Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 10:21:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [BUG] bitcoin-qt 0.8.1: More than 100% of CPU usage while blockchain is unsync  (Read 1915 times)
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 12:29:17 AM
 #1

Hi all,

before I started using bitcoin-qt 0.8.1-linux the CPU usage of bitcoin-qt process is reaching more than 100% of CPU usage sometimes 189% (dual core), so I kill the process and run again, and the problem persists.

Does anyone know how to fix it?
Versions 0.8.0, 0.7.x are ok.
 

My arch:
Linux XPTO 3.2.0-38-generic-pae #60-Ubuntu SMP Wed Feb 13 13:47:26 UTC 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


for example:

Quote

top - 21:28:27 up 52 min,  2 users,  load average: 1.98, 2.06, 1.89
Tasks: 175 total,   2 running, 173 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 86.3%us,  6.3%sy,  0.0%ni,  6.8%id,  0.5%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.2%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   4022640k total,  2805556k used,  1217084k free,   302928k buffers
Swap:  3951612k total,        0k used,  3951612k free,  1356012k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                                                                        
 3508 user    20   0  280m 166m  20m R  140  4.2   0:44.66 bitcoin-qt
....


[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC Bitrated user: DanielBTC.
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 01:13:31 AM
 #2

Trying apt-get update && apt-get upgrade...

[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC Bitrated user: DanielBTC.
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 01:53:04 AM
 #3

I don't have any btc. I leave the client open just to help the network.

It's better now..  but the problem is when the blockchain is unsync .
When it become 'synched' the CPU usage go to 1% again.


[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC Bitrated user: DanielBTC.
marra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 07:45:59 AM
 #4

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

$1 = 1 satoshi  ☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☲☳☱☷☷☳☲☰☰☰☰☲☳☳
☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☲☳☷☷☳☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☰☱☲☳
DanielBTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
March 22, 2013, 11:25:17 AM
 #5

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

I saw your topic. Good Luck.

So I think it's a bug in the new client. (?)

[Daniel BTC] - 6 AB (after bitcoin) - 1AReKSgPStqqnssB95vJWL2TYzWcDeRVaS
http://www.usandobitcoin.com.br - Bitcoin para Iniciantes
OTC: DanielBTC Bitrated user: DanielBTC.
marra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:22:22 PM
 #6

Same thing happened to me, and when I tried to sync it with my wallet this happened: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=155985.0

I pulled the blockchain files and the old version of bitcoin-qt from time machine and it's good now.

I wonder how am I going to upgrade if the new version will keep using my i7 cpu 99%.

I saw your topic. Good Luck.

So I think it's a bug in the new client. (?)


Thanks, I recovered everything.

It seems like it is a bug in new version, don't know how am I going to upgrade. Perhaps 0.82 version will sort this out.

$1 = 1 satoshi  ☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☲☳☱☷☷☳☲☰☰☰☰☲☳☳
☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☷☷☳☲☰☰☱☲☳☲☳☷☷☳☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☳☲☰☰☱☲☲☳☷☷☳☰☱☲☳
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!