Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2018, 04:13:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Updating Bitcoin-qt?  (Read 425 times)
bitdoggy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:17:56 AM
 #1

Hey bitcointalk!

Newb here, and I was hoping some of you nice folk could shed some light on some questions I have.

First a little background-- I traded bitcoins briefly about a year ago but then stopped, life got in the way. I used bitcoin-qt as my wallet. A couple days ago I decided to get back into it.

As a test I bought a small quantity of bitcoin and attempted to send to my wallet. I kinda jumped the gun bc I never updated my wallet. I'm still running bitcoin-qt 0.5.2! Obviously I did not receive my transfer because I have about 50,000 transaction blocks to catch up.

My questions are:

1. Can I update my current bitcoin-qt wallet, rather than download and replace it with a new one? When I download 0.8.1 my computer is prompting me to replace the old application, which is why I was afraid I might lose my address. I didn't replace yet.

2. Will I lose the bitcoins that I attempted to transfer to the address associated with my old version of the wallet?

Sorry if these are dumb, I would really appreciate any guidance!
Yall rock! Grin
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Hybrid server-assisted clients like Electrum get a lot of their network information from centralized servers, but they also check the server's results using blockchain header data. This is perhaps somewhat more secure than either server-assisted clients or header-only clients.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516767223
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516767223

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516767223
Reply with quote  #2

1516767223
Report to moderator
1516767223
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516767223

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516767223
Reply with quote  #2

1516767223
Report to moderator
1516767223
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516767223

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516767223
Reply with quote  #2

1516767223
Report to moderator
xFund
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:18:52 AM
 #2

You can overwrite the client without any fear ... MAKE A BACKUP STILL !
Crystallas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:21:36 AM
 #3

Backup your wallet(precaution). Then overwrite.
xFund
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 04:22:07 AM
 #4

2. Will I lose the bitcoins that I attempted to transfer to the address associated with my old version of the wallet?

Sorry if these are dumb, I would really appreciate any guidance!
Yall rock! Grin

No, again, make a backup of wallet.dat

No question is dumb, remember that your backed up backup may not contain all generated incoming address, I would guess at least a few 100 are pre generated and included.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!