Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 04:54:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why Memory Downclocking  (Read 327 times)
blub
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:03:13 PM
 #1

I've read several mining guides and all of them suggest to clock down the  graphic memory. I've done this and found absolutely no difference, hash rates didn't change, and power consumptioan stayed exactly the same, so why would i do this

1510980879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980879
Reply with quote  #2

1510980879
Report to moderator
1510980879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980879
Reply with quote  #2

1510980879
Report to moderator
1510980879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980879
Reply with quote  #2

1510980879
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510980879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980879
Reply with quote  #2

1510980879
Report to moderator
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2013, 06:05:58 PM
 #2

I've read several mining guides and all of them suggest to clock down the  graphic memory. I've done this and found absolutely no difference, hash rates didn't change, and power consumptioan stayed exactly the same, so why would i do this
Lower heat, lower energy consumption. Minimal effect to mining speed.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
blub
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:08:45 PM
 #3

well strange I could not meassure a single watt drop with my hd7770&6850

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 06:11:30 PM
 #4

well strange I could not meassure a single watt drop with my hd7770&6850

Then your mem clock wasn't lowered.  Not all cards support lower memclocks, and some have limits on how much it can be lowered.  Most cards don't report an error when they get a REQUEST to change memclock to a value they won't accept.  They just silently stay at stock clock.   "You: Set memclock to 1 Mhz.  Card: Ok.  (Memclock doesn't change)".
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2013, 06:58:27 PM
 #5

I would like to take the opportunity to state that I would consider any advice from DeathAndTaxes more solid than anything else on these forums. I've read over a thousand posts by him and I cant remember a single instance of him being wrong on facts.

I prettymuch learned all I know of mining by reading he's posts Smiley

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!