Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 02:20:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Low performance 6950  (Read 3357 times)
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 02:28:31 AM
 #1

What's the best driver out there for a 6950? Mine has the shaders unlocked and currentl sits at 950 core. When I run guiminer (2012-12-03) no matter what flags I pass, I stay at the same hash rate. I'm assuming this is a driver problem. I'm stuck at 350, seems odd that there can't be an improvement with all of the flags I have tried..
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 02:39:00 AM
 #2

12.1, don't use polcbm. Use diablo or Phoenix. Really you should ditch guiminer and use cgminer with diablo.
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 02:57:35 AM
 #3

Cool, thanks. I haven't tried diablo or phoenix yet but ill give it a whirl.
brekyrself
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:19:38 AM
 #4

I tested a HIS 6950 with cat 13.1, cg miner, @ 925mhz core.  Does ~383 at intensity 6.
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:35:13 AM
 #5

Hmm, what are all of your flags? I'm on 12.1 with 2.8sdk. With -f1 -w 256 aggression=9 i see guiminet mine at over 400 for a few seconds then it shoots back down to the mysterious wall of 350mhs. What's up with that
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:48:20 AM
 #6

$%!#%$# Now my miner will not connect... ugh..what am I do wrong here?


No matter what I do I get this now:

2013-03-21 02:49:30: Listener for "HD6950U1": api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 21/03/2013 02:49:30, authorization failed with user/pass@stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333
2013-03-21 02:49:33: Listener for "HD6950U1": api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 21/03/2013 02:49:33, IO errors - 1, tolerance 2
2013-03-21 02:49:39: Listener for "HD6950U1": api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 21/03/2013 02:49:39, IO errors - 2, tolerance 2

A set of these three lines every few seconds.




EDIT: must have been a bad clock ^ that went away with a few mhz change. Anyone have ideas on why the card wont stay at 420MHs for longer than 2-3 seconds?


EDIT #2: Theres also some warning about not being ableto identify the card and that temp cutoffwasnt found...still mine though, only at 350 :\
brekyrself
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:53:51 AM
 #7

Hmm, what are all of your flags? I'm on 12.1 with 2.8sdk. With -f1 -w 256 aggression=9 i see guiminet mine at over 400 for a few seconds then it shoots back down to the mysterious wall of 350mhs. What's up with that

Have not used guiminer in awhile.  Try also adding -v or simply give cgminer a try.
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 07:34:09 AM
 #8

Unfortunately -v doesng seem to change anything. The highest I have seen it mine at was 450 for a few seconds. Maybe I will try increasing the system clock tomorrow, I dunno. I can't get my 6950 to work in cgminer. Only my gtx480 shows up../rage. I think im going to take this card out friday. It hits 153mhash but I wonder if it is screwing with my 6950.

I posted a thread for diablo help, cant get that to mine at all. This is a fresh win 7 64 windows installation.
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 09:49:57 PM
 #9

Any other ideas?
brekyrself
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 09:58:30 PM
 #10

Any other ideas?

Try to get cgminer to work, take out the gtx480 like you mentioned to see if it fixes the problem.
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 10:31:30 PM
 #11

Catalyst 12.11beta from your cards manufacturer!

OEM Cards run at half speed on AMD drivers.


crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:38:29 AM
 #12

Catalyst 12.11beta from your cards manufacturer!

OEM Cards run at half speed on AMD drivers.
Bullshit. Can you link to a post where this has been proven to be true?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 03:01:20 AM
 #13

I tried a few other drivers and sdks still stuck at this magic 350 limit. I guess I'll have to stick with 350 until I have time to take my water cooling loop a part and remove the 480. grr lol.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:11:00 AM
 #14

I use 12.8 drivers & get 365mhs with my XFX 6950's & play BF3 pretty well  Cool

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 09:46:54 AM
 #15

Catalyst 12.11beta from your cards manufacturer!

OEM Cards run at half speed on AMD drivers.



 LOL Smiley

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 11:00:24 AM
 #16

Catalyst 12.11beta from your cards manufacturer!
OEM Cards run at half speed on AMD drivers.

Bullshit. Can you link to a post where this has been proven to be true?

LOL Smiley

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/314448-33-6770-install

>It was bestbuy/XFX's becision to release an OEM 6770 as retail.

>>amd hasn't released it yet for public so it's not even mentioned in the driver files, thats the reason the ccc gives op problems about compatibility

>>>Just to give everyone a heads up. I just spoke to AMD and they are not supporting the 6770 card for retail. Mark stated they have talked about releasing it to retail but have not made this step as of yet. He also checked all driver files to see if they had a driver for the 6770 and the 6750. He stated they do not have any support for these. He also checked the beta 11.4 and there is no plans to have a 6770 driver on there either.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/314448-33-6770-install


I always buy OEM (brown box) graphics cards because you can save £20/$30 each. I've had XFX 6770s that were not recognised by AMD drivers and Sapphire 7850s that run at half clock speed on AMD drivers (They seem to be power saving with self adjusting volt/clock lock). In both cases using the drivers from the manufacturers web site solved the problems.

mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 02:35:01 PM
 #17

I have an ASUS 6950. I tried their driver and it didn't perform any differently.

I just re installed windows, like last night:
I tried 13.3 and 13.1, neither of them worked at all. 13.3 would let guiminer run and it reported high speeds but all failed verification. Guiminer wont even run on 13.1.
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 02:57:02 PM
 #18

Try Catalyst 12.11beta and GUIMiner and see what it reports as your MH/s. I've had problems with 13.1 and later.

brekyrself
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:51:19 PM
 #19

I have an ASUS 6950. I tried their driver and it didn't perform any differently.

I just re installed windows, like last night:
I tried 13.3 and 13.1, neither of them worked at all. 13.3 would let guiminer run and it reported high speeds but all failed verification. Guiminer wont even run on 13.1.

There is something about downgrading 13.2/13.3 beta back to 13.1 official.  I'll try and dig up the issues.  Same thing happened to me as I installed the beta driver and could not roll back successfully to 13.1.
mr.n00blar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 04:44:10 AM
 #20

Any help would be appreciated. I don't doubt the card works well but its starting to become a headache with these drivers.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!