Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 03:31:38 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: connection errors with mining clients when pointing to pool  (Read 8046 times)
saigo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:03:33 AM
 #1


Trying to connect to mining.bitcoin.cz pool with MacOS X 10.7.5 client

Have tried using DiabloMiner and RPCminer, but getting what looks like issue connecting to the mining server

DiabloMiner errors :

./DiabloMiner-OSX.sh -u saigo.worker1 -p XXXXXX -l http://stratum.bitcoin.cz -r 3333
[3/20/13 4:53:52 PM] Started                                                          
[3/20/13 4:53:52 PM] Connecting to: http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333/                                            
[3/20/13 4:53:53 PM] Using Apple OpenCL 1.1 (Aug 10 2012 19:59:48)                                             
[3/20/13 4:53:54 PM] Added ATI Radeon HD 5670 (#1) (5 CU, local work size of 256)                                        
[3/20/13 4:53:56 PM] ERROR: Cannot connect to stratum.bitcoin.cz: Unexpected end of file from server                               
[3/20/13 4:53:58 PM] ERROR: Cannot connect to stratum.bitcoin.cz: Unexpected end of file from server   


RPCMiner Errors:

Using the same details as above with Diablo, I see  :

Starting RPCminer (CPU)...
--------------------------
Client will start 4 miner threads
Work will be refreshed every 4000 ms
Could not retrieve work from RPC server.
CURL return value = 52
Could not retrieve work from RPC server.
CURL return value = 52


Any advice / help / pointers as to what i may be doing wrong here, or suggestion of where to download another recommended mining client for Mac that may help me get up and running appreciated



Saigō Takamori : ( 1828 – 1877) was one of the most influential samurai in Japanese history. He has been dubbed the last true samurai.
1513308698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513308698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513308698
Reply with quote  #2

1513308698
Report to moderator
1513308698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513308698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513308698
Reply with quote  #2

1513308698
Report to moderator
1513308698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513308698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513308698
Reply with quote  #2

1513308698
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513308698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513308698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513308698
Reply with quote  #2

1513308698
Report to moderator
1513308698
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513308698

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513308698
Reply with quote  #2

1513308698
Report to moderator
saigo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 10:15:05 AM
 #2



So i'm now underway pool mining with BitMinter

Quick and easy to get up and running.

I'm running at about 45 to 50 Mhps and the gui suggests around 0.005 BTC per day 'mint speed'

Interested in reading about anyones thoughts / experience with BitMinter, and of course, still looking to fix the problems with the other clients mentioned in my first post

Saigō Takamori : ( 1828 – 1877) was one of the most influential samurai in Japanese history. He has been dubbed the last true samurai.
capterra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 10:07:59 PM
 #3

Hi there, how did you fix this? Am getting the same error.


Trying to connect to mining.bitcoin.cz pool with MacOS X 10.7.5 client

Have tried using DiabloMiner and RPCminer, but getting what looks like issue connecting to the mining server

DiabloMiner errors :

./DiabloMiner-OSX.sh -u saigo.worker1 -p XXXXXX -l http://stratum.bitcoin.cz -r 3333
[3/20/13 4:53:52 PM] Started                                                          
[3/20/13 4:53:52 PM] Connecting to: http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333/                                            
[3/20/13 4:53:53 PM] Using Apple OpenCL 1.1 (Aug 10 2012 19:59:48)                                             
[3/20/13 4:53:54 PM] Added ATI Radeon HD 5670 (#1) (5 CU, local work size of 256)                                        
[3/20/13 4:53:56 PM] ERROR: Cannot connect to stratum.bitcoin.cz: Unexpected end of file from server                               
[3/20/13 4:53:58 PM] ERROR: Cannot connect to stratum.bitcoin.cz: Unexpected end of file from server   


RPCMiner Errors:

Using the same details as above with Diablo, I see  :

Starting RPCminer (CPU)...
--------------------------
Client will start 4 miner threads
Work will be refreshed every 4000 ms
Could not retrieve work from RPC server.
CURL return value = 52
Could not retrieve work from RPC server.
CURL return value = 52


Any advice / help / pointers as to what i may be doing wrong here, or suggestion of where to download another recommended mining client for Mac that may help me get up and running appreciated



saigo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 03:42:03 PM
 #4



I didnt actually, I'm now currently using cgminer - http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/

Saigō Takamori : ( 1828 – 1877) was one of the most influential samurai in Japanese history. He has been dubbed the last true samurai.
doof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2013, 12:21:06 AM
 #5

Check your ISP.  I am now getting this error too.  If i tether with my 3g phone, the problem goes away.
ninjasmurf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 04:22:15 AM
 #6

greetings. i am getting this error as well.
i think that it is Lion's fault.
i installed Lion on the machine that I mined with under Snow Leopard.
my miner couldn't connect, i got the same errors.
i reinstalled Snow Leopard and it is mining again fine.
any help will be tipped generously once the ASCIs come out Smiley
have a sweet day.

is BFL going to ship before the end of the year? tip your answer.
Yes = 1hWezTD2J55HnvNrFAzhfpXkrDi3DLK1E or No = 13VMhP3seeXU5aej82R89AJV4X32x81Nju
GigaPixels
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


Litecoin ♥ Bitcoin


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 05:48:24 PM
 #7

Try to change that address from mining.bitcoin.cz to stratum.bitcoin.cz (or better to stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333)

It's possible your ISP throttles this type of traffic and thus you can't connect properly.

Litecoin ♥ Bitcoin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!