Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 05:02:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Updating Bitcoin-qt?  (Read 424 times)
bitdoggy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:17:56 AM
 #1

Hey bitcointalk!

Newb here, and I was hoping some of you nice folk could shed some light on some questions I have.

First a little background-- I traded bitcoins briefly about a year ago but then stopped, life got in the way. I used bitcoin-qt as my wallet. A couple days ago I decided to get back into it.

As a test I bought a small quantity of bitcoin and attempted to send to my wallet. I kinda jumped the gun bc I never updated my wallet. I'm still running bitcoin-qt 0.5.2! Obviously I did not receive my transfer because I have about 50,000 transaction blocks to catch up.

My questions are:

1. Can I update my current bitcoin-qt wallet, rather than download and replace it with a new one? When I download 0.8.1 my computer is prompting me to replace the old application, which is why I was afraid I might lose my address. I didn't replace yet.

2. Will I lose the bitcoins that I attempted to transfer to the address associated with my old version of the wallet?

Sorry if these are dumb, I would really appreciate any guidance!
Yall rock! Grin
1511110945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110945
Reply with quote  #2

1511110945
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511110945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110945
Reply with quote  #2

1511110945
Report to moderator
1511110945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110945
Reply with quote  #2

1511110945
Report to moderator
1511110945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110945
Reply with quote  #2

1511110945
Report to moderator
xFund
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:18:52 AM
 #2

You can overwrite the client without any fear ... MAKE A BACKUP STILL !
Crystallas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:21:36 AM
 #3

Backup your wallet(precaution). Then overwrite.
xFund
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:22:07 AM
 #4

2. Will I lose the bitcoins that I attempted to transfer to the address associated with my old version of the wallet?

Sorry if these are dumb, I would really appreciate any guidance!
Yall rock! Grin

No, again, make a backup of wallet.dat

No question is dumb, remember that your backed up backup may not contain all generated incoming address, I would guess at least a few 100 are pre generated and included.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!