Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:40:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why was coin generation removed in version 0.3.22?  (Read 978 times)
Crazy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:51:21 AM
 #1

Just curious, is there a reason for this removal?
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934454
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934454

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934454
Reply with quote  #2

1480934454
Report to moderator
1480934454
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934454

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934454
Reply with quote  #2

1480934454
Report to moderator
1480934454
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934454

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934454
Reply with quote  #2

1480934454
Report to moderator
IamFuzzles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:53:39 AM
 #2

I believe because it's generally accepted that cpu mining is pretty fruitless. Just something I heard, someone else should confirm/deny though.
Crazy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:54:27 AM
 #3

I would agree with that, but shouldn't people have the option even if it weren't cost-effective?
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 06:54:38 AM
 #4

Because the difficulty has raised so much that any chance you would find a bitcoin using the built-in miner is practically ZERO.

It would just eat power with no chance to get Bitcoins.

You need to use powerfull graphics cards to generate some Bitcoins nowadays.

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:55:08 AM
 #5

Yes, its because CPU mining is pretty much obsolete, and because there are some good external CPU miners available now.  The source was kept in however for reference purposes.

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
relmeas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:56:49 AM
 #6

I believe you can still run client in server mode and connect to it with a real miner which can support CPU mining. Any mining howto on the web should have info about that.
killer2021
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:59:49 AM
 #7

As the others have said, waste of time. If you want to mine bitcoins then build a bitcoin rig.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
1H6mqgB6UcqKt2SrCmhjxUp9np1Xrbkdj7
relmeas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:08:42 AM
 #8

Yes I also second the motion about CPU mining being a waste of time, if someone doubted that for some reason. Also the feature was indeed a correct one when bitcoin was created and transactions supposed to be distributed evenly between bitcoin users. Now however we have moved to centralized transaction processing system where a few powerful nodes do all the processing via their legions of small miner slaves which have no clue what exactly are they processing since they are being fed only parts of the real thing. Which is a disheartening occurrence.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:11:27 AM
 #9

i dunno. i thought it was nice for it to be there just to be able to test things out.
download one program, get your address, turn on cpu mining, etc...

sure.. a person should hopefully realize that they will not mine any coins (except if you have 1000s
of people trying it out daily someone will hit the lotto) anytime soon.. but it did introduce me to the
concept of mining.
Crazy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:14:52 AM
 #10

but it did introduce me to the
concept of mining.
Another very important point that I think most have overlooked. The casual user, they probably won't realize they can mine unless they really dig into Bitcoin. Some might think they can just trade on the market.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:18:44 AM
 #11

but it did introduce me to the
concept of mining.
Another very important point that I think most have overlooked. The the casual user, they probably won't realize they can mine unless they really dig into Bitcoin. Some might think they can just trade on the market.
I think it'd be pretty hard to get into Bitcoin and NOT know you can mine for coins... that's like the absolute first thing I ever heard about BitCoin, then a separate source, the first thing they mentioned was mining, then a third source, all in the same weekend, completely unconnected sources (like a group of friends here, a group of friends there, a group of friends everywhere!) all mentioning Bitcoins (which I'd never heard of) and the first thing they all mentioned was OMG MINING LETS MAKE A SERVER AND MINE
jakemates
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


firstbits.com/1c3qpa


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 07:22:12 AM
 #12

If you still want to mine but don't want to buy a rig, just download a GPU miner and connect to a pool.
Crazy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:22:39 AM
 #13

That's funny because I didn't learn about it until I right-clicked on the systray icon. I learned about Bitcoin due to its capacity to be used highly anonymously. Probably due to the circle of friends we're in...
jcrubino
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 10:39:23 PM
 #14

Why not add cgminer or bfgminer back as optional plugins?

Yes I realize this conversation is years old but just want to get my say in.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!