Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 12:38:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [BUG] bitcoin-qt 0.8.1: More than 100% of CPU usage while blockchain is unsync  (Read 1912 times)
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 785



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 12:29:17 AM
 #1

Hi all,

before I started using bitcoin-qt 0.8.1-linux the CPU usage of bitcoin-qt process is reaching more than 100% of CPU usage sometimes 189% (dual core), so I kill the process and run again, and the problem persists.

Does anyone know how to fix it?
Versions 0.8.0, 0.7.x are ok.
 

My arch:
Linux XPTO 3.2.0-38-generic-pae #60-Ubuntu SMP Wed Feb 13 13:47:26 UTC 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


for example:

Quote

top - 21:28:27 up 52 min,  2 users,  load average: 1.98, 2.06, 1.89
Tasks: 175 total,   2 running, 173 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 86.3%us,  6.3%sy,  0.0%ni,  6.8%id,  0.5%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.2%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   4022640k total,  2805556k used,  1217084k free,   302928k buffers
Swap:  3951612k total,        0k used,  3951612k free,  1356012k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                                                                        
 3508 user    20   0  280m 166m  20m R  140  4.2   0:44.66 bitcoin-qt
....


[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 785



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 01:13:31 AM
 #2

Trying apt-get update && apt-get upgrade...

[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 785



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 01:53:04 AM
 #3

I don't have any btc. I leave the client open just to help the network.

It's better now..  but the problem is when the blockchain is unsync .
When it become 'synched' the CPU usage go to 1% again.


[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC
marra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 07:45:59 AM
 #4

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

$1 = 1 satoshi  ☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☲☳☱☷☷☳☲☰☰☰☰☲☳☳
☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☲☳☷☷☳☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☰☱☲☳
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 785



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 11:25:17 AM
 #5

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

I saw your topic. Good Luck.

So I think it's a bug in the new client. (?)

[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC
marra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:22:22 PM
 #6

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

I saw your topic. Good Luck.

So I think it's a bug in the new client. (?)


Thanks, I recovered everything.

It seems like it is a bug in new version, don't know how am I going to upgrade. Perhaps 0.82 version will sort this out.

$1 = 1 satoshi  ☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☲☳☱☷☷☳☲☰☰☰☰☲☳☳
☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☲☳☷☷☳☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☰☱☲☳
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!