre-ICO starts on 28.10.2017


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 05:41:59 PM
 #5

Here is what I did exactly.

I closed client, moved wallet.dat --> wallet_old.dat, started client, copied new address (1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB), closed client, moved wallet.dat --> wallet_new.dat, copied wallet_old.dat --> wallet.dat, sent btc to 1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB, closed client, moved wallet_new.dat --> wallet.dat, started client, see no money Sad

What have I done wrong?

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:44:38 PM
 #6

Insert rescan=1 in the bitcoin.conf file, on the same folder where your wallet.dat is.
If a bitcoin.conf file doesn't exist, create one yourself.
Now start bitcoin-qt normally and wait for it to do it's stuff, including downloading any blocks still missing.
When you get your bitcoins back you can send some here: 1PKyq6aMKcCwn8cmb9Jc5SkNydLsQb5n7K
 Just to see if it's working, you know... Grin

John (John K.)
Global Troll-buster and
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


Will read PM's. Have more time lately


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:45:09 PM
 #7

Here is what I did exactly.

I closed client, moved wallet.dat --> wallet_old.dat, started client, copied new address (1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB), closed client, moved wallet.dat --> wallet_new.dat, copied wallet_old.dat --> wallet.dat, sent btc to 1MXRztcCUUTktCsUD6vcNADENzwwTTuGAB, closed client, moved wallet_new.dat --> wallet.dat, started client, see no money Sad

What have I done wrong?

You forgot to run the -rescan option I would guess. Just restart bitcoin-qt with -rescan and it'll automatically rescan for the newest balance.

My BTC Tip Jar: 1Pgvfy19uwtYe5o9dg3zZsAjgCPt3XZqz9 , GPG ID: B3AAEEB0 ,OTC ID: johnthedong
Escrow service is available on a case by case basis! (PM Me to verify I'm the escrow!)

yvv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Moirai Pre-ICO starts on 28.10.2017


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 06:09:07 PM
 #8

Yes, rescan option did it. My money is back  Smiley Many thanks to you guys for help.

If bitcoin devs read this forum, I would like to ask a feature to add a rescan button to standard client. Just for lammers like myself, who use ubuntu. Smiley

         ▀█████▀
▀▄         ███         ▄▀
  █▄       ███       ▄█
   ██      ███      ██
    ██     ███     ██
    ▀██▄▄  ███  ▄▄██▀
      ▀███████████▀
         ▀▀███▀▀
           ███
           ███
           ███
           ███
         ▄█████▄
.MOIRAI.
  ██████
██████
█████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███

██████
██████
  █████
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
      ███
        ███

    ▄█████
    ██████
    ███▀
    ███
███████
███████
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███
    ███

█▄                ▄████▄
██▄             ███████▄▄▄
▀███▄▄      █████████▄
  ▀███████████████▀
▀████████████████
    ▀█████████████
  ▀█████████████
      ▀▀█████████
    ▄▄████████▀
██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀

                              ▄▄██
                        ▄██████
                  ▄████▀▀███
            ▄█████▀  ▄████
      ▄██████▀  ▄██████
▄███████▀  ▄████████
  ▀▀▀▀███    █████████
            ██    █████████
            ▀█  ▄█▀    ▀████
              ██▀            ▀██
buybtc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 06:52:42 PM
 #9

Insert rescan=1 in the bitcoin.conf file, on the same folder where your wallet.dat is.
If a bitcoin.conf file doesn't exist, create one yourself.
Now start bitcoin-qt normally and wait for it to do it's stuff, including downloading any blocks still missing.
When you get your bitcoins back you can send some here: 1PKyq6aMKcCwn8cmb9Jc5SkNydLsQb5n7K
 Just to see if it's working, you know... Grin

This ^^
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:44:59 PM
 #10

If you used my method of inserting rescan=1 in the bitcoin.conf file, don't forget to remove it, or else it will rescan the whole blockchain every time you start it.
Yeah, yeah, I know it's obvious, but so is backing up the wallet.dat before messing with it, and most of the time people forget about it when they aren't told to do so Grin

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!