Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2018, 04:54:22 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Down-clocking S7's to 500Mhz?  (Read 381 times)
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 10, 2016, 05:45:28 PM
 #1

I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I'm pretty electrically-challenged.

If I were to down-clock all of my S7's to, say, 500Mhz, would it save any measurable amount on electricity over the days/month?
Or does the PSU still pull a set amount from the wall vs. pulling the amount needed to run the miner?

Thanks for any replies! Smiley

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
The trust scores you see are subjective; they will change depending on who you have in your trust list.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
1542516862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542516862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542516862
Reply with quote  #2

1542516862
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 10, 2016, 05:52:38 PM
 #2

I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I'm pretty electrically-challenged.

If I were to down-clock all of my S7's to, say, 500Mhz, would it save any measurable amount on electricity over the days/month?
Or does the PSU still pull a set amount from the wall vs. pulling the amount needed to run the miner?

Thanks for any replies! Smiley

yes and no.

lets say you have a batch one two or three.

Mine could do .249 watts a gh with a platinum psu.

So  if I ran it at 4000gh  it used .249 x 4000 = 996 watts at the wall

if I ran it at 5200gh it used .249 x 5200 = 1294.8 watts at the wall

so on the yes  the watts are lower
and on the no the watts per gh are the same

your plus side for lower freq/gh     are

it runs cooler
you can lower fans manually to 40%   which means some peace and quiet

and of course less watts at the wall.


the down side is less gh.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
wmabern
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Visualize whirledps


View Profile
July 10, 2016, 06:04:23 PM
 #3

I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I'm pretty electrically-challenged.

If I were to down-clock all of my S7's to, say, 500Mhz, would it save any measurable amount on electricity over the days/month?
Or does the PSU still pull a set amount from the wall vs. pulling the amount needed to run the miner?

Thanks for any replies! Smiley

yes and no.

lets say you have a batch one two or three.

Mine could do .249 watts a gh with a platinum psu.

So  if I ran it at 4000gh  it used .249 x 4000 = 996 watts at the wall

if I ran it at 5200gh it used .249 x 5200 = 1294.8 watts at the wall

so on the yes  the watts are lower
and on the no the watts per gh are the same

Thank you. That makes sense.

I'm trying to decide if it is better to only run my S9 24/7 and run the S7's after it cools down and I can run at full speed.

I'm currently running my single S9 and will power up the S7's tonight. I need to lower my electrical costs. I figure only running the S7's for half a day will help my electric bill.
I know it will make for an unstable 5ND on Kano, but I need to do something until the BTC price rises again.

If the price on the S9 drops significantly, I will get another and just run those. At current BTC price, I will still make a tidy profit with two S9's.

Thanks for your input. Smiley

BITMIXER.IO Gone Baby, Gone.. ;-)
Not any good sig campaigns out there that I want!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!